Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Sep 2018, 21:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Right-click in IceWM desktop doesn't bring up menu
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 639
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2007, 09:29    Post subject:  Right-click in IceWM desktop doesn't bring up menu  

Hi! Customizing Puppy 2.16 experimental, i added IceWM and lots of packages. Somehow in the process i lost the ability to right-click on the screen for a menu. I can still use the menu-button, but since i'm building a custom puppy for teaching, i'd like to get this standard linux feature back. Of course, i tried restarting, going to to JWM and back, nothing worked. Any ideas would be appreciated. (PIII, 484MB RAM)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6266
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2007, 22:07    Post subject:  

It's an option in the IceWM preferences. There are two that matter if I remember right. One works like you'd expect, letting you set the right click to use the menu. The other one I don't remember anything about other than that it was stopping it from working even when the first one was picked.

Sorry, I can't seem to find the thread that explained what the problem was, but maybe you can figure it out. It's in /root/.icewm/preferences

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 639
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2007, 23:42    Post subject:  

Thanks for the tip....

...unfortunately, the whole process crashed and after 8 hours of work i can't get a bootable cd. I do have all the files (particularly the pup_216.sfs file) but the .iso failed. I was able to burn a CD-RW with the half-dozen requisite files to make a puppy cd and it booted -- just a couple times. It's a learning process...

The CD i was creating was for school and was going to include all the apps i teach -- that's why i used the experimental 2.16 as my starting point. Today, i took your pizza pup to customize (love that puplet!!) because it's just about what i need except for Open Office; but when i went to add Open Office it said i would need over 300 additional MB---!!! (Yeah, i know SOMETHING is whacked....)

Regarding your comment on my other post--as you can imagine, i get a few questions at school (not to mention rolled eyes) about using Linux--mostly from my colleagues, not the kids of course. The first year of dual-booting, i basically forced students to use Linux to get online, thus reducing my maintenance headaches (cleaning out spyware, you know). Nowadays it's a lot more about exposing these kids to something different so they learn to approach things logically rather than be trained drones punching predetermined buttons. Of course, if they become Linux users by choice, so much the better! Always a riot teaching them! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13014
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2007, 23:58    Post subject:  

For what it's worth, DVD+RW works more reliably for experimenting with Puppy than CD-RW. Of course, it requires a DVD burner. Smile The burning programs in Puppy do not (or at least did not; I haven't used them in a while) require a DVD+RW to be blanked before reusing it, which reduces the hassle and speeds things up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0317s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0056s) ][ GZIP on ]