Pwireless-0.8.4

Configuration wizards, scanners, remote desktop, etc.
Message
Author
maddox
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri 28 Sep 2007, 20:37
Location: sometimes in France

#16 Post by maddox »

hello plinej,
did it bit by bit, echo ..
grep cell ->

Code: Select all

                    Channel:6

Code: Select all

grep "(Channel "
this is where it breaks, as you're looking for a bracket that doesn't exist in my output.
thanks and hope it helps
maddox

plinej
Posts: 1742
Joined: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 02:21

#17 Post by plinej »

ahh, okay. I'll have 0.3.2 up shortly.

maddox
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri 28 Sep 2007, 20:37
Location: sometimes in France

#18 Post by maddox »

hello plinej,
now i get this as a channel -> lima 6

Code: Select all

Channel=l6
thats the tail part
maddox
Last edited by maddox on Sun 04 Nov 2007, 03:59, edited 1 time in total.

plinej
Posts: 1742
Joined: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 02:21

#19 Post by plinej »

Okay, I'll use grep to only have numbers in the results.

grep -o [0-9] should work. I'll package up 0.3.3 in a minute.

--edit--

Okay it needs to be this:

grep -o [0-9][0-9]*

since it may or may not be a double digit channel.

plinej
Posts: 1742
Joined: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 02:21

#20 Post by plinej »

Okay, 0.3.3 is up. Thank you maddox for testing! I want to make sure this works for everybody so please leave some testing feedback.

maddox
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri 28 Sep 2007, 20:37
Location: sometimes in France

#21 Post by maddox »

thanks a lot plinej
it's working for me now,
I will try 2 digit channel tomorrow and a different wifi stick. was a ZyXEL B-220- 802.11b with module-> zd1201
new one Hercules 802.11g with module -> rt2570
thanks maddox

plinej
Posts: 1742
Joined: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 02:21

#22 Post by plinej »

Thanks for the feedback. 2 digit channels are showing up fine for me so I would imagine with my revised line of code they should work fine for you.

plinej
Posts: 1742
Joined: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 02:21

#23 Post by plinej »

updated to 0.3.4, just some minor code cleanup.

plinej
Posts: 1742
Joined: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 02:21

#24 Post by plinej »

updated to 0.4

plinej
Posts: 1742
Joined: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 02:21

#25 Post by plinej »

updated to 0.5

maddox
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri 28 Sep 2007, 20:37
Location: sometimes in France

#26 Post by maddox »

hello plinej
as promised tried out other wifi stick.. sorry bad news follows Image
looks like one of these buggy sticks!
wifi usb stick -> hercules HWGUSB2-54 usb2 54mb/s and it uses module ->rt2570 -> rausb0
# looks like there's a bug in "iwconfig essid" or the module, read on :
i'm using a HIDDEN 7 character essid, if i type in rxtv

Code: Select all

ifconfig rausb0 up
iwconfig rausb0 essid "1234567" channel 6 mode managed key off
iwconfig
the iwconfig ESSID = "123456" but it should be ESSID = "1234567"
it's missing the last character (nber 7) of the ESSID,
my fix -> add a space after the LAST character of essid, this works for me.

Code: Select all

iwconfig rausb0 essid "1234567 " channel 6 mode managed key off
Complication for your program : This stick outputs most of it's usefull info with the iwconfig command.

iwconfig command output :
rausb0 RT2500USB WLAN ESSID:"xxxxxxx" Nickname:""
Mode:Managed Frequency=2.412 GHz
RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Link Quality=0/100 Signal level:-120 dBm Noise level:57 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

on start Pwireless 0.5 displays correctly Hidden/essid

Added a profile for my hidden essid
in the profile window :
1st box is for iwconfig commands -> it does NOT display the interface(device) or mode variable
2nd box is for dhcpcd -> it does NOT display the interface(device) variable

so even if i add them in and save the profile, it forgets them upon pwireless restart
pwireless-1-IWCONFIG -> iwconfig essid "xxxxxxx " channel 6 ap key off bit auto rate auto txpower auto (no interface/device after iwconfig and no mode variable)
Pwireless-dhcp -> dhcpcd (no interface/device after command)
If i manually type the commands in rxtv the stick works fine.
i'm using it now !
sorry about this
maddox

plinej
Posts: 1742
Joined: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 02:21

#27 Post by plinej »

No need for an apology, I appreciate you testing this. What would really help me out is if you could send me all of your Pwireless files in /tmp/. Just tar or zip them up and attach them to a PM to me.

maddox
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri 28 Sep 2007, 20:37
Location: sometimes in France

#28 Post by maddox »

hello plinej,
been digging... Toutou 2.17+X, man this stick doesn't like it..
used connection wizard to configure the stick, then rebooted -> hanged Toutou on boot
looks like, etc/rausb0wireless (ifconfig & iwconfig commands) and etc/rausb0mode (dhcpcd command) don't run one after the other as they should.
1st major bug -> essid truncated (last character) as explained before, fixed it with extra space.
2nd bug -> seems like dhcpcd tries to run before interface is fully configured.
fixed hang with a few sleeps and 3 iwconfig parameter lines instead of 1 line
still wont autoconnect, but doesn't hang on boot, dhcpcd early problem...
really was a bit off topic but...

Pwireless 0.5 report..
these are my default values just after "add profile" in Pwireless 0.5

Code: Select all

iwconfig essid "" channel ap key ENTER-THE-KEY bit auto rate auto txpower auto
dhcpcd
# there is no "interface variable" after iwconfig and before essid
# dhcpcd has no "interface variable" after it.
# you've got the interface variable correctly "rausb0", shows in Pwireless
# there is no " mode variable" , you can't get it because you don't have the interface variable to retrieve it

Here is the output of my /tmp/Pwireless* files

Pwireless
rausb0 No scan results

Pwireless-device
(my comment, file is empty)
Pwireless-dhcp
dhcp

Pwireless-open
false

Pwireless-ssid
test-pwireless

let me know if you want more info
maddox

plinej
Posts: 1742
Joined: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 02:21

#29 Post by plinej »

Alright, I'll see what I can do. Thanks for the feedback.

plinej
Posts: 1742
Joined: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 02:21

#30 Post by plinej »

0.6 is now up

Maddox, this should correctly find your device now. My scripts initially searched for 802.11 in the iwconfig output but I see yours doesn't output that. Instead now it searches for the line with ESSID: to find the device. I also added a "sleep 3" between the iwconfig & dhcpcd commands.

maddox
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri 28 Sep 2007, 20:37
Location: sometimes in France

#31 Post by maddox »

hello plinej,
great the "interface variable" is there :)

Code: Select all

iwconfig rausb0 essid "" channel auto ap auto key ENTER-THE-KEY bit auto rate auto txpower auto
dhcpcd rausb0
: ( still missing mode:managed in iwconfig line.

Code: Select all

rxtv iwconfig output
rausb0    RT2500USB WLAN  ESSID:"xxxxxxx"  Nickname:""
          Mode:Managed  Frequency=2.437 GHz  Access Point: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx   
          Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   
          RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Link Quality=94/100  Signal level:-31 dBm  Noise level:53 dBm
hey, thanks for your effort and time
maddox

plinej
Posts: 1742
Joined: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 02:21

#32 Post by plinej »

I don't have setting the mode anywhere in the script. I just get iwconfig errors when trying to set the mode.

--edit--

disregard that, mode seems to be working okay for me. I'll add it to the next update.

maddox
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri 28 Sep 2007, 20:37
Location: sometimes in France

#33 Post by maddox »

hello plinej,
sorry about the mode:managed
should have been

Code: Select all

mode managed
my mistake, sorry
maddox

plinej
Posts: 1742
Joined: Mon 14 Aug 2006, 02:21

#34 Post by plinej »

maddox, I figured that's what you meant. I updated to 0.6.1 which adds "mode" to the iwconfig options.

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#35 Post by tempestuous »

maddox wrote:the iwconfig ESSID = "123456" but it should be ESSID = "1234567"
it's missing the last character (nber 7) of the ESSID
That's a known problem with older versions of the Ralink drivers. I contributed the fixed version of the rt2570 driver (compatible with Puppy2.17) here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=20171

Post Reply