Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Sep 2018, 02:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
LimeWire Almost Starts Up.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 292
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2007, 11:06    Post subject:  LimeWire Almost Starts Up.  

Hey, I have the latest version of Pizzapup installed and after a long morning trying to get Java to work, finally did, LimeWire gets all the way through the first run config and exits.

When I run the same thing from an rxvt window, I am told that something went wrong, as if I didn't know that, and that I should get the latest version of JRE. I have that. It's JRE 1.6.0_02, right?

Any clue why?

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2007, 12:38    Post subject:  

What is the exact error message? What is the path to Java?

I have LimeWire running fine on my install, but I'm using 2.17 with a JRE.sfs that I made myself. I'm not an expert, but I might be able to tell you how your setup differs from mine

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 292
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2007, 20:39    Post subject:  

The screen shot should explain everything, I hope.
_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2115
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2007, 21:07    Post subject:  

Try
Code:
java LimeWire.jar

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Slacko
Currently using full install: DebianDog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2007, 22:54    Post subject:  

The stuff within the JRE folder needs to be in the corresponding folder in "/". (i.e.: the jre**/bin folder's contents should be in /bin.) At least that is how mine is set up and it works that way. It may work if you simply symlink the Java executable to your executable search path, but right now there is no way for Puppy to know where Java is.
_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 292
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2007, 09:36    Post subject:  

I've switched to the original puppy now. 2.17. I'll try that and let you know how it turns out.

Thanks for the help, though. Oh, Java worked in the previous setup. At least I think it did, because I could type "java -version" and get the right output.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 292
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2007, 11:59    Post subject:  

No, go.

I have 2.17 HDD install, and Java 1.6.0_02 installed, and I can verify this with "java -version". Tried Frostwire too, before I knew it was Limewire with a different name. Obviously same results.

I don't get it.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2007, 22:36    Post subject:  

I'm trying to get my University webspace up and running, and I was going to post my squashfile for you. Problem is, my "/public_html" folder appears to not be viewable from the outside world. I'll see if I can get it on one of those free file host places for you. I'll probably put the .tar.gz form up for you too. It's an older version, but it works on my system.

I will update once I have it up.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2007, 18:56    Post subject:  

It turns out that the permissions for my root directory were wrong. I feel silly not noticing that immediately. Anyway, you can get my Java SFS here: <http://oucsace.cs.ohiou.edu/~mcleaver/>

See if that works, and if so we know it is something with your Java install. If not, well, we know it's not the Java install itself causing the problem.

Anyway, good luck.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 292
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2007, 06:11    Post subject:  

Thanks, I'll give it a try.

Embarassed I've never used one of these. What do I do with it?

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2007, 10:46    Post subject:  

You simply put the SFS file in the same location as your save file in a frugal or CD install. If you are using a full HD install, test it on a CD install (remember, you need to have a save file first) first and I will post the tarball for you if it works.
_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 292
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2007, 16:46    Post subject:  

Nope. Didn't work. I tested it with a fresh frugal install.
Put the .sfs in / and rebooted. It didn't automatically find the .sfs, so I ran the boot manager app and manually selected it. Rebooted. Still didn't work. When I type "java -version" I get the usual command not found error.
I'm doing something wrong, right?

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2115
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2007, 17:24    Post subject:  

For a frugal install, .sfs files should be in /mnt/home.
(Or, the same place your pup_save file is.)
Move it there and then choose it in your boot manager and reboot.

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Slacko
Currently using full install: DebianDog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2007, 13:48    Post subject:  

I'm sorry, it appears I didn't explain well enough. As Trapster said, it must go in /mnt/home, which happens to be where your save file is located when you boot from the save file.
_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 292
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2007, 16:03    Post subject:  

trapster wrote:
Try
Code:
java LimeWire.jar


Java works fine, thanks SirDuncan, but LimeWire still wouldn't start.
Figured it out. I was typing exactly what you wrote. What I should have typed was
Code:
java -jar LimeWire.jar

After I figured that out, LimeWire works.
Going to go try it in my HDD install now. Thanks guys.

Woot! I now have the latest version of Frostwire and LimeWire working on my HDD puppy. Will probably get rid of LimeWire, though. Full for free is better than semi-crippled after all.

Oh, also, I manually installed the latest version of the JRE. Turns out it wasn't it's fault, so I figured I might as well use the latest if I can.

Thanks again.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0537s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0113s) ][ GZIP on ]