Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 04:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Puppy 1.0.5rc test release for developers
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2005, 04:29    Post_subject: Re: did multi-session work for anyone? v1.05rc  

Ted Dog wrote:
I have been working on DVD mutli-sessions on the last few versions. I could not get 1.05rc to work on regular CD burned as multi-session. Is it me or is it somethig new? Confused


There are bugs. Fixed for the release version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2005, 04:35    Post_subject:  

Quote:
This morning, I tried to test the Burn2iso program with negative results. It went thru the burning procedure okay, until it came time to actually burn the iso. Nothing.


I looked through the code for /usr/sbin/burniso2cd and can't find anything wrong.

Can anyone report success?

If it doesn't work, can you troubleshoot it?
One thing to do is the line of code where it actually does the burn -- it opens
a rxvt box then runs cdrecord in it, which closes as soon as cdrecord exits, so
you don't get to see any error message.
You could extract just the line that extecutes the burn, which is something
like
cdrecord -data etc etc something.iso
...see how that goes direct on the commandline.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2005, 14:24    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
2. When I used PupGet package manager to download 'fvwm95-2.0.43f', I get a warning that I need 'libc.so.5'. Where does one get that library package? It is not in the list.

Try this:
# cd /lib
# ln -s libc-2.3.4.so libc.so.5

...let us know if it works!

Note, as you already have fvwm95 pupget installed, you can run pupget package manager and choose to check dependencies of an installed pkg. Do that after creating the above link.

Most of all, does fvwm95 work?

Yes indeed, Barry! Checking dependencies, I get the message "It seems...all dependencies...are installed"

In the Start -> Shut Down menu, I now have 'Fvwm95 restart'.
Clicking on it replaces JWM with Fvwm95 and in the Control Panel, Fvwm95 settings can now be found. Toggling between the two window managers works without a hitch Very Happy

Another little fix that made it before deadline Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Thu 22 Sep 2005, 22:14    Post_subject:  

I miss wmpower!

This little 77K app got cut from 1.0.5. It has a million little tricks for ACPI and even under APM it can do some nifty stuff. Like predicting how much time is left on your battery.

Sure, I have Torsmo set up to tell me AC/batt/charging status as well as percent battery. But I keep using wmpower to test if power saving features actually work. Random fun fact: My CPU (on 100% load) consumes as much power as the LCD backlight.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Thu 22 Sep 2005, 23:34    Post_subject:  

Here is the wag-conf fix:

You call WAG twice(?) from the wirelesswizard, so for simplicity I didn't work with that. Instead, edit /usr/sbin/wag
Code:
#!/bin/sh

#checks wag-conf
SOCTEST=`grep 'CARDSOC=' /usr/local/WAG/wag-conf`
if [ "$SOCTEST" = "" ]; then
  xmessage -center "It seems WAG is not configured.  Launching socket-test...."
  sh /usr/local/WAG/socket-test
fi

#runs WAG
cd /usr/local/WAG
exec /usr/local/WAG/AppRun


By the way, the cut down perl-5.8.0 worked fine for me when I tried ndiswrapper on 1.0.3 and 1.0.4. I haven't tried it with 1.0.5's ndiswrapper, but it's a 900Kb download, friendly for dialup. Could that be an option in the wireless wizard?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Thu 22 Sep 2005, 23:43    Post_subject:  

wmpower seems to be available by PupGet
i could make a dotpup, but PupGet should work
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2005, 03:47    Post_subject:  

keenerd wrote:
I miss wmpower!

This little 77K app got cut from 1.0.5. It has a million little tricks for ACPI and even under APM it can do some nifty stuff. Like predicting how much time is left on your battery.

keenerd, thanks for the tip. I wasn't aware of that utility. I need an ACPI utility for my Dell laptop - Puppy doesn't turn off the backlight when I don't use the PC for a while. This utility might just do that.

GuestToo wrote:
wmpower seems to be available by PupGet
i could make a dotpup, but PupGet should work

A dotpup - yes, please, GuestToo! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2005, 04:06    Post_subject:  

eh?

Why not use pupget? Are you using a very early version of Puppy without pupget? Just curious Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2005, 04:42    Post_subject:  

Okay, I have edited /usr/sbin/wag, restored wmpower, added info about the Perl PupGet pkg to wirelesswizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2005, 04:59    Post_subject:  

ok, i made a wmpower dotpup
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2005, 06:38    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
eh?

Why not use pupget? Are you using a very early version of Puppy without pupget? Just curious Smile

I've never really been a fan of 'live-update', which pupget actually is. When you have more than one PC to update, I've usually found it easier to just download the update and apply it locally. A side benefit is that you have an archive copy handy should you need to use it again later.

As I have a slow dialup, I can think of better ways of spending connection time (and money Wink ) than having to run 'live-update' over and over again, especially when many megabytes are involved, although that doesn't usually apply to Puppy Smile

Thanks for the dotpup G2 and BarryK for restoring wmpower Cool. I'm looking forward to testing it.

Update:
After booting Puppy 1.0.5RC on my Dell Inspiron 510m (pressed return, ie option 1), I installed G2's new wmpower.pup, ran it in rxvt and got:

# wmpower

Welcome to wmpower version 0.3.1...
No power management subsystem detected

wmpower: No power management support...

Hmmm...what's this? Kanotix has no problem activating APCI on this laptop.
Am I forgetting something or doing something wrong?

BTW, checked the wmpower homepage - latest version is 0.4.2

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2005, 08:04    Post_subject:  

Silly me, I forgot about checking PupGet. But thank you for re-including it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2005, 09:51    Post_subject:  

Quote:
BTW, checked the wmpower homepage - latest version is 0.4.2


What's the link?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2005, 10:42    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Quote:
BTW, checked the wmpower homepage - latest version is 0.4.2


What's the link?

Whoops, sorry. I was going to include the link but forgot ('fraid my old memory cells just ain't what they used to be...or maybe I've always been that way...can't quite remember... Wink ) http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/wmpower/wmpower-0.4.2.tar.bz2?download
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2005, 12:15    Post_subject:  

pakt wrote:

As I have a slow dialup, I can think of better ways of spending connection time (and money Wink ) than having to run 'live-update' over and over again, especially when many megabytes are involved, although that doesn't usually apply to Puppy Smile


I gets it! That makes perfect sense Smile One of the hot new features in 1.0.5 will be a connect to internet button for dialup users. This is rumoured to be positioned bottom left.

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0815s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]