Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 11:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How do I save my network config so it comes up at boot?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
ray
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 04:13    Post_subject:  How do I save my network config so it comes up at boot?  

dear all, I want to ask that after I finish to set the ip, netmask,gateway(not DHCP)....How to save it,I want that after reboot the computer and I do not set it again.
I am using version 1.0.3
thanks all Sad
Back to top
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 09:57    Post_subject:  

You add the necessary commands to the /etc/rc.d/rc.local file.

For example, in my case, I want to assign an IP of 192.168.1.98 to my computer, using a netmask of 255.255.255.0 and my router's address is 192.168.1.1

I add the following commands to rc.local
Code:

ifconfig eth1 192.168.1.98 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255 up
route add -net default gw 192.168.1.1


You can find the commands specific to your set-up under /etc. The file is called <device>mode, where <device> is your network device. For example: eth0mode or eth1mode or wlan0mode, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 06:26    Post_subject:  

it is ok now
thanks so much Exclamation
Back to top
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10927
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 13:02    Post_subject:  

What did you do that made it work? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 13:38    Post_subject:  

My guess is that he did as I suggested. I don't think it requires more explanation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0424s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]