Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 08:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Video problems - 1.0.5a2/1.0.5rc/1.0.5 (Closed/Cause Logged)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
babbs


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Running down a highway in Virginia, USA.

PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2005, 02:04    Post subject:  Video problems - 1.0.5a2/1.0.5rc/1.0.5 (Closed/Cause Logged)  

Hi Barry,

I just downloaded 1.0.5alpha2 today and tested it tonight. I'm not sure what you've changed in the video programs/settings, but it doesn't work in my laptop. I had video problems previously, but everything works like a charm with Chubby Puppy 1.0.4. (Laptop details on my wiki page linked below.)

What tests can I run to help you narrow the cause of this development?

Babbs
http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/TheBabbs

Last edited by babbs on Sat 08 Oct 2005, 18:33; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2005, 04:25    Post subject:  

What gfx chipset does the Laptop use ?


It's easier to diagnose a problem if ALL the info is given in a post reather than an external link. Smile
Back to top
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2005, 05:10    Post subject:  

I don't think anything has changed 1.0.4 to 1.0.5, video is the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
babbs


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Running down a highway in Virginia, USA.

PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2005, 10:07    Post subject:  

Barry - Something, somewhere changed. With the CD boot, both Chubby Puppy and Alpha2 come up to the initial boot type choices. I just hit enter. Then it says no valid HD (due to NTFS); I hit enter again. At this point, Chubby detects my pup001 on /dev/sda1, Alpha2 prompts me for sda1 each time. Chubby boots to the previously selected 1024x768x24 resolution, but Alpha2 doesn't seem to be able to display above 640x480x16 (at least it remembers that setting between boots) without being overwhelmed with red. I wish I could do a screen shot that would reflect my problem, but the last time I did that, the screen shot looked normal when the image was looked at on another system.

Bladehunter - I will gladly provide all of my chipset info. Is there any way to find out without pulling out the screwdriver? Is it in this mix:

Hardware Probe Results (Run from Puppy 1.0.5-Alpha 2)

Query PCI Devices
1023:9910 (3,0) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] (null)
1113:1216 (2,0) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] (null)
10b9:5229 (1,1) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] (null)
125d:1989 (7,128) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] (null)
125d:1988 (4,1) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] (null)
10b9:1533 (6,1) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] (null)
10b9:7101 (6,128) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] (null)
104c:ac51 (6,7) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] (null)
104c:ac51 (6,7) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] (null)
10b9:5237 (12,3) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] (null)
10b9:5247 (6,4) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] (null)
10b9:1647 (6,0) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] (null)

Parse PCI Devices
1023:9910 (3,0) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] DISPLAY (null)
1113:1216 (2,0) 11 [ Accton - EN-1216 Ethernet Adapter ] ETHERNET tulip
10b9:5229 (1,1) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] EIDE (null)
125d:1989 (7,128) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] COMM PORT (null)
125d:1988 (4,1) 11 [ ESS Technology - ES1988 Allegro-1 ] AUDIO maestro3
10b9:1533 (6,1) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] BRIDGE (null)
10b9:7101 (6,128) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] BRIDGE (null)
104c:ac51 (6,7) 11 [ Texas Instruments - CardBus bridge PCI1420 ] CARDBUS i82365
104c:ac51 (6,7) 11 [ Texas Instruments - CardBus bridge PCI1420 ] CARDBUS i82365
10b9:5237 (12,3) 11 [ Acer Laboratories Inc - M5237 ] USB usb-ohci
10b9:5247 (6,4) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] BRIDGE (null)
10b9:1647 (6,0) 0 [ (null) - (null) ] BRIDGE (null)

Hardware Probe - Hard drives
/dev/hdc|cdrom|TOSHIBA DVD-ROM SD-R2002
/dev/hda|disk|HITACHI_DK23CA-20
/dev/sda|Direct-Access|SanDisk Cruzer Mini

Hardware Probe - Partitions
/dev/hdc|iso9660|0|TOSHIBA DVD-ROM SD-R2002
/dev/hda1|none|19526976|OS/2 HPFS or NTFS
/dev/sda1|msdos|999813|DOS 16-bit FAT >=32M

Hardware Probe - Modules
ETHERNET tulip : Accton EN-1216 Ethernet Adapter (1113:1216) running.
AUDIO maestro3 : ESS Technology ES1988 Allegro-1 (125d:1988) running.
CARDBUS i82365 : Texas Instruments CardBus bridge PCI1420 (104c:ac51) detected.
CARDBUS i82365 : Texas Instruments CardBus bridge PCI1420 (104c:ac51) detected.
USB usb-ohci : Acer Laboratories Inc M5237 (10b9:5237) running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
babbs


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Running down a highway in Virginia, USA.

PostPosted: Fri 16 Sep 2005, 23:44    Post subject:  

Well, I'm up to Puppy 1.0.5RC. Very Happy

I'm actually typing this from Puppy 1.0.5RC right now. Very Happy

I'm going to close this thread out as being unconfirmed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
babbs


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Running down a highway in Virginia, USA.

PostPosted: Sat 08 Oct 2005, 18:31    Post subject:  

I'm adding to this thread to provide an update...

I have recreated this problem, and I've done so with 1.0.5a2, 1.0.5rc, and 1.0.5 final release. Here is the situation in a nutshell... Running my laptop in WinXP and switching to Puppy by doing a warm-reboot causes the problem. I suspect this means that something in the hardware is still being owned by MS during the warm-reboot. I do not see this problem with doing a full shutdown prior to restarting with the Puppy CD.

Although this is strange, I don't see how it would be a Puppy bug. I'm just logging it in case someone else searches for a similar problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2005, 05:19    Post subject: Warm Boot Puppy 1.0.5  

Don't feel like Robinson Crusoe, Babbs (are those Puppy paw marks in the sand?). My notebook (ASUS L8400B) also hangs during warm boot.
Seems it stops much earlier than yours. Always hangs with the last line showing: Using Configuration Type 1 or something very like that.
The warm boot can be after using Puppy or something else (Win XP etc.).
No problems with a full boot, and it did not happen with 1.0.4 or earlier.
Don't know what has changed, since 1.0.5 uses the same kernel as 1.0.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0565s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]