Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 16 Dec 2017, 11:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Can I make a window open higher on the screen?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
moncha

Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2007, 12:09    Post subject:  Can I make a window open higher on the screen?  

Maximized windows open slightly below the top edge of my screen. Is it possible to adjust that? Firefox is an example.

I'm using 2.17 with ezpup so icewm is my window manager.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B

Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11488
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2007, 13:18    Post subject:  

Can you see the background above the maximized window?

If not you probably just need to adjust your vertical height and /or position with the monitor controls.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 292
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2007, 16:50    Post subject:  

I have the same setup, with the same problem. Should be simple fix, though. I'm gonna check it out now. I'll edit if I discover anything.

Well, must be really difficult or really simple or I'm just tired. I thought I remembered seeing something about a setting that adjusts padding between windows and around the edges of the screen. Guess not. Sorry.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13648
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2007, 02:44    Post subject:  

I think it is a theme-issue.

Theme configuration requires to set a title-height.
If the grafics for the titlebar then is smaller, it looks like as if the window is not at top, though in reality it is.
You just have a transparent area on top of the titlebar.
You had to fix the theme to avoid that.

Btw from my tests here is a small tool to set an additional desktop-border.

Like this you can keep for example some uncovered icons on the left side of the screen.

/usr/local/bin/desktopborders
Code:
#!/usr/bin/puppybasic

include "/usr/lib/wxbasicscript/basefunctions.inc"

// create a dummy-window, required by wmstruts
mylist=xwin_createsimplewindow()
id=mylist[0]
id="0x" & id

// move it to a seldom used virtual desktop, so that it is no listed in the taskbar
xwin_movetoworkspace(id , 2)

// set new borders for the desktop, left, right, top, bottom
xwin_setwmstruts(id , 60 ,0, 0, 0)

// endless loop
while 1

xwin_usleep(999999999999999999)

wend


Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
moncha

Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun 16 Sep 2007, 01:31    Post subject:  

Thanks for the help. Yes I can see the desktop background above the titlebar. I'll try your suggestion MU.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0819s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0082s) ][ GZIP on ]