Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 15 Sep 2014, 23:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How do I boot the Live-CD without creating a pup001 file?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
SP
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2005, 11:19    Post subject:  How do I boot the Live-CD without creating a pup001 file?  

I apologize if this is covered elsewhere (I've looked in the FAQ, Wiki and searched the forum), but I would like to boot Puppy "knoppix-style", without it writing anything to the hard disk.


According to the isolinux.cfg file, there are four different boot options:

Code:

default 1
DISPLAY BOOT.MSG
SAY MENU: 2 No acpi  3 Choose HD  (ENTER only or 10sec timeout for normal boot)
prompt 1
label 1
 kernel vmlinuz
 append root=/dev/ram0 initrd=image.gz  PFILE=pup001-none-262144
label 2
 kernel vmlinuz
 append root=/dev/ram0 initrd=image.gz acpi=off  PFILE=pup001-none-262144
label 3
 kernel vmlinuz
 append root=/dev/ram0 initrd=image.gz acpi=off  PFILE=ask
label 5
 kernel vmlinuz
 append root=/dev/ram0 initrd=image.gz  PFILE=cd
timeout 100

Does "label 5" do what I want?

If not, is it possible to copy the content of my Puppy Live-CD to a folder (in windows), edit isolinux.cfg to this
Code:

default 4
DISPLAY BOOT.MSG
SAY MENU: 1 Normal boot + pup001 file 2 No acpi  3 Choose HD 4 Normal boot NO pup001 file 5 Mystery option (ENTER only or 60sec timeout for normal boot)
prompt 1
label 1
 kernel vmlinuz
 append root=/dev/ram0 initrd=image.gz  PFILE=pup001-none-262144
label 2
 kernel vmlinuz
 append root=/dev/ram0 initrd=image.gz acpi=off  PFILE=pup001-none-262144
label 3
 kernel vmlinuz
 append root=/dev/ram0 initrd=image.gz acpi=off  PFILE=ask
label 4
 kernel vmlinuz
 append root=/dev/ram0 initrd=image.gz  PFILE=none
label 5
 kernel vmlinuz
 append root=/dev/ram0 initrd=image.gz  PFILE=cd
timeout 600

burn the puppy files (user_cram.fs, goofy.16 etc.) together with the modified isolinux.cfg on a CD as usual in Nero, and have it work?

Puppy Linux is by far the best Bootable (almost)Business Card distro I've tried so far, but I can't include it in my salvage-the-files-on-my-friends-supposedly-FUBARed-computer-toolkit if I can't guarantee that it won't write to a harddrive unless told otherwise.
Back to top
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11062
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2005, 16:37    Post subject:  

You don't have to modify Puppy at all to boot and run it entirely in RAM, if you are using a later version. Which version of Puppy are you trying to use? If 1.0.4, select the option that says "Choose HD" (or something like that, I can't remember exactly) and then one of the next options will be to not use the HD at all.

Even if you have a pup001 file already on the HD, you can still choose to boot without the HD. Try it out on your computer at home to see how it goes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SP
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2005, 18:18    Post subject: That worked, thanks!  

Worked like a charm. Thank you.

However, would it be possible to change the isolinux.cfg as described in my first post, or just so it'll default to option 3 (choose HD)?




PS: what do I miss out on if I run puppy linux on a laptop with acpi disabled?
Back to top
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11062
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2005, 00:50    Post subject:  

I might be wrong, but I believe that if you boot Puppy 1.0.4 on a computer which has no existing pup001 file and has only NTFS on the HD, Puppy cannot create a pup001 file and so defaults to not using the HD at all. Either that or Puppy curls up in a corner and whimpers.

I don't know what happens if acpi is disabled. I wouldn't try it with the computer in my lap. Laughing Just kidding!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0574s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0131s) ][ GZIP on ]