Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 21:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
HD GRUB error 17 - can't boot...
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
markP
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2005, 09:22    Post subject:  HD GRUB error 17 - can't boot...  

Hi - I am trying to install puppy 1.0.4 to my hard disk, but all I get after rebooting is grub error 17 or 18. I followed the hd install tutorials to the letter, but keep getting the grub error message.
I've tried reformatting the hd, installing dos to its own partition then installing puppy but there's the grub problem. Any ideas?
Back to top
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4796
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2005, 09:33    Post subject: Which tutorial?  

Do you mean the tutorial below?

Grub may be used in many ways, in an ext2 partition install or in WinXP (or 98 ) install.

Please be specific about what you were trying to do.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2005, 19:50    Post subject:  

Quote:
Error 17 : Cannot mount selected partition


Solution

This error is returned if the partition requested exists, but the filesystem type cannot be recognized by GRUB.

Be sure to check your root(x,y) settings in your grub.conf.


DOS? If you really mean that you installed DOS, Puppy can't work with this partition.

Did you try a type 1 or 2 installation? If a type 2, tell Puppy to make it an ext2 partition.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2005, 20:32    Post subject:  

In this case it is not a grub error, GRUB is showing you what the error is. (That's not the same thing). For what I see, GRUB is working OK.

Are you doing a Type 1 or a Type 2 HDD installation? (That's the first question when you start the HDD installation wizard)

As Danleff says, Puppy cannot install to a partition formated as Fat16. It has to be a Fat32 or a ext2.

If you want to use the full disk for puppy I would recommend doing a type 2 HDD installation.

If you need DOS and Puppy coexisting on the same computer, You will have to create a Fat16 partition for DOS and an ext2 for Puppy.

If you need instructions on how to do that please let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
markP
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 16 Sep 2005, 00:23    Post subject:  

Quote:
Are you doing a Type 1 or a Type 2 HDD installation? (That's the first question when you start the HDD installation wizard)

I'm trying a type 2 install. I'm following the tutorial on the wikki and this forum, exactly as instructed but there's the grub problem.

Quote:
DOS? If you really mean that you installed DOS, Puppy can't work with this partition.

I installed DOS because the howto suggests that (don't you need 'something' on the hard disc before installing puppy?)
Quote:
Please be specific about what you were trying to do.

I'm following this tutorial:
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=1598
Back to top
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Fri 16 Sep 2005, 03:18    Post subject: Re: HD GRUB error 17 - can't boot...  

markP wrote:
Hi - I am trying to install puppy 1.0.4 to my hard disk, but all I get after rebooting is grub error 17 or 18. I followed the hd install tutorials to the letter, but keep getting the grub error message.
I've tried reformatting the hd, installing dos to its own partition then installing puppy but there's the grub problem. Any ideas?


Lots of ideas, I hope. Based on the tutorial you followed, I have a rough idea of your partition structure or at least what it should be.

grub error 17 or 18 - does this mean you get either message?

17 would mean cannot mount selected partition. Does this mean you are getting a boot menu, you select the partition and then get the error? If so, does it happen on both menu items? Did you edit the menu?Can you post the menu.lst?

18 would mean you are trying to boot a cylinder beyond BIOS limits. It seems sort of odd that you would get this message at all. As I remember, sometimes the bootable limit was cylinder 1024, but that tutorial asked for a small DOS partition, well under cylinder 1024. It just seems strange to me.

If you really want this trouble-shooted remotely by me, I'd have to ask a few things of you.

Boot from CD-ROM

Try and mount the partition you think puppy is on. If you succeed, post the vital parts of /boot/grub/menu.lst

Post the output of probepart

If you boot cd disc with option 3 do not allow it to mount or make a pup001 file. Then probepart can show you what you have, if it is shows a Linux partition(s), check the filesystem for errors.

example:

# fsck -f /dev/hda2

Also, if you want to start over you can to it very fast.

The tutorial you followed works, but is asks uneccesary things, like installing DOS and making a DOS partition.

Basically all you need to do to start over is run cfisk from Puppy rxvt or exit X and run it from the command line.

    delete the partitions

    make a linux partition of the size you want (type 83)

    make a linux swap partition of the size you want (type 82)

    (they can both be primary partitions)

    don't create filesystems

    reboot and boot again with the CD, Puppy can take it from there. You already know what to do to make an option 2 install.


This entire process will take from 15 to 20 minutes.

Don't edit the grub menu either.

This might be the fastest way to go and you can forget all the fsck, probepart and menu.lst I asked for.

----------

PS - if it works let us know and myself or someone will tell you how to swapfile file system and configure it for use with Puppy Option 2 as this option does not automatically use a swap file and needs to be told to do so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markP
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 16 Sep 2005, 13:32    Post subject:  

Bruce B wrote:
grub error 17 or 18 - does this mean you get either message?


I've just wiped my hard disc again using DBN, installed puppy exactly following the tutorial, but now on rebooting (after POST) I get grub error 16!

What's weird is that I installed puppy a few weks ago following the tutorial, and also installed it on a friends computer, without any problems.

Bruce B wrote:
Does this mean you are getting a boot menu, you select the partition and then get the error?


No, there's no boot menu. After installing puppy, I reboot, the computer POST's then I get the grub error message. It then also occured, when I tried to boot into a live version of Astrumi linux.

Bruce B wrote:
If you really want this trouble-shooted remotely by me, I'd have to ask a few things of you.

Boot from CD-ROM


After my GRUB error, I've tried to boot into puppy (with the CD in) as a live session - but it refuses to load. I get a whole load of error text on the screen, then - password:
I type "EXIT" then I get Login:
Nothing for it except to reboot and have a think.
Bruce B wrote:
The tutorial you followed works, but is asks uneccesary things, like installing DOS and making a DOS partition.

OK, I'll give your instructions a try, then report back. Thanks.

(What's freaking me is why Puppy or my computer is misbehaving, especially since I had a couple of totally problem free installs).
Back to top
markP
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 16 Sep 2005, 13:37    Post subject:  

Bruce B wrote:
Basically all you need to do to start over is run cfisk from Puppy rxvt or exit X and run it from the command line.

At the puppy splash screen, do I hit "3" for the hd option or just "Enter"?
Back to top
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 16 Sep 2005, 13:48    Post subject:  

Hit 3 and later in the boot process when asked where to put the pup001 file just press enter so it does not create the file anywhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Fri 16 Sep 2005, 14:59    Post subject:  

markP wrote:
Bruce B wrote:
Basically all you need to do to start over is run cfisk from Puppy rxvt or exit X and run it from the command line.

At the puppy splash screen, do I hit "3" for the hd option or just "Enter"?


It doesn't matter, because my suggestions were to make the partitions but don't make the filesystems.Puppy will not mount a partition with no filesystem. Puppy will not make a pup001 file on a partition with no filesystem. Just boot normally and it has the same effect as '"hit "3" for the hd option or just "Enter"?"

Puppy loads into ram and doesn't mount anything on the harddrive, so the partitions are FREE for Puppy to make the install.

Puppy makes the filesystem on the partition you choose, then writes the files.

PS update:

    Realistic expectations: I expect everything will go well as far is intalling the option 2 install, I've had limited success with Puppy's grub on mbr script. If the grub installs correctly you are in business. If not you have more work to do.

    I think someone wrote that he booted Suse Live 9.2 and installed grub with it under user su

    I'm still looking for a fast way to install GRUB to the MBR in the event of failure. But I have more R&D to do. Best of luck to you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sat 17 Sep 2005, 02:43    Post subject:  

Have you read this:

http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/GrubPuppyBoot

The basics are, get the stage 1&2 files put them on a floppy, this must be done correctly, boot Grub from the floppy, set Grub's 'root device' to the partition with the boot directory, run the 'setup' command and edit menu.ls.

This allows you to boot from the hard drive as Grub writes to the MBR and reads menu.ls to see what and where to boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sat 17 Sep 2005, 03:44    Post subject:  

Ian, I've not tried this, although I ought to.

All someone has to do is mention floppy and I back away. I've had so many problems with floppy disks. It can be a good disk when I leave the house and I carry it somewhere and it's bad at the destination. It can be good on Tuesday and bad the next day.

I've lost faith in today's floppy disks. It is not my computer or the controller or the drive. It is the floppy disks.

Admittedly, every now and then you can get a good disk that stays good, so all is not lost.

One time when I was installing Puppy in the days when it made you make a floppy disk I fed it five disks before the sixth one passed. To make matters more frustrating, I already had a good boot Puppy disk from an earlier install.

In any event, all griping aside, I'll look into the page and get back with results. But it will take a couple days. Thanks for writing the page and the link.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sat 17 Sep 2005, 04:06    Post subject:  

Floppies were what drove me to create a Grub boot CD as I used to go through floppy drives like wildfire and the same with floppies.

I tried the top brand names but still had failures, not as many but enough, now I use floppies sparingly as they are dearer than CDs.

I did create a lot of floppy versions of Linux and used Lilo on some but they are limited although Menuet is a good example of what you can do on a floppy.

Grub is easy to set up and that is my main bootloader now.

If you get hold of the Grub info file it contains all the information about Grub, that was what I worked off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Sat 17 Sep 2005, 09:55    Post subject:  

Maybe I am missing something but I usually set my drive up with puppy using pdisk and cfdisk to reiserFS and a small swap. Run the installer, install grub to the MBR, reboot to the hd and edit menu.lst, remove the comment on the timeout and set it to 3.

This has worked for me many times with no problems.

On ocassion I will partition the drive so I have some storage seperate from the OS to save some backup files.

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sat 17 Sep 2005, 11:55    Post subject:  

peppyy wrote:
Maybe I am missing something but I usually set my drive up with puppy using pdisk and cfdisk to reiserFS and a small swap. Run the installer, install grub to the MBR, reboot to the hd and edit menu.lst, remove the comment on the timeout and set it to 3.



Maybe I'm missing something. I don't know pdisk. Cfdisk makes the partition type and size. Setting it to type 83 allows for ext2, ex3, reiserfs. Making the file system is a different process.

One reason I don't make a file system is because Puppy arbitrarily makes it an ext2 file system.

----------------

I remember an earlier post of yours where you mentioned running puppy on reiserfs. As I remember it you were running an Option 1 install.

I think that's the difference. With an option 1 install you have to make the filesystem yourself and you have a wide range of filesystems you can use.

With option 2 you have a choice of ext2 or ext2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1015s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]