Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 09:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
OpenOffice won't open in Chubby Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
DrSamRaza
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 16 Sep 2005, 22:15    Post subject:  OpenOffice won't open in Chubby Puppy  

Hello! all

I am very new to Linux, let alone Puppy.

I was wondering if someone could help me out.

I am coming live to you from my newly burnt and run "Chubby-Puppy". It is working fine except that when I click on an icon of OpenOffice application all I see is a Splash Screen of Loading OpenOffice. The application never starts. Believe me I have waited for 20 minutes some times.

I have 1.8 gHz machine with 1 gHz of DDR-Ram.

What seems to be wrong? Is this is Bug in Chubby-Puppy ?
Back to top
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sat 17 Sep 2005, 02:45    Post subject: check CD  

First step is check your CD if properly burned - try it in another machine.

If OK in another machine, then hardware could be the problem. Bladehunter has mentioned some possible problem with memory higher than 768 MB.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 17 Sep 2005, 05:30    Post subject:  

Yes, try in another machine. OO should start in a few seconds.

Regarding the 768M limit, I think that is for ramdisks, but I could be wrong.
Puppy though is running in RAM in a tmpfs filesystem, which I don't think
has such a low limit. I'm not sure though, so maybe someone can correct me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
babbs


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Running down a highway in Virginia, USA.

PostPosted: Sat 17 Sep 2005, 15:35    Post subject:  

DrSam,

As recommended before me, I would start with making sure the CD is a good one in another system. (By any chance, did you verify the ISO prior to burning the CD?) Since you said "burnt" copy of Puppy, I am assuming that you are booting from CD. Please let us know if that is an incorrect assumption. (I had to ask, because someone used that word with me once, but he was talking about putting Puppy on his USB.)

I've only heard of a minimum memory requirement for Chubby Puppy 1.0.4 (something like 196MB RAM), but you don't have that problem. Since I don't remember too many systems that shipped shipped with a 1.8GHz CPU and 1GB RAM from the factory, it seems like you've upgraded your system some. Do you have a single DDR Simm or 2x512's or some mix to make 1GB? Also, have you experienced any memory related issues with any other Linux distro or with Windows?

Although the CD or RAM is the likely problem, I have to ask about USB... Are you using any USB storage devices? If so, what are they and are they USB version 1.1 or 2.0?

Regards,
Babbs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0548s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0130s) ][ GZIP on ]