pProcess 2.3.2 - Process manager

Core libraries and systems
Message
Author
User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#31 Post by playdayz »

Hey Zigbert, I am full of good news today. Pprocess 2.1 causes a problem in luci-210 testing. When I click Pprocess from the menu, it does not open and the keyboard is dead. I use CTRL-ALT-BS to exit x and restart X and then the keyboard is back. Pprocess does not do this--I just checked on the same luci. Thanks.

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#32 Post by BarryK »

dead keyboard and mouse have also been reported in Spup 0.3, as soon as Pprocess is started -- reported by edoc.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#33 Post by zigbert »

Version 2.1.1
See main post

Pprocess 2.1 in luci was not the same Pprocess 2.1 that shows up on my daily system. :oops: Some idiot has uploaded wrong code. :) Still, I could not reproduce the bug in luci...... Please confirm the bug with Pprocess 2.1.1. - I would not be surprised if it all works ok now, since 2.1.1 uses 'ps' instead of 'top' as its backend.


Sigmund

tubby
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat 24 Jan 2009, 15:49

#34 Post by tubby »

I see you have removed the locals from your compile, i was wondering if it was those lines of code that broke the one in spup. In my spup i changed the en-us to en-gb in the locals folder.

wow
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri 30 Jun 2006, 00:18
Location: Peru

#35 Post by wow »

Bug:

Code: Select all

#set language
TMP="`ls -1 $PROGPATH/locals/ | grep $LANG`"
. $PROGPATH/locals/en_US:english #always run to fill gaps in translation
[ "$TMP" != "en_US:english" ] && . $PROGPATH/locals/$TMP 2> /dev/null
Auto language selection(pprocess, pmusic, pfind and others) will not work with a format different than xx_XX, locales like mine (es_PE.uft8) won't load automatically because of extra characters (.utf8).

Workaround: something like this:

Code: Select all

#set language
TMP="`ls -1 $PROGPATH/locals/ | grep ${LANG%.*}`"
. $PROGPATH/locals/en_US:english #always run to fill gaps in translation
#fallback to macrolanguage if available (ISO 639-1 two letter code: en, es, fr, etc.)
[ -z $TMP ] && TMP="`ls -1 $PROGPATH/locals/ | grep ${LANG%_*}:`" && echo $TMP
[ "$TMP" != "en_US:english" ] && . $PROGPATH/locals/$TMP 2> /dev/null
Ok, so now it will work with linguistically distinct variants like pt_PT and pt_BR and also work with "es" for "spanish", "us" for english, etc. when needed instead of trying to load es_AR, es_PE, es_ES, en_AU, en_GB, en_US.
[url=http://www.puppylinux.com][img]http://i.imgur.com/M4OyHe1.gif[/img][/url]

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#36 Post by zigbert »

Much better code. I have included it in Pburn, Pmusic, Pfind, Pfilesearch, Pprocess. If you don't have any immediate need of updated packages, I will ship them next time I take a look at their todo-list and fixes some issues. Right now it is Pmusic 1.3.0 on my screen.......


Thank you
Sigmund

wow
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri 30 Jun 2006, 00:18
Location: Peru

#37 Post by wow »

No problem.

wow
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri 30 Jun 2006, 00:18
Location: Peru

#38 Post by wow »

Please remove && echo $TMP from this line (set language code):

Code: Select all

[ -z $TMP ] && TMP="`ls -1 $PROGPATH/locals/ | grep ${LANG%_*}:`" && echo $TMP
It might give some problems...
Image
My fault, sorry :oops:
[url=http://www.puppylinux.com][img]http://i.imgur.com/M4OyHe1.gif[/img][/url]

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#39 Post by zigbert »

Fixed! :)

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#40 Post by zigbert »

bump

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#41 Post by technosaurus »

I added pprocess to my bashbox script - it went fairly smoothly & I even added a couple of parameters for different formatting, but still need to add the locales. (I am trying to consolidate as many functions as possible into a single script to ease development) Once we get everything together we can probably do some significant code reduction through code reuse (another bonus would be a unified look and feel).

Let me know what you think....or any other goodies you'd like to see added. Is there a reason you have separate files for your functions?

bashbox thread
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

eastler_dart
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed 11 Feb 2009, 19:43

#42 Post by eastler_dart »

hi all, hi zigbert,

I have tried to download the NLS-pet for pprocess, I didn't sucess :-(

Also go direct to http://www.meownplanet.net/zigbert/ does not show an NLS-Pet for pprocess :-(

Do you have one? Please, can you put it online?

Thanks a lot

Eastler

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#43 Post by zigbert »

eastler_dart wrote:I have tried to download the NLS-pet for pprocess, I didn't sucess :-(
NLS-file is uploaded :)


Thank you
Sigmund

eastler_dart
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed 11 Feb 2009, 19:43

#44 Post by eastler_dart »

hi all, hi zigbert,

thanks a lot, works fine.

But the languagefile misses some entries.
So I have added them, you get it via pm.

I think, this was not the last proggy from you
i will use :wink:

thanks again

Eastler

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#45 Post by zigbert »

eastler_dart
Thank you for your effort!

wow has already made another attempt to improve the LANG detection (like in Pmusic, Pburn.....)

I will upload soon


Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#46 Post by zigbert »

version 2.2.2
- Bugfix: show value of $LOC_SERACHTEXT

User avatar
wuwei
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat 15 Sep 2007, 11:59
Location: formerly de; now in tranquility

Pprocess 2.2.2

#47 Post by wuwei »

In Wary 5.0 pprocess 2.2.2 behaves very unexpectedly.

When I try to run pprocess it opens for a split second and crashes immediately. Terminal gives me a reference to line 146.
This is a frugal install of Wary with a pupsave file.

When I install the tar.gz of version 0.3 from page 1 of this thread it runs fine.

Pprocess 2.2.2 works when I boot Wary with pfix=ram. So it is not a bug in pprocess.

Consequently I must have done something which causes this behavior and which is retained in the pupsave file.
Short of reinstalling and building a fresh pupsave file, do you have any idea for a possible remedy of this situation?

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

Re: Pprocess 2.2.2

#48 Post by sc0ttman »

Pprocess crashes for me using Puppy 4.2 (specifically puplite 3.0)

It appears for a second, and then disappears..

I checked the terminal. it reports many errors similar to this:

Code: Select all

gtkdialog:1941 **: gdk_pixmap_new: assertion [blah]
Although it did work when I updated libc, glib, and many others
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#49 Post by disciple »

FWIW I booted 4.1.1 with pfix=ram and installed Pprocess 2.2.2 and it worked fine.
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#50 Post by zigbert »

Version 2.2.3
See main post

Changelog
- Bugfix: While-loop kept running after pprocess was closed.

Post Reply