Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 25 Nov 2014, 18:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars ) » Pour les francophones
Installer internet.. (Ethernet xircom)
Moderators: Béèm, darkerror05
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Noxx

Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2007, 13:42    Post_subject:  Installer internet.. (Ethernet xircom)
Sub_title: Quel supplice :p
 

Hello Smile

Tout d'abord je viens de migrer sous toutou linux, qui m'a l'air d'etre un escellent choix !!

Seul pb : la connexion internet.

En fait ma carte réseau est une Xircom ethernet

Lors de linstallation par le r&éseau, je charge les drivers xircom, une eth0 est détectée, configurer automatiquement le dhcp, et la "la configuration dhcp a échoué" au bout d'1 minute de recherche ...

---------------------------

With the network install, i load the Xircom drivers, an eth0 interface is detected, i clik on "DHCP configure", and after 30seconds, i can see "the DHCP configuration has failed"

Naaan , pas si près du but Sad

Merci d'avance // Thank you.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2007, 14:37    Post_subject:  

Excuser mon français, s'il vous plait. Quel est le modèle exact de la carte que vous avez ? En outre, êtes-vous certain que votre couteau soit installé pour employer DHCP ?
_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Noxx

Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2007, 15:26    Post_subject:  

Hi !

Hmm, please can you tell me this sentance in pure english ? I appreciate the effort of translating, but unfortunately i can't understand it ^^

I speak english, so it'll be better in english ^^

Well, at least, thank you for trying to help me.

edit : My Card is a XIRCOM ethernet, sorry i don't know the exact model of this last one, i have damn small linux installed and internet works perfectly, maybe there is a way to know my card model in DSL, i dunnow how Sad

But i'm pretty sure thos xircom drivers should works.. can't understand
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2007, 16:33    Post_subject:  

I was afraid that I wouldn't make any sense, sorry. I asked what the exact model of the card was and whether or not you are certain the router you are using is set up to handle DHCP.

If you were using a wireless card, I know a command that will tell you what chipset it is using, but I don't know a command that will work for an ethernet card.

Also, what version of Puppy is Toutou based on? If it is 2.17, there is a bug in DHCP and the Network Wizard. Fixes can be found at: <http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=21177>

Again, I apologize for butchering your language.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Botanic


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Posts: 241
Location: Toulouse, France

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2007, 17:50    Post_subject:  

non c'était bien écrit, à part "couteau" (knife)
"butchering" indeed Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2007, 19:29    Post_subject:  

I'm afraid that I never learned the word for "router" in French class. I looked it up in a French-English dictionary, unfortunately it was not intended to translate computer terminology.

"Router" c'est quoi en francais?

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Noxx

Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2007, 10:16    Post_subject:  

Hey :p

Something must be clear : you did'nt "butchered" my language, and i wish i could speak english as good as you speak french !

Fortunately, Toutou is based on 2.17 puppy ! I'm gonna try your fixex, thank you.

Edit: router = routeUr in french ^^ (almost the same)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Noxx

Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2007, 10:27    Post_subject:  

huh, i installed the fixes, but it stille does'nt work

--> the only change is that my Xircom ethernet model is automatticaly recognized, i clik on "eth0", then, test eth0 --> "Puppy was abble to find a network"

Then --> Auto DHCP configure
and "the DHCP autoconfiguration failed"

Can't understand Sad (my Xircom leds blinks, so i suppose it's recognized)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2007, 10:47    Post_subject:  

Then I suppose it comes back to the question, is your router set up for DHCP? I imagine that it is, but we should make sure before proceeding.

Also, what driver does it say you are using?

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Noxx

Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2007, 10:49    Post_subject:  

I'm -almost- sure that my router is set up for DHCP, because the Debian sarge installer auto-configured it and made the internet connection possible.

The drivers are : xircom_cb

Thank you.

Edit : the auto internet configuration was also made by Damn Small linux and it perfectly works
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2007, 14:32    Post_subject:  

Wait, is this a wireless card? I had been assuming it was your built in ethernet, but some other people using that driving are doing so with wireless cards.
_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Noxx

Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2007, 15:33    Post_subject:  

No, it's not a wireless cart. It joins my gateway, downstairs, thx to an ethernet cable plugged in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2007, 16:28    Post_subject:  

Type these commands into the console and tell me what the output is.

Code:
# ifconfig
# lsmod


The first letter of the second command is a lowercase "L" and not an uppercase "I". It is hard to tell with some fonts, so I thought I should clarify.

Also, run those same commands in DSL and post the output. Hopefully the difference between the two will tell us something.


EDIT: Another question, is your router a D-Link? While searching for a fix for your problem, I found information suggesting that some D-Link router models have a DHCP bug that affects Linux.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Noxx

Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed 12 Sep 2007, 10:44    Post_subject:  

Hello !

First, thanks for helping me.

Then, here are the photos : (i made photos; didn't wanna rewrite...)


TOUTOU LINUX


http://www.enregistrersous.com/images/190138511820070912172055.jpg


DSL

http://www.enregistrersous.com/images/168698344820070912172121.jpg

If you can't read smthg or you want more informations, just tell me.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Wed 12 Sep 2007, 11:22    Post_subject:  

Those are very hard to read. In regular 2.17 there is a program that takes a screen snapshot. Under the start menu, go to graphics and then look for "mtpaint-snapshot screen capture".

You can also use apt-get in DSL to get a program called imagemagic.

Anyway, that method is unnecessary. If you highlight the text in the console, you can then open up a text editor and paste it inside. Then you can get on the forums and copy the output from the editor and paste it here. That would make things much easier to read. of course, since you can't get on the internet in Puppy, you would have to save the text file somewhere and then post it from DSL, or whatever you have been using to post here.

Also, did you check to see if your router is a D-Link?

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars ) » Pour les francophones
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0779s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0107s) ][ GZIP on ]