Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 20:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
No sound from integrated Intel; no RAID modules
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
IPR

Joined: 17 Sep 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 15:50    Post subject:  No sound from integrated Intel; no RAID modules  

Hi

First a very positive comment on Chubby Puppy 1.0.4 -- I have just tried several live CD Linux distros, incl Mepis, Ubuntu, PC Linux and Knoppix and find Puppy the most functional on 2 computers I have tried so far--particularly the ability to save configuration to the CD and the ease of setup, video compatibility, playing a DVD etc. So thank you very much to the developers...

I am new to Linux, having installed Suse 9.1 on a spare hard drive but had difficluties with my video card and did not find it very stable.

Running an ASUS P4P800 deluxe motherboard with integrated intel sound (sound max). But no sound as yet..

The modprobe and IDE probe utility shows the module as loaded, but no sound (yes I checked the mixer). I attach a couple of screenshots.

Also note that the RAID controller (Promise Fasttrak TX 4000) is seen, but no modules. I do have drivers for Suse 9.1 but am unsure of how to use them in this context.

I would appreciate any suggestions,
IP_scr_IDEprobe_1.jpeg
 Description   IDE scan
 Filesize   119.44 KB
 Viewed   427 Time(s)

IP_scr_IDEprobe_1.jpeg

IPR_scr_probe_audio_1.jpeg
 Description   Modprobe
 Filesize   49.61 KB
 Viewed   435 Time(s)

IPR_scr_probe_audio_1.jpeg


_________________
Thank you

IPR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 22:53    Post subject:  

Did you have sound and RAID working in SuSe and if so how are the SuSe drivers labeled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
IPR

Joined: 17 Sep 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 19 Sep 2005, 22:50    Post subject: Modules/drivers  

Thank you for your reply.

Opened suse and checked the hardware config using YAST, the relevant sections are:

<4>PROMISE FastTrak TX4000/376/378/S150 TX Series Linux Driver Version 1.00.0.19
<6>scsi0 : ft3xx
<4> Vendor: Promise Model: 2X2 Mirror/RAID1 Rev: 1.10
<4> Type: Direct-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 02
<4>Attached scsi disk sda at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0

28: PCI 1f.5: 0401 Multimedia audio controller
[Created at pci.65]
Unique ID: W60f.Gpw6SvtFY3D
Hardware Class: sound
Model: "Asustek 82801EB AC'97 Audio Controller"
Vendor: pci 0x8086 "Intel Corporation"
Device: pci 0x24d5 "82801EB AC'97 Audio Controller"
SubVendor: pci 0x1043 "Asustek Computer, Inc."
SubDevice: pci 0x80f3
Revision: 0x02
I/O Ports: 0xd000-0xd0ff (rw)
I/O Ports: 0xd400-0xd43f (rw)
Memory Range: 0xf7dff800-??? (rw,non-prefetchable)
Memory Range: 0xf7dff400-??? (rw,non-prefetchable)
IRQ: 5 (95354 events)
Driver Info #0:
Driver Status: i810_audio is not active
Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe i810_audio"
Driver Info #1:
Driver Status: snd-intel8x0 is active
Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe snd-intel8x0"
Config Status: cfg=yes, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown

--------------

Note that there are two entries for audio controllers, one is the one showing modprobe i810_audio which is shown as inactive, and the above one using snd_intel8x0 shown as active...

--------------

The linux version is

libhd version 7.30 (ia32)
kernel version is 2.4

module loaded for fasttrak is ataraid with parameters abdef

----

I hope this makes some sense.

_________________
Thank you

IPR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2005, 11:11    Post subject:  

It seems strange that both Puppy and SuSe show the sound as working. Does sound work ok in SuSe.

For the raid device you may have to load the module into /lib/modules/2.4.29.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
IPR

Joined: 17 Sep 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2005, 21:14    Post subject: Sound  

Yes the sound did work in suse, perhaps the second module mentioned in suse is what is needed?

Pardon my ignorance, but is there a link you might have to something describing how I would load the RAID module?

_________________
Thank you

IPR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0530s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0139s) ][ GZIP on ]