Pschedule 1.1.6 - Task on time

Window managers, icon programs, widgets, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#136 Post by don570 »

I think pschedule works fine in April64. The jobs are listed properly.

pschedule knows where they stored. The following commands work
properly as well.

Code: Select all

crontab -e

crontab -l

So I've concluded there is a bug in the crond utility.

_____________________________________________

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#137 Post by BarryK »

I have fixed Pschedule, now version 1.1.5-1:

http://bkhome.org/news/?viewDetailed=00184
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#138 Post by BarryK »

don570 wrote:I think pschedule works fine in April64. The jobs are listed properly.

pschedule knows where they stored. The following commands work
properly as well.

Code: Select all

crontab -e

crontab -l

So I've concluded there is a bug in the crond utility.

_____________________________________________
You need to know whether you are using the 'cron' package or the busybox applets.

I changed Pschedule to explicitly use the busybox applets, just in case the cron package is installed.

'crond' and 'crontab' busybox versions, both support the '-c' option to specify the working directory.
From the man page at die.net, the full crond does not have this option.

So in Pschedule I have "busybox crond -c /var/local/cron/crontabs"
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
HoerMirAuf
Posts: 255
Joined: Tue 22 Jan 2008, 12:11
Location: Würzburg

#139 Post by HoerMirAuf »

missing minute intervall in pschedule

example: 5 Minute Intervall:

*/5****

User avatar
HoerMirAuf
Posts: 255
Joined: Tue 22 Jan 2008, 12:11
Location: Würzburg

#140 Post by HoerMirAuf »

missing minute intervall in pschedule

example: 5 Minute Intervall:

*/5****

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#141 Post by zigbert »

Version 1.1.6
See main post

Changelog
- Use /var/local/cron instead of /var/spool/cron (thanks to BarryK)
- Use $HOME/.config/autostart instead of $HOME/Startup

Pelo

pclock psceddule are in the menu 'personal'

#142 Post by Pelo »

pclock psechdule are in the menu 'personal'. wouldn't it be a good idea to link this subject in personal category of the forum ? I was trying to get the audio alarm playing, but i have not success. It does not matter. I must study deeper this topic in english.

:? sorry for disturb. Category does not exist.
Attachments
pschedule.png
(51.05 KiB) Downloaded 648 times
Last edited by Pelo on Wed 16 Dec 2015, 03:48, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#143 Post by don570 »

I was looking through the code of pschedule and here are some suggestions...

Two more tooltip-text popups....

Code: Select all

Line 156  of pschedule   <button space-expand="false" space-fill="false" tooltip-text="'$(gettext 'Launch settings window')'">
Line 78 of func_new	    S=$S'<button space-expand="false" space-fill="false" tooltip-text="'$(gettext 'Add these settings back to task list')'" image-position="2">'

___________________________________________________________

And I noticed in Werewolf 64 (newest by Barry)
that there was a scrollbar at bottom of minute's list. Widening the list a bit to 90
eliminated the scrollbar and didn't change window dimensions.

Code: Select all

Line 98 of func_new		 <width>90</width><height>100</height>
Image
______________________________________

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#144 Post by zigbert »

pSchedule is now maintained in Woof
https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/w ... /pschedule

Are you willing to pull a request there - would be great for me :-)
If not - it's ok.

The tooltips looks just fine, but for the scrollbars, I think hscrollbar-policy would be a better solution. We could even make the list narrower...

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#145 Post by zigbert »

fixed (at github)

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#146 Post by don570 »

At git it states that you ...
pschedule: Bugfix: avoid vertical scrollbars (thanks to don570)
but isn't it horizontal scrollbars??

Pelo

I want to shutdown my computer within half an hour.

#147 Post by Pelo »

Pscheduled version 1.1.6 added to slackbox, appears in menu 'System'.
I want to shutdown my computer within half an hour.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#148 Post by zigbert »

don570 wrote:At git it states that you ...
pschedule: Bugfix: avoid vertical scrollbars (thanks to don570)
but isn't it horizontal scrollbars??
:D You're right - but the code still deactivate horizontal scrollbars :D

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

Re: I want to shutdown my computer within half an hour.

#149 Post by zigbert »

Pelo wrote:appears in menu 'System'.
...as expected

User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 2084
Joined: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 09:06
Location: Japan

#150 Post by MochiMoppel »

As far as I can see Pschedule allows (accidental) selection of impossible dates. Such tasks would never be executed.

One way to prevent such dates could be to edit /usr/local/pschedule/func_new and then change line

Code: Select all

<action type="exit">add</action>
to something like

Code: Select all

<action condition="command_is_true( [[ $DAY$MONTH =~ (31.([FSN]|Ap|Jun)|30.F)  ]] && gxmessage -c Illegal date $DAY$MONTH || echo true )">exit:add</action>
Attachments
datecheck.png
(28.2 KiB) Downloaded 552 times

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#151 Post by don570 »

I modified pclock for fatdog arm and I noticed that
the alarm button can be made smaller. It just requires an hbox within an hbox

Code: Select all

<vbox>     
      
      <edit editable="false" left_margin="10"><input file>'$WORKDIR'/alarm_txt</input></edit>
          <vbox>
                <hbox homogeneous="true"><hbox>
                <button height-request="50">
                <label>'$(gettext "Define Alarm")'</label>
                <action>alarm</action>
               <action>echo $ALARM > '$WORKDIR'/ALARM</action>
               </button>
               </hbox></hbox>
          </vbox>
               <hbox>
                      <text><label>'$(gettext "Audio")'</label></text>
                      <entry accept="file">
                      <variable>ALARM</variable>
                      <input>cat '$WORKDIR'/ALARM</input>
                      </entry>
                      <button>
                      <input file stock="gtk-open"></input>
                      <action type="fileselect">ALARM</action>
                      </button>
                      </hbox>
</vbox>
Attachments
screenshot-pclock.png
final result of button
(4.77 KiB) Downloaded 463 times

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#152 Post by don570 »

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 077#962077

There's a new version of pschedule . The launching is different. Apparently some strange behaviour
with the busybox version of crond
James bond noticed this years ago but didn't report it to you. :cry:
#!/bin/dash
# Description: System task scheduler.
# jamesbond 2012

start_cron() {
# static uclibc crond only understands POSIX tz, convert
export TZ=GMT$(date +%z | sed 'y/+-/-+/; s/.../&:/')
echo "Starting task scheduler."
[ ! -e /var/spool/cron/crontabs ] && ln -sfT /etc/crontabs /var/spool/cron/crontabs
crond
}

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#153 Post by zigbert »

Does pSchedule trouble in Puppy as well, or is this a Quirky problem?
What happens using jamesbonds code if crond is not from busybox?

Thanks for feedback

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#154 Post by BarryK »

don570 wrote:http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 077#962077

There's a new version of pschedule . The launching is different. Apparently some strange behaviour
with the busybox version of crond
James bond noticed this years ago but didn't report it to you. :cry:
#!/bin/dash
# Description: System task scheduler.
# jamesbond 2012

start_cron() {
# static uclibc crond only understands POSIX tz, convert
export TZ=GMT$(date +%z | sed 'y/+-/-+/; s/.../&:/')
echo "Starting task scheduler."
[ ! -e /var/spool/cron/crontabs ] && ln -sfT /etc/crontabs /var/spool/cron/crontabs
crond
}
Yes, I overhauled Pschedule and the version is now 1.1.6-3, blog report here:
http://barryk.org/news/?viewDetailed=00624
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
Subito Piano
Posts: 731
Joined: Mon 28 May 2007, 03:12
Location: UPSTATE New York
Contact:

Scheduling non-standard reoccurences

#155 Post by Subito Piano »

IDK if anyone else would be interested in this, but i wanted to run a task at irregular intervals - in my case, workday afternoons, Mon through Fri at 2:10PM. I found i could not use CTRL+Click to pick multiple days (or multiple times or dates or months) for an event in Pschedule. However, I discovered that i could create the task without setting a schedule for it (i.e., just use the default, every minute), save it, then open the file /var/local/cron/crontabs/root and change it from:

* * * * * my_program #

to:

20 14 * * 1,2,3,4,5 my_program #

Save and exit. Good to discover, perhaps someone else can use.
For anyone unfamiliar with cron scheduling, it's easy to find on the 'net; Corntab is a fine online tool to generate the proper time codes.
[color=green]"God is love" - [url=https://www.esv.org/1+John+4/]I John 4:12[/url][/color]
ðŸ￾§ ðŸ￾§ ðŸ￾§ Rockin' on a 2007 IBM/Lenovo T60 Centrino Duo with 32-bit XenialPup 7.5! :D
(A/V Linux for live digital synth needs)

Post Reply