Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 20:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
KDE 3.5.7 SFS file
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [54 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
alienjeff


Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 2290
Location: Winsted, CT - USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2007, 18:49    Post subject:  

Out of morbid curiosity more than anything else, I'm wondering what the comparative boot times (from Grub boot selection-to-functional desktop) are for JWM vs KDE on a modern and legacy boxes of varying RAM configurations. For a point of reference, I've tweaked my initialization files to get this time down to 25-seconds (from a "stock" 35-seconds) with JWM in Puppy v2.12 full HD installation on a 600-MHz Celeron with 256M of RAM.

As much as I appreciate the standardization and cohesiveness of KDE, a mere fleeting glimpse of the DE makes me shudder in revulsion, as it's all too reminiscent of my year running Knoppix ... just couldn't seem to wrap my arms around it. The distro itself is wonderfully feature-rich, but I found the online community impersonal, emotionless and drone-like.

_________________
hangout: ##b0rked on irc.freenode.net
diversion: http://alienjeff.net - visit The Fringe
quote: "The foundation of authority is based upon the consent of the people." - Thomas Hooker

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2007, 00:02    Post subject:  

ejazjv,

Sorry, I really have no idea. Unionfs does seem to post a lot of messages in dmesg, but most seem to be benign. You probably should try making it work with the standard puppy. Maybe you can find some instructions on the web on how to make it work without udev. (using mknod to make the nodes for the device if needed)


Aj,

It's certainly slower with KDE. Slower still with the second one I posted. Slack 12's KDE requires Hal, Dbus, udev, and a few other services to work correctly. These sfs are experimental. The second sfs file that has hal & udev really should be part of a complete remake of puppy instead of a sfs file. I don't use KDE my self, but someone who has the interest, could make a version of puppy 3 with KDE that works pretty well.

The Slackware developers didn't have small and efficient on their minds when they built slack12. Lots of (needless?) dependencies. Glad to see the move back to T2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2007, 05:23    Post subject:  

I installed this KDE sfs and started KDE.
One of the first things I noticed is, that in Konqueror I can't mount hda1 which is a ntfs partition. See picture.
I mounted it with pmount and then it worked.

I thought in Konqueror clicking on a storage media, which isn't mounted dick mount it automatically. Correct?
kde-mount-ntfs.png
 Description   
 Filesize   10.69 KB
 Viewed   2071 Time(s)

kde-mount-ntfs.png


_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2007, 05:48    Post subject:  

There are two programs I found interesting when I tried KDE quite some time ago now.
- Krusader (two pane file browser)
- Ksnapshot.

Did you look into these to be added in the future?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2007, 12:01    Post subject:  

Quote:
I thought in Konqueror clicking on a storage media, which isn't mounted dick mount it automatically. Correct?


Yes in the second SFS file I posted it should, but it seems to be unstable. That error message usually means one of the services didn't start up. The first kde sfs file doesn't support mounting at all. So I put Pmount on the desktop. I'm going to edit the first post and mark the second sfs file as unstable it really should be part of a puplet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2007, 13:48    Post subject:  

The second is the KDE357j.sfs, right?
That's the one I downloaded.

As for Krusader, Ksnapshot and eventually Knode, do you have plans?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2007, 18:33    Post subject:  

Quote:
The second is the KDE357j.sfs, right?


Yes. Again it seems unstable. Sometimes I can make a pup_save file and use KDE357j.sfs and all works well reboot after reboot other times you'll get the message you posted. I ran into several Unionfs bugs that I tried to work around. But perhaps there's more. When I posted KDE357j.sfs I had a pup_save that was working well with it. Since then I've had the problem you saw. Probably should not have posted it. But perhaps someone can use it as part of a kde puplet.

Quote:
As for Krusader, Ksnapshot and eventually Knode, do you have plans?


No, I've taken it as far as I'm going to. Gslapt may get those for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2007, 18:46    Post subject:  

Ok, I'll try the KDE357.sfs and see how it goes.
Having discovered other problems as well, I'll see if those are also in this one before reporting more.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
richard.a


Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 510
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2007, 23:22    Post subject:  

alienjeff wrote:
The distro itself is wonderfully feature-rich, but I found the online community impersonal, emotionless and drone-like.

Jeff, this reminds me of many other so-called "communities".

<rant>
One that frustrated me no end - and which I've abandoned - and its product - is the Free version of AVG anti-virus for Windows. I have need to run Win2000 on several machines on my LAN as an option.

They were absolutely no help over an update that turned the the product into a rogue elephant stomping around deleting plain html files and uninfected executables even on machines that don't actually go on-line, effective 31st October this year. It even said I had an infection that wasn't listed in their glossary!!

That upgrade, separately downloaded four different times to four different machines, had the same effect everywhere. And all they could do was bleat I'd posted in the wrong section of the forum.

Unbelievable Sad
</rant>

_________________
Have you noticed editing is always needed for the inevitable typos that weren't there when you hit the "post" button?


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
richard.a


Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 510
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2007, 23:25    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
I thought in Konqueror clicking on a storage media, which isn't mounted dick mount it automatically. Correct?

That's been my experience, in both Linux and BSD-Unix, with KDE.

Richard in Oz

_________________
Have you noticed editing is always needed for the inevitable typos that weren't there when you hit the "post" button?


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ejazjv

Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2007, 16:41    Post subject:  

kirk
after make rules file in udev my modem atached to /dev/ttyusb0 pupdial good /dev/ttyusb0 found if i prob in pupdial same massage but if i dial error massage is pppd error=16
any one help mark or kirk
thanks
ejazjv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ejazjv

Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2007, 10:42    Post subject: finnaly succes  

finaly i connect internet with my etc2551 huawei cdma phone modem i change my pap & chap secret files both change with my pclinux os files and peer file also
thanks again not many words because my english is week
thanks again
kirk , mu,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ejazjv

Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon 24 Dec 2007, 19:12    Post subject: kde slow start  

one more question kde load vary slow 4 to 5 minutes my system is 300 p2 160mb ram
ejazjv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bobwrit


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Mon 24 Dec 2007, 20:52    Post subject:  

KDE is large and thus slower so it will take some more time to boot.
_________________
I need help with my forum. LINK:http://www.programers.co.nr/
http://www.freewebs.com/programm/iframe.html is my gateway page...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
over_soul

Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue 20 Oct 2009, 11:58    Post subject:  

KDE for puppy is great idea! (it's much easier to get around to if you are a former windows user). I downloaded it (I'm using puppy on a virtual machine - currently - Puppy 4.3.0), placed it in /mnt/home/root directory and renamed it to "kde357_301.sfs" and rebooted my VM. Than exited to prompt and typed "xwin start kde" - and nothing happened.... It just didn't loaded - it showed me the start screen (with the little black X in the middle) and than returned me to prompt.... Any ideas why? (if that helps - on my VM grub doesn't load, so I use xversa)
If someone can tell me how to install it correctly, I'll appreciate it Smile

Important P.S.
My puppy uses full install on HDD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [54 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0749s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0074s) ][ GZIP on ]