Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 21:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
AMD K6-300: boot hangs @ "SCSI subsystem driver"
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
knewbee

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2005, 22:51    Post subject:  AMD K6-300: boot hangs @ "SCSI subsystem driver"  

Hi.

I'm brand new to Puppy (and Linux for that matter), so please be gentle.

I'm trying to run Puppy on an older machine, AMD K6-300, 256MB RAM, Win98SE. I have tried both the Live-CD and the "Run Puppy from Windows 98" methods, and both of them hang during boot.

With the Live-CD method, I get to the puppy menu, then a bunch of stuff scrolls by, much of which is something like "hdb: read_intr blah blah blah error blah blah blah". Then it hangs at "SCSI subsystem driver Revision: 1.00".

With the "Run Puppy from Windows 98" method, it hangs at "Gujin1, gujin2 + go! v0.9 (c) Etienne LORRAIN 2004".

Any ideas?

BTW, I did get the Live-CD method to work on a different machine.

Thanks!
Lobster
Official Crustacean

PostPosted: Thu 22 Sep 2005, 04:11    Post subject:  

Welcome to the kennels,

Interesting.

Be brave. Are you able to open your machine and unplug the SCSCI drive? Either of the cables. That would confirm that Puppy is having a problem with your drive.

Embarassed (what are you gonna boot up from?) [ahem . . .] scrap that idea . . .

OK I am leaving this post in for amusement value and to confirm my addled thinking processes.

I do have quite a few CD players - so if I really wanted to run Puppy I would change the drive. Your situation may be different . . .