1.0.4 CD boot: 512M not enough memory to load kernel..?

Booting, installing, newbie
soundmind

1.0.4 CD boot: 512M not enough memory to load kernel..?

#1 Post by soundmind »

I'm new in Linux, and I use Puppy 1.0.4 now.

1. I've tried using puppy Live CD totally in RAM in my laptops (SONY VAIO 512 MB RAM) and everyting's fine. But when I run it in my desktop PC (Intel D865PERL 512 single RAM, P4 2.4 GHz) I got the message when booting puppy that said "not enough memory to load kernel..."

Anyways, Puppy still run, but it loaded 'pup001' file in one of my FAT32 HD partition.

Can anybody help me for this?? 'Cause I want to run puppy totally in RAM, and using my SanDisk Cruzer Mini 128MB USB Stick for storing data.

2. I want to use IceWM and some other DotPups with my Puppy, how to remaster my Live CD with my new DotPups installed??

Thanks....

Ian
Official Dog Handler

#2 Post by Ian »

If you delete the pup001 file on your hard drive and boot the Puppy CD with your USB stick connected you can take the '3' option and nominate where you wish the pup001 file to be created, on the USB stick.

You will have to read all the red message that appears when booting Puppy and see how your USB stick is identified.

Puppy runs entirely in RAM if there is enough and 512M is plenty, all your data will be stored in the pup001 file on the USB stick once you have it set up.

babbs

#3 Post by babbs »

soundmind,

A couple of things, I like your name... Hopefully, you came to your sound mind when you came to the Puppy pound. :D I'm glad you stated that you are using Puppy 1.0.4 with your SanDisk Mini Cruzer because older versions had problems with that brand (the older versions of syslinux didn't handle SanDisk products correctly). I use Chubby Puppy on my laptop and my desktop, both with 512MB RAM so it shouldn't matter which version of Puppy 1.0.4 you are using (Standard, Barebones, or Chubby).

Thoughts about your challenges: