Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 03:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
KDE 3.5.7 SFS file
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 4 [54 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 19 Oct 2007, 17:07    Post subject:  KDE 3.5.7 SFS file  

I've made a KDE SFS file from Slackware 12 binaries. Here's the packages used:


arts-1.5.7-i486-1
k3b-1.0.2-i486-1
kdebase-3.5.7-i486-3_slack12.0
kdelibs-3.5.7-i486-3_slack12.0
kdemultimedia-3.5.7-i486-1
kdenetwork-3.5.7-i486-1
qt-3.3.8-i486-5_slack12.0

These packages have been cut-down a lot. The SFS file is less than 50MB, english only. Some other missing libs are included too. There's probably lots of stuff broke.

PROBLEMS:

HAL --- Slackware 12 uses HAL and KDE was compiled with that option. I don't know anything about HAL other than I think it stands for Hardware Abstraction Layer. KDE uses it to do things like auto-mounting of devices for a very Windows like experience. Anyway it's not included.

K3b --- K3b complains that the MP3 plugin is not found. It all seems to be there, but I can't get K3b to see it.


If you'd like to have a crack at HAL you can down load the package with Gslapt.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=141897#141897

The SFS file includes dummy packages in /var/log/packages for Gslapt's use. Just noticed I included a dummy package for Amarok, oops, you might want to delete that one. Also there's dummy packages for HAL.

I did use Gslapt to install Amarok, seems to work. Didn't really try it out though. It did give some error about KDE configuration when I frist tried it, but said it would fix the problem and try again. Next time it launched.

After you download kde357.sfs place it in the root directory for the partition that contains your pup_save file. Then use the BootManager to select it for loading(or you could just rename it kde357_301.sfs), then reboot. After rebooting exit X and type

# xwin startkde

A configuration wizard will pop-up the first time, click the button to skip it. Xwin will remember which window manager you used last. So if you shutdown and reboot you'll be back in KDE. If you want to go back to JWM exit X and type:

# xwin jwm


The startkde is a wrapper script for KDE's launch script, which has been renamed startkde2. I stole some of MU's code for the script. The startkde script makes makes some links (unionfs has problems with links sometimes) and starts some daemons. One of the links it makes is from libart_lgpl_2.so.2.3.19 to libart_lgpl_2.so.2. This replaces a link Puppy has from libart_lgpl_2.so.2.3.17 to libart_lgpl_2.so.2. This is due to libart_lgpl_2.so.2.3.17 not being compatible with slack 12's KDE.

Anyway this about as much time as my interest in KDE would allow me to work on this, so I though I'd post this and see if someone else would like to try. Wink

Here's the link:

http://www.mediafire.com/?4cy90gmzxxk

Also thanks to Caneri:

http://www.puppylinux.ca/members/windowmanagers/

md5sum: 4d7a14a65563117aa0ac796e94194b64 kde357.sfs

EDIT:

Here's the second dubious KDE sfs file that has udev/messagebus/hal/ and some other stuff (See info/warnings about this on page two):

http://www.mediafire.com/?b52w4cln1jd

This second sfs file is rather unstable

md5sum: b79bceab45dc45d6247dc8f3ebf3c5ab kde357j.sfs

Last edited by kirk on Mon 26 Nov 2007, 12:06; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2007, 20:19    Post subject:  

Hi Kirk, thanks for the KDE package. It seems to be going well so far and is unbelievably fast Shocked
Will give it a good try out this week.
Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
luck_gh0st


Joined: 11 Jul 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2007, 05:38    Post subject:  

Hey Kirk! thanks for the KDE.sfs file. I am running Puppy 3.00 from a full hard drive install and it seems to work ( I even heard the kde startup sound ) All of my previously installed apps are in the K-menu and then some , I downloaded some slackware packages and I got some errors about pkgtools are unstable with tar > 1.13 and that i should provide a TAR-1.13 in my $PATH , Maybe something I need to change?

Anyway I appriciate all of you hard work on this.
Something else I noticed was... well the other day I finally got Googleearth to work and it created a folder in my root folder called "desktop" Which had a googleeart.desktop in it and it appeared on the desktop, so now I'm wondering If I drag other .desktop files into the desktop folder, if they will appear upon reboot.

The Kde media manager service won't start but M.U.T. and pmount work just fine. Well I guess I'll get a screen capture and play around with it some more today.
KDE + Puppy = Awsome!
any questions feel free to ask me
and thanks again!

- Tom
ked_puppy.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  ked_puppy.png 
Filesize  271.75 KB 
Downloaded  5578 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
willhunt


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2007, 09:56    Post subject:  

Quote:
HAL --- Slackware 12 uses HAL and KDE was compiled with that option. I don't know anything about HAL other than I think it stands for Hardware Abstraction Layer. KDE uses it to do things like auto-mounting of devices for a very Windows like experience. Anyway it's not included.


HAL requires UDEV udev blocked out on my gslapt how do I install?

_________________
176 Icewm Themes Exclamation
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2007, 12:20    Post subject:  

Quote:
I got some errors about pkgtools are unstable with tar > 1.13 and that i should provide a TAR-1.13 in my $PATH , Maybe something I need to change?


Don't know, haven't noticed that error. This sfs file is for Puppy 3.



Quote:
HAL requires UDEV udev blocked out on my gslapt how do I install?


In Gslapt, go to Edit - Preferences, then click the Excludes tab and remove the ^udev$ entry.

If you get HAL working make a new sfs file and upload it. The upload site I used seems to work pretty well for short term storage. Also, in /usr/lib/qt-3.3.8/bin/ is about 6MB of binarys that can probably be deleted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
luck_gh0st


Joined: 11 Jul 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2007, 13:03    Post subject:  

I screwed it up, I tried to upgrade k3b because it said something about being an older version and no being able to burn to dvd, and now kdeinit can't start anymore, I think my paths are wrong, ,but it's cool, I was getting ready to upgrade to puppy 3.01 sometime this week anyway. As for HAL, well I did have slackware 12 on my laptop before I sold it and I still had this page bookmarked on this computer
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/slackware-12-hal-automount-566948/

I don't know if it will be of any use to anyone
but I remember it worked for me. I also remember that I couldn't find too much literature on HAL Sad

My desktop folder theory was correct. I booted = xwin starticewm copied the icons into my desktop folder, the went back to the command line = xwin startkde and they appeared.
Anyway I'll try again this afternoon after I upgrade , The hell with taking a nap this is far more interesting!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Caneri

Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 1580
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2007, 13:20    Post subject:  

kirk,

kde357.sfs is uploaded to......

http://www.puppylinux.ca/members/windowmanagers/

I have space/bandwidth for your project.

Check your pm....let's talk

I am running kde now on 3.01....very nice work. thanks

Eric

_________________
Be not afraid to grow slowly, only be afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1097
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2007, 11:20    Post subject: udev for HAL  

Willhunt wrote:

Quote:
HAL requires UDEV udev blocked out on my gslapt how do I install?


Swaret package manager has udev available. Look at the forum threads about Swaret here for info on how to install Swaret.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22348
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=21497&start=15

If you need thr Swaret GUI look here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22938

HAL is also available via the Swaret Package Manager should you require it

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
luck_gh0st


Joined: 11 Jul 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2007, 23:26    Post subject:  

Ok I installed puppy 3.01 , installed some kdebase and kdelib packages w/ gsplapt, then I renamed the sfs file to kde357_301.sfs. It installed fine. But this Time, for some reason I had more icons on the desktop,but they all worked. No probs there. I still get the same error I mentioned in my first post, so I think I'll do some more forum searching before I try to installpkg anything. Also I forgot to mention that I was amazed at the speed of this kde. I've got a P2 and 384 of ram. Every other distro with kde was always sort of heavy.
well I'll mess around some more with it.... It's looking good so far
Puppy_kde.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Puppy_kde.png 
Filesize  224.85 KB 
Downloaded  4828 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2007, 11:04    Post subject:  

I never ran installpkg from command line, gslapt calls it. In the next version of the gslapt package I could include an older version of tar, but it seems to be working and I might break something else in puppy.

Screen shot looks nice!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T_B

Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2007, 12:17    Post subject:  

Very interesting, I would like to know if it is possible with this file to add basket. Or is it already included?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2007, 02:00    Post subject:    

Thanks, kirk. This really is a simple, easy KDE solution for those who like/want/need it. Load the .sfs, reboot, exit to prompt, type
Code:
xwin startkde
and voila! Great job!



It also shows just how fast Puppy is as the underlying OS, when compared to some of the other distro options, even the so-called Lite ones.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
luck_gh0st


Joined: 11 Jul 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2007, 10:21    Post subject:  

I agree!
Now I can even use K3b with Icewm. This gets better and better!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3280
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 29 Oct 2007, 00:05    Post subject:  

I installed the KDE.sfs to a FULL HD Install of puppy 300.
I then noticed that some of my programs had dissapeared from the desktop. I went off and found them, but found that some of them failed to run.
They had run under JWM. Also, clicking on an SFS or ISO file to mount it failed.
Upon further searching, I found that links I had to run some programs had dissapeared.
When I installed the KDE.SFS it looks like it set up additional files other than just the ones in the sfs file.
I exited to rxvt and then typed 'xwin jwm'.
JWM came back with my desktop icons and the programs that had dissapeared, but I still had to recreate the links that had dissapeared.
Also, JWM went back to a default RED window header color.
JWM theme configure gives me an error of not being able to write the theme changes I select.
So.....
How do I get the JWM theme thing to work again short of a reinstall.
How do I get rid of the KDE install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ejazjv

Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon 29 Oct 2007, 14:14    Post subject: kde configration file problem  

on my old laptop armada 1700 after
xwin startkde
first massage error kde configration file problem how i fix this thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 [54 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0856s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]