Booting USB, tiny.exe balks at loading 'vmlinuz' kernel

Booting, installing, newbie

Booting USB, tiny.exe balks at loading 'vmlinuz' kernel

#1 Post by Guest »

I am new to Puppy (and really excited about it); however, I have a problem. I have a USB flash drive, which I loaded up with the 3 files needed for Puppy (as per the updated installation instructions) plus the 'pupxusb' file. On booting my computer with the floppy, the USB drive is found and tiny.exe attempts to load the vmlinuz kernel, but hangs instead. I don't get any error messages or anything else like that. Any help on this would be appreciated.

Bruce B

#2 Post by Bruce B »

My personal opinion is that tiny.exe sometimes does that.

You can use grub for dos and boot with a floppy, but you need an ms-dos bootable floppy.

you can make the dos bootable floppy from a Win9x or DOS machine with this command:

sys c: a:

or

format a: /s

if you are interested in doing it with grub, make your bootable ms-dos floppy. I'll try and guide you through the rest.

Eugene (formerly Guest)

#3 Post by Eugene (formerly Guest) »

So I need to use an OS before XP to make the ms-dos bootable floppy (I tried on XP, but the dos prompt doesn't recognize the /s parameter), right?

Thanks for your help.

Flash
Official Dog Handler

#4 Post by Flash »

That's right. You might be able to make a bootable 'rescue floppy' from XP, then delete from the floppy the files you don't want, keeping only the ones that you need. I'm not sure which ones to leave though.

Eugene

#5 Post by Eugene »

Once I make the ms-dos bootable floppy, what files should I put on it?

Bruce B

#6 Post by Bruce B »

Eugene wrote:Once I make the ms-dos bootable floppy, what files should I put on it?
grub.exe (search for grub for dos)
edit.com (comes with windows 9x)

----------------

then you will need to make 3 text files:

1) config.sys that does nothing or what ever you want it to do

2) autoexec.bat, with this line: