Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 09:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
TS3.3ce - New X-Wizard
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Everitt

Joined: 19 Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Location: Leeds,UK or Birmingham, UK

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2007, 09:21    Post_subject:  

The new version works fine with my hardware, outputing
Code:
hardware profile:  NVIDIAGSM3b41
keymap:            gb
screen resolution: 800x600
refresh rate:      85
monitor model:     ambiguous
graphics adapter:  nv43 Board - 21602013 Chip Rev
X-driver:          nvidia


This is technically correct, but I can't help but feel that 800x600@80Hz is a bit low when 1024x768@75 is avaliable.
Code:
ctiming: 640x480@60
ctiming: 640x480@75
ctiming: 640x480@85
ctiming: 720x450@70
ctiming: 800x600@75
ctiming: 800x600@85
ctiming: 1024x768@75
dtiming: 1024x768@74


Just a personal preference really, but maybe something to think about?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Leachim

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2007, 09:30    Post_subject:  

Everitt wrote:
This is technically correct, but I can't help but feel that 800x600@80Hz is a bit low when 1024x768@75 is avaliable.

Just a personal preference really, but maybe something to think about?

As you say this has to do with personal taste. I also do know people who would prefer refresh rates of 100 Hz! So I had to find some compromise.

But I could add a configuration file (/etc/xwizard.conf or ~/.xwizard.conf) with personal settings where one could set one's preferred refresh rate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2007, 09:35    Post_subject:  

are you interested in results from intel cards i810
_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Leachim

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2007, 09:52    Post_subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
are you interested in results from intel cards i810

yes!!!

I do not have access to any PCs with Intel graphics hardware! I would be interested in the output of ddcprobe and lspci.

Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2007, 10:32    Post_subject:  

After liberally sprinkling pci.ids and pci.ids.gz in random combinations around my system I still can't get names out of lspc so I've given you elspci -l as well so you can see the associated modules

This is on a thinkpad x30 with a puny 830m graphics card
xorg currently uses the i810 driver

Code:
# lspci -n 
00:00.0 Class 0600: 8086:3575 (rev 04)
00:02.0 Class 0300: 8086:3577 (rev 04)
00:02.1 Class 0380: 8086:3577
00:1d.0 Class 0c03: 8086:2482 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 Class 0c03: 8086:2484 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 Class 0c03: 8086:2487 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 Class 0604: 8086:2448 (rev 42)
00:1f.0 Class 0601: 8086:248c (rev 02)
00:1f.1 Class 0101: 8086:248a (rev 02)
00:1f.3 Class 0c05: 8086:2483 (rev 02)
00:1f.5 Class 0401: 8086:2485 (rev 02)
00:1f.6 Class 0703: 8086:2486 (rev 02)
01:00.0 Class 0607: 1180:0476 (rev a8)
01:00.1 Class 0607: 1180:0476 (rev a8)
01:00.2 Class 0c00: 1180:0552
01:02.0 Class 0280: 8086:4220 (rev 05)
01:08.0 Class 0200: 8086:1031 (rev 42)
# ddcprobe
vbe: VESA 3.0 detected.
oem: Almador Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
vendor: Intel Corporation
product: Almador Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0
memory: 8000kb
mode: 1280x1024x256
mode: 640x480x16m
mode: 800x600x64k
mode: 800x600x16m
mode: 1024x768x32k
mode: 1024x768x64k
mode: 1024x768x16m
mode: 1280x1024x64k
mode: 1280x1024x16m
mode: 640x480x256
mode: 800x600x256
mode: 1024x768x256
mode: 640x480x64k
edid:
edidfail
# elspci -l
01:08.0 020000 8086:1031 <eepro100>
01:02.0 028000 8086:4220 <ipw2200>
01:00.2 0C0010 1180:0552 <>
01:00.1 060700 1180:0476 <yenta_cardbus>
01:00.0 060700 1180:0476 <yenta_cardbus>
00:1f.6 070300 8086:2486 <slamr>
00:1f.5 040100 8086:2485 <Intel ICH>
00:1f.3 0C0500 8086:2483 <>
00:1f.1 01018A 8086:248A <PIIX_IDE>
00:1f.0 060100 8086:248C <>
00:1e.0 060400 8086:2448 <>
00:1d.2 0C0300 8086:2487 <uhci_hcd>
00:1d.1 0C0300 8086:2484 <uhci_hcd>
00:1d.0 0C0300 8086:2482 <uhci_hcd>
00:02.1 038000 8086:3577 <>
00:02.0 030000 8086:3577 <>
00:00.0 060000 8086:3575 <agpgart-intel>
#

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Leachim

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2007, 10:46    Post_subject: lspci  

I added a download link for my version of lspci to the first post of this thread. I hope this version, in combination with the pci-ids-file, can display verbose output on any Puppy system!

To decide which Intel-driver to use I need more informations than ddcprobe is supplying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2007, 11:50    Post_subject:  

that works
Code:
# ./lspci           
00:00.0 Class Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82830 830 Chipset Host Bridge (rev 04)
00:02.0 Class VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82830 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller] (rev 04)
00:02.1 Class Display controller: Intel Corporation 82830 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller]
00:1d.0 Class USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM USB Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 Class USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM USB Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 Class USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM USB Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 Class PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 42)
00:1f.0 Class ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801CAM ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)
00:1f.1 Class IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801CAM IDE U100 Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 Class SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM SMBus Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.5 Class Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.6 Class Modem: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 Class CardBus bridge: Ricoh Co Ltd RL5c476 II (rev a8)
01:00.1 Class CardBus bridge: Ricoh Co Ltd RL5c476 II (rev a8)
01:00.2 Class FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C552 IEEE 1394 Controller
01:02.0 Class Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection (rev 05)
01:08.0 Class Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82801CAM (ICH3) PRO/100 VE (LOM) Ethernet Controller (rev 42)

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2007, 19:17    Post_subject:  

Also output from an intel 810:


Code:

# ddcprobe
vbe: VESA 3.0 detected.
oem: Intel(R) 8xx Chipset Video BIOS
vendor: Intel Corporation
product: Intel(R) 8xx Chipset Hardware Version 0.0
memory: 1024kb
mode: 132x25 (text)
mode: 132x43 (text)
mode: 132x50 (text)
mode: 132x60 (text)
mode: 320x200x64k
mode: 640x400x256
mode: 640x480x256
mode: 640x480x32k
mode: 640x480x64k
mode: 640x480x16m
mode: 800x600x16
mode: 800x600x256
mode: 800x600x32k
mode: 800x600x64k
mode: 800x600x16m
mode: 1024x768x256
edid:
edid: 1 3
id: 0503
eisa: HWP0503
serial: 000027e6
manufacture: 41 2001
input: sync on green, analog signal.
screensize: 32 24
gamma: 2.830000
dpms: RGB, active off, suspend, standby
timing: 640x480@60 Hz (VGA)
timing: 640x480@75 Hz (VESA)
timing: 800x600@60 Hz (VESA)
timing: 800x600@75 Hz (VESA)
timing: 1024x768@87 Hz Interlaced (8514A)
timing: 1024x768@75 Hz (VESA)
ctiming: 640x480@85
ctiming: 800x600@85
ctiming: 1024x768@85
ctiming: 1280x1024@60
dtiming: 1024x768@104
monitorserial: THLDO10214
monitorname: MX70
monitorrange: 30-70, 50-120


and:

Code:

# lspci   
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82810 GMCH [Graphics Memory Controller Hub] (rev 03)
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82810 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller] (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801AA PCI Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801AA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801AA IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801AA USB Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801AA SMBus Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801AA AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Leachim

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2007, 16:47    Post_subject: X-Wizard Update
Sub_title: support for intel chipsets added
 

Thanks to Muggins and Hairy Will for supplying information about their Intel based graphics adapters!

The wizard now supports intel chipsets. It uses the appropriate Intel driver (i740 or i810) if possible.

I updated the download in the first post of this thread.

To all others: Please give the wizard a try! If it fails (uses wrong refresh rates or screen resolutions) report the output of lspci and ddcprobe on your system and I will try to fix the wizard! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Everitt

Joined: 19 Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Location: Leeds,UK or Birmingham, UK

PostPosted: Sat 17 Nov 2007, 09:01    Post_subject:  

Leachim wrote:
I could add a configuration file (/etc/xwizard.conf or ~/.xwizard.conf) with personal settings where one could set one's preferred refresh rate.

Hmm, yes. Having just used the script properly (rather than using --simulate) I can honestly say that I couldn't live with 800x600 any more. 1024x768 is clunky to my mind, but is the highest my monitor can take.
Perhaps a command line option? (--min_refresh=75 )?
The detection is working flawlessly though. Very Happy Good work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Leachim

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Sat 17 Nov 2007, 09:22    Post_subject:  

I can add a command line option, too. But the main application of xwizard is the replacement of the current xorgwizard, which is started by a script (xwin) that will not allow for supplying options.

A separate configuration file will work anyways. The idea behind X-Wizard is a USB-pen based installation which will be run on many different PCs and which will select a proper X-configuration on each one - even if never run on this PC before. (That's the way my students and me are using the wizard.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Leachim

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Sat 17 Nov 2007, 09:54    Post_subject: X-Wizard Update
Sub_title: now supports configuration file
 

I updated the X-Wizard as usual (in the first post of this thread).

The new version supports a configuration file, which can either be

* ~/.xwizard.conf

or

* /etc/xwizard.conf

The one in your home directory takes precedence if both exist.

Currently only one variable can be set:

Code:
# X-Wizard configuration

!minimum_refresh_rate 85 # used for CRT-displays only!


Be careful: this file is executed as a Simplicity script, so any syntax-error in this file will hold the complete wizard. (I will supply a more robust integration later on.)

Attention: Don't forget the exclamation mark on the start of the line! Misspelling of minimum_refresh_rate will just set an unused variable.

Set the refresh rate to any rate you like. Reasonable values lie in the range 60 to 120 (Hz).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Fri 23 Nov 2007, 05:47    Post_subject: intel 810  

Good news about the intel 810's, they have always been a problem with puppy as xvesa cant get more than 800x600x16 with them
_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
cb88


Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 1169
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Nov 2007, 15:23    Post_subject:  

hey leachim I hope you are reading the wNOP thread cause there is a good deal of info about various cards being uploaded there... the dumpfiles may quite usefull... http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=23569
_________________
Taking Puppy Linux to the limit of perfection. meanwhile try "puppy pfix=duct_tape" kernel parem eater.
X86: Sager NP6110 3630QM 16GB ram, Tyan Thunder 2 2x 300Mhz
Sun: SS2 , LX , SS5 , SS10 , SS20 ,Ultra 1, Ultra 10 , T2000
Mac: Platinum Plus, SE/30
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Leachim

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 09:15    Post_subject:  

Another Update!

The new version adds HorizSync and VertRefresh information to the generated xorg.conf-file. Most drivers are able to collect this information by themselves - but not all ...

I had some problems with an invisible mouse cursor when using the "nv"-driver. Has somebody else similar problems or does somebody know how to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1032s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]