Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 12:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
XFCE-4.4.1.SFS and XFCE-4.4.1.PET for Puppy 3.0+ FINAL
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2007, 04:57    Post_subject:  

this installed beautifully on my Puppy 3.0 system, and I really like it.

But ... Every time it starts I get 5 rxvt windows open (I guess as a result of checking the "save session for future logins" when I first shutdown with 5 open)

How do I stop it remembering the last desktop config? I close all rxvt sessions and ensure the "save" box is unchecked but it makes no difference

paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2007, 16:46    Post_subject:  

Quote:
But ... Every time it starts I get 5 rxvt windows open (I guess as a result of checking the "save session for future logins" when I first shutdown with 5 open)

How do I stop it remembering the last desktop config? I close all rxvt sessions and ensure the "save" box is unchecked but it makes no difference


I think your sessions cache directory needs to be purged.

Delete all the files in the root/.cache/sessions directory (hidden directory) and reboot or restart x. This should clear everything.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2007, 17:14    Post_subject:  

many thanks -- that worked fine
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
floborg


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 194
Location: Fort Worth, TX

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 18:35    Post_subject:  

Am I the only one having freememapplet start up on each reboot? I'm sure it could be fixed by commenting out something in jwmrc-tray, but why would any jwm stuff startup?

PS: Doesn't xfce come with more icon themes? NOP seems to have more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cb88


Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 1169
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 19:37    Post_subject:  

I don't know if this bug is in this package but is in NOPalpha

create a file make a link to it then delete the original file now when you open the directory with the link thunar crashes....

_________________
Taking Puppy Linux to the limit of perfection. meanwhile try "puppy pfix=duct_tape" kernel parem eater.
X86: Sager NP6110 3630QM 16GB ram, Tyan Thunder 2 2x 300Mhz
Sun: SS2 , LX , SS5 , SS10 , SS20 ,Ultra 1, Ultra 10 , T2000
Mac: Platinum Plus, SE/30
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
JB4x4

Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 19:52    Post_subject:  

@cb88 - I could not reproduce this error, must be an NOP problem (my own tests just showed the icon for a dead link)

@floborg - I do not have freememapplet running with my install, will try to look further into it. As for other icons themes, these can be added to /root/.icons and selected from the "User Interface Settings". I was reluctant to add extras as everyone likes something different.

JB
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 20:06    Post_subject:  

Just tried XFCE sfs method.
Looks nice.
Added also the OOo sfs, but there no entries in the menu nor on the desktop.
Not foreseen in this OOo sfs?

Also I like the system tray vertically in the upper left side.
When doing so, it overlaps the top tray.
Can this be corrected?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JB4x4

Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 20:56    Post_subject:  

Beem,

I use my own OpenOffice 2.3.0 (similar to Barry's, just updated). You may need to usr "Update XFCE menu" in the System area of the menu. (You might also need to Logoff and restart XFCE).

Note: The package only produces icons on the JWM desktop. The easiest way I have found to add icons in XFCE is to go to /usr/share/applications, and drag the wanted ones to the desktop.

OpenOffice link: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22391

JB
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 22:20    Post_subject:  

Thank you for your advice for OOo.
Update XFCE menus did the trick.

What about the overlapping when the system tray is in the upper left corner?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JB4x4

Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 23:27    Post_subject:  

Beem,

I hate to sound dense, but I don't quite understand about the system tray. Would you be able to show a screenshot?

JB
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 03:56    Post_subject:  

How do I get previously installed .pets to appear in the right-click menus?
For instance, I installed slapt-get/gslapt before installing this xfce. Running jwm it appears in "setup", but under xfce there's no menu-entry.

paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 08:28    Post_subject:  

I was in the other OS (ahum) when posting and the picture wasn't available.
Here goes:
XFCE-overlap.png
 Description   
 Filesize   120.38 KB
 Viewed   697 Time(s)

XFCE-overlap.png


_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
macadavy

Joined: 12 Jun 2006
Posts: 214
Location: Cascadia's Attic, eh?

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 13:42    Post_subject:  

It looks like Panel 1 is less than 100% - if you do the same for Panel 2 (along the top) i.e. make it less than 100% and select placement in the middle top wouldn't this work to keep them from overlapping? Alternately you could select a right side vertical placement for Panel 2 - that would be really different! Wink I don't know how it would show program names in that case and you'd have to change your Conky placement as well...
_________________
Welcome to my weird, wild, wonderful, wired world!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 19:12    Post_subject:  

Thank you.
I looked in the panel mgr again and I understand the idea now.

I did put the panel with the open applications on the bottom now and the panel with the start and other applets vertically on the top right (as in the picture)

In this way there is no overlapping.

Have just to get used at another Windows system.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
floborg


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 194
Location: Fort Worth, TX

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 19:23    Post_subject:  

Another issue:

I had Opera 9.23 installed (official pet) prior to loading this sfs. Now, whenever I start Opera, it is immediately killed just prior to launching the GUI. I have to wait for it to go through the lengthy startup sequence (I have a large cache and a few urlfilters), see it die before the GUI starts, and then quickly launch it again. If I wait too long, it will die again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0728s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]