Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 07:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Expose-clone 2.4 (shows thumbnails of open windows)
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 5 [62 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2005, 00:10    Post subject:  Expose-clone 2.4 (shows thumbnails of open windows)  

Screenshot:


http://puppyfiles.org/dotpupsde/dotpups/Desktop-Tools/expose2.4.jpg


Mac-OSX user know it - you hit a button, and all windows of your screen are shown as small snapshots.
So it is a kind of "visual Task-list". Clicking a thumbnail brings the window to front.

This is great, if you have many windows open.

There are 2 ways to start expose.

Drag "expose2now" on your desktop, and click on it.
Or start the permanent visible icon in your menue and click on it.


Options: If you get no correct screenshots, you can edit these 2 files in the texteditor, and try to set the delay-value to 50000 or so.
/usr/local/expose2.4/expose2
/usr/local/expose2.4/expose2now


You must install 2 dotpups, expose2.4.pup and imlib2.pup.

If you want another background, replace background2.jpg in the /resource -folder with your own.

Download:
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Desktop-Tools/expose2.4.pup (80 kb)
Install imlib2, too!
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Libraries/imlib2.pup (730 kb)

tip:
If you use "xcompmgr" (a tool to draw shadows and transparent windows), you have no delay at all! It keeps window snapshots already in a buffer, and expose will use this fast buffer.

Mark

Last edited by MU on Sat 03 Mar 2007, 17:05; edited 15 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2005, 02:33    Post subject: Re: Expose-clone 2.4 (shows thumbnails of open windows)  

MU wrote:

Options: you can edit expose2 and expose2now in beaver, and try to set the delay-value to 300000. This is faster, but on some systems the screenshots will not look good then.


I set it to
delay="100000";
seems OK with that

I am using fvwm95 and the 'page selector' (bottom right)
and 'close programs bomb' top right appear as giant icons

Clicking on a minimised screenshot brings that to the fore.
- which I suppose is the main point? Good idea
Will now see if I use it . . .

Many thanks Mark

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Wed 21 Sep 2005, 09:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2005, 07:40    Post subject:  

in icewm, the panel will be visible as a thumbnail, too. Should add an "exclude-list" somewhen.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2005, 20:18    Post subject:  

I updated the expose-Dotpup.

Now it ignores windows called "panel" and "ROX-filer".
These were used for snapshots too on some Windowmanagers like oroborus.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2005, 02:07    Post subject:  

This is a feature I really like in Mac.

It's kind of funny, because I am at the point where I'm used to hitting F9 on a Mac all the time that I am doing it on Windows and Linux as well and nothing is happening.

I'm downloading this now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2005, 02:20    Post subject:  

All it's doing is putting a little picture of the icon in my upper left-hand corner.

It does nothing.

I left click it, nothing happens. I middle click, nothing happens. I right click, it disappears.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2005, 02:24    Post subject:  

also try the dotpup attached.
Install, then run "skippy" and press F9

If it works, add
skippy &

to your .xinitrc to have it always running Smile

Tell me if it is missing a lib.

Mark
skippy.pup
Description 
pup

 Download 
Filename  skippy.pup 
Filesize  49.21 KB 
Downloaded  795 Time(s) 

Last edited by MU on Mon 21 Nov 2005, 01:05; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2005, 02:26    Post subject:  

you installed the imlib-dotpup, too?

If yes, run
/usr/local/expose2.4/expose2now
in a console-window, and copy the error-message here.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2005, 02:31    Post subject:  

# /usr/local/expose2.4/expose2now
Segmentation fault
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2005, 02:31    Post subject:  

and yes, I installed both dotpups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2005, 02:32    Post subject:  

oops.. thats an ugly error.

I will check it tomorrow on a fresh install.

Tanks, Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2005, 02:34    Post subject:  

ok...if it helps any, I'm running Grafpup.

Maybe we've found a slight compatability issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2005, 02:56    Post subject:  

I fixed it.
Download expose.pup again.
It was a string-error (memory-error).
I'm not so good in C, and oroborus seems to be more tolerant concerning that than icewm. Now it works with icewm, too Smile

Have you tried skippy, too?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2005, 15:52    Post subject:  

expose is working now.

Skippy isn't working. I just tried it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2005, 15:55    Post subject:  

# /usr/local/skippy/FILESYTEM/usr/bin/skippy
/usr/local/skippy/FILESYTEM/usr/bin/skippy: error while loading shared libraries: libpcre.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 5 [62 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0681s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]