Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 02:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
CUPS 1.2.11 under Puppy 3.01
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
NathanO

Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Posts: 198
Location: San Antonio, TX

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 11:20    Post subject:  CUPS 1.2.11 under Puppy 3.01
Subject description: Wants password.
 

Using Puppy 3.01 and the CUPS 1.2.11 that is in it, it will ask for a password to do almost anything.

Do we have a default 'password'? Never had to do this in 3.00 or before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 13:44    Post subject:  

I am using puppy 3.00 and it wants a password from me before using cups as well. Since no password is available to my knowledge, just do what I did with my lexmark, use the the PDQ printer configuration. I don't know why, but it helped to name my printer "Clyde". I wish I could offer better advice or a password, but I don't have either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3398
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 14:13    Post subject: Cups password
Subject description: from Barrys Developer News using search for CUPS
 

I don't know if this will work, But from Barry's Developer news on puppylinux.com I found
User : root
Password : woofwoof
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
r__hughes

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 343
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2007, 19:23    Post subject:  

set the root password yourself using the console
Code:
passwd root
then <enter>.
You will be asked for a new password - note the password you enter doesn't echo and when you press <enter> you are asked to enter it a second time.

This root user and password is what the CUPS system is asking for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0431s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]