Abiword doesn't see my printer

Using applications, configuring, problems
gerry

Abiword doesn't see my printer

#1 Post by gerry »

So.. with help from Muggins, I've set up my Canon i965 printer, and it prints out the CUPS test page. I've set it to be default printer.

When I try to print a doc from Abiword, I get a dialogue box which shows two printers to choose from: "Create a pdf document", and "Generic Postscript". BOTH printers have a large red X alongside- presumably that means not available. The "Settings" box shows default, and Location shows lpr.

How do I get Abiword to see my printer? Which end needs setting up- Abiword, or CUPS?

EDIT: Seamonkey prints OK.
Another edit: Puppy 2.17.1

Gerry

SirDuncan

#2 Post by SirDuncan »

I'm not a printer expert, but I'll try to offer some constructive advice. Have you tried telling it to print to the generic postscript printer? If not, try it and see what happens.
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath

gerry

#3 Post by gerry »

Hi.. I thought of that, but neither of them will select, presumably because of the big red X alongside each. (To the left of each of the choices is an ikon of a sheet of paper with one corner turned up, and a big red X on it).

SirDuncan

#4 Post by SirDuncan »

I usually use Open Office, but I loaded abiword and tried to print. It showed me the same thing as you, red x's and everything. I told it to print anyway. It printed just fine except for a paper jam, but I'm sure that is unrelated. I'm afraid that I don't know what to tell you. Hopefully someone more knowledgeable than I will see your post.
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath

gerry

#5 Post by gerry »

Hi... just checked again- I misremembered one thing- I CAN select either Create PDF Doc or Generic Postscript- but the postscript one does not print.