Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 10:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
pBurn 4.3.10
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 114 of 144 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, ..., 142, 143, 144 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 17 Mar 2012, 12:53    Post_subject:  

No St.Patrick in Norway, but there is always an excuse for a pint...


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 127
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 25 Mar 2012, 19:01    Post_subject: pburn fails to burn audio from .toc file  

I tried to burn an audio CD from a toc file, and pburn 3.3.7 said "unknown error".
Here's the log file:
Code:
Pburn version 3.2.3

###################################################
   COMMAND:
###################################################
cdrecord dev=/dev/cdrom -raw96r  -clone -v ""

###################################################
   OUTPUT:
###################################################
/root/.pburn/tmp/exec2_preburn: line 1: /root/.pburn/tmp/exec_preburn: No such file or directory
scsidev: '/dev/cdrom'
devname: '/dev/cdrom'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.27
Wodim version: 1.1.10
SCSI buffer size: 64512
Beginning DMA speed test. Set CDR_NODMATEST environment variable if device
communication breaks or freezes immediately after that.
TOC Type: 1 = CD-ROM
Device type    : Removable CD-ROM
Version        : 5
Response Format: 2
Capabilities   :
Vendor_info    : 'PHILIPS '
Identification : 'DVDR1660P1      '
Revision       : 'P1.5'
Device seems to be: Generic mmc2 DVD-R/DVD-RW.
Current: 0x0009 (CD-R)
Profile: 0x002B (DVD+R/DL)
Profile: 0x001B (DVD+R)
Profile: 0x001A (DVD+RW)
Profile: 0x0016 (DVD-R/DL layer jump recording)
Profile: 0x0015 (DVD-R/DL sequential recording)
Profile: 0x0014 (DVD-RW sequential recording)
Profile: 0x0013 (DVD-RW restricted overwrite)
Profile: 0x0011 (DVD-R sequential recording)
Profile: 0x0010 (DVD-ROM)
Profile: 0x000A (CD-RW)
Profile: 0x0009 (CD-R) (current)
Profile: 0x0008 (CD-ROM)
Using generic SCSI-3/mmc   CD-R/CD-RW driver (mmc_cdr).
Driver flags   : MMC-3 SWABAUDIO BURNFREE
Supported modes: TAO PACKET SAO SAO/R96R RAW/R16 RAW/R96R
Drive buf size : 1073152 = 1048 KB
FIFO size      : 12582912 = 12288 KB
Encoding speed : 637x (47763 sectors/s) for libedc from Heiko Eißfeldt
wodim: No such file or directory. Cannot open ''.

Can that be fixed or worked around?

thank you

_________________
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sebus

Joined: 20 Jan 2012
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon 26 Mar 2012, 13:26    Post_subject:  

First upgrade to current version...

sebus
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 127
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 26 Mar 2012, 17:47    Post_subject:  

sebus wrote:
First upgrade to current version...

sebus
Sorry for accidently posting the 3.2.3 log.

3.5.1 does not run because:
Code:
/usr/local/pburn/box_splash: line 27: gtkdialog4: command not found
/usr/local/pburn/pburn: line 165: gtkdialog4: command not found
Killed

This is the log from 3.3.7:
Code:
Pburn version 3.3.7

###################################################
   COMMAND:
###################################################
cdrecord dev=/dev/sr0 -raw96r  -clone -v ""

###################################################
   OUTPUT:
###################################################
scsidev: '/dev/sr0'
devname: '/dev/sr0'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.27
Wodim version: 1.1.10
SCSI buffer size: 64512
Beginning DMA speed test. Set CDR_NODMATEST environment variable if device
communication breaks or freezes immediately after that.
TOC Type: 1 = CD-ROM
Device type    : Removable CD-ROM
Version        : 5
Response Format: 2
Capabilities   :
Vendor_info    : 'PHILIPS '
Identification : 'DVDR1660P1      '
Revision       : 'P1.5'
Device seems to be: Generic mmc2 DVD-R/DVD-RW.
Current: 0x0009 (CD-R)
Profile: 0x002B (DVD+R/DL)
Profile: 0x001B (DVD+R)
Profile: 0x001A (DVD+RW)
Profile: 0x0016 (DVD-R/DL layer jump recording)
Profile: 0x0015 (DVD-R/DL sequential recording)
Profile: 0x0014 (DVD-RW sequential recording)
Profile: 0x0013 (DVD-RW restricted overwrite)
Profile: 0x0011 (DVD-R sequential recording)
Profile: 0x0010 (DVD-ROM)
Profile: 0x000A (CD-RW)
Profile: 0x0009 (CD-R) (current)
Profile: 0x0008 (CD-ROM)
Using generic SCSI-3/mmc   CD-R/CD-RW driver (mmc_cdr).
Driver flags   : MMC-3 SWABAUDIO BURNFREE
Supported modes: TAO PACKET SAO SAO/R96R RAW/R16 RAW/R96R
Drive buf size : 1073152 = 1048 KB
FIFO size      : 12582912 = 12288 KB
Encoding speed : 614x (45987 sectors/s) for libedc from Heiko Eißfeldt
wodim: No such file or directory. Cannot open ''.

_________________
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 26 Mar 2012, 17:55    Post_subject:  

hanzf
Are you aware of this



Changelog
Version 3.5.0, 25.Feb 2012
- Improved Blu-ray (BD-R) support.
- Detection of DVD-mediatype in disc-info window.
- Detection of Blu-ray in burn-options window.
- First run installation is now done in 'no' time. (thanks to big_bass)
- Bugfix: Blu-ray discs was detected as DVD in statusbar. (thanks to flash)
- Bugfix: Size-detection of burnt BD-R sessions in statusbar. (thanks to flash)
- Bugfix: mkdir $HOME/my-documents/tmp if not exist and using as the default temporary storage. (thanks to big_bass)
- Bugfix: Startup-check for temp-dir always shows up if placed inside /mnt/home. (thanks to otropogo)
- Bugfix: Pburn won't open burn-option dialog if previous sessions contains not valid joliet extensions.
- Bugfix: Detect optical device in Porteus (thanks to Ahua in the Porteus forum)
- Bugfix: Not allowing capitals in file extension - *.CUE and *.TOC (thanks to sebus)
- Bugfix: Tray autoloads at once it has opened tray.
- NLS: Added: LOC395
- NLS: Changed: LOC126, 240, 333, 392
- NLS: Removed: LOC400

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 127
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 26 Mar 2012, 18:57    Post_subject:  

zigbert wrote:
hanzf
Are you aware of this



Changelog
Version 3.5.0, 25.Feb 2012
...
- Bugfix: Not allowing capitals in file extension - *.CUE and *.TOC (thanks to sebus)
...

The file name, and also the extension are both lowercase.
I moved them to /mnt/sda2 so there are no more capitals in the path name.
Same result.

Maybe you can just tell me the "cdrecord" command to burn a cd from "mycd.toc" so I can do it in a console?

_________________
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2012, 12:32    Post_subject:  

hanzf
I have never burnt a toc-file, so I don't really know Embarassed
I have just grabbed the command from the web, and made the command available via the Pburn gui. It is from guys like you that Pburn evolves....

From your log-file the command is shown:
Code:
cdrecord dev=/dev/sr0 -raw96r  -clone -v "/mypath/mycd.toc"


The problem seems to that command builds without given toc-file.
Please confirm if this works or not.


Thank you
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 127
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2012, 14:23    Post_subject:  

Thank you zigbert
Does not work. Very strange:
Code:
# cdrecord dev=/dev/sr0 -raw96r  -clone -v "/mnt/sda2/wln.toc"
scsidev: '/dev/sr0'
devname: '/dev/sr0'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.27
Wodim version: 1.1.10
SCSI buffer size: 64512
...
Beginning DMA speed test. Set CDR_NODMATEST environment variable if device
communication breaks or freezes immediately after that.
wodim: No such file or directory. Cannot open '/mnt/sda2/wln.toc.toc'.


Note how cdrecord appended an extra ".toc" to the file name!
So consequently I tried:

Code:

# cdrecord dev=/dev/sr0 -raw96r  -clone -v /mnt/sda2/wln
scsidev: '/dev/sr0'
devname: '/dev/sr0'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.27
Wodim version: 1.1.10
SCSI buffer size: 64512
...
Beginning DMA speed test. Set CDR_NODMATEST environment variable if device
communication breaks or freezes immediately after that.
wodim: No such file or directory. Cannot open '/mnt/sda2/wln'.


No extra ".toc" now. Really tricky.

Third try: I renamed "wln.toc" to "wln", without filename extension.

Code:
# mv wln.toc wln
# cdrecord dev=/dev/sr0 -raw96r  -clone -v /mnt/sda2/wln
scsidev: '/dev/sr0'
devname: '/dev/sr0'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.27
Wodim version: 1.1.10
SCSI buffer size: 64512
...
Beginning DMA speed test. Set CDR_NODMATEST environment variable if device
communication breaks or freezes immediately after that.
wodim: No such file or directory. Cannot open '/mnt/sda2/wln.toc'.


NO JOKE - IT WAS EXACTLY LIKE THAT!
Last try: I copied "wln" to "wln.toc" so they both exist. Now there's no way out for cdrecord. So I thought.

Code:

# cp wln wln.toc
# cdrecord dev=/dev/sr0 -raw96r  -clone -v /mnt/sda2/wln
scsidev: '/dev/sr0'
devname: '/dev/sr0'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.27
Wodim version: 1.1.10
SCSI buffer size: 64512
...
Beginning DMA speed test. Set CDR_NODMATEST environment variable if device
communication breaks or freezes immediately after that.
wodim: Can only copy session # 1.


Seems like a perfect simulation of 4 teenagers mobbing a classmate...
cdrecord is not my friend.

_________________
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 27 Mar 2012, 15:14    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Seems like a perfect simulation of 4 teenagers mobbing a classmate...
cdrecord is not my friend.
Laughing

I don't know what Puppy you are running, but you should be aware of that most puppies does NOT use cdrecord. It is just a link to wodim from the cdrkit package. You might have more luck if you install the cdrtools package. Pburn will prefer cdrecord over wodim if exist.
Sebus reported that cdrecord was able to burn from cue-file, while wodim was not.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 127
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 28 Mar 2012, 07:33    Post_subject:  

zigbert wrote:

I don't know what Puppy you are running, but you should be aware of that most puppies does NOT use cdrecord. It is just a link to wodim from the cdrkit package. You might have more luck if you install the cdrtools package. Pburn will prefer cdrecord over wodim if exist.
Sebus reported that cdrecord was able to burn from cue-file, while wodim was not.
Sigmund

yes, actually the messages come from wodim. I'll look for this cdrtools package.

_________________
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sebus

Joined: 20 Jan 2012
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Wed 28 Mar 2012, 14:13    Post_subject:  

But you have to compile it...

I use Fatdog x64 5.21

sebus
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Wed 28 Mar 2012, 18:41    Post_subject: Re: pburn fails to burn audio from .toc file  

hanzf wrote:
I tried to burn an audio CD from a toc file, and pburn 3.3.7 said "unknown error".
...


Oh, thank you. It's nice to know I'm not the only one to have this problem (or at least, to report it...)

I'd like a fix too please.

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 127
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 29 Mar 2012, 03:45    Post_subject:  

Hello otropogo,

I give up on this issue, Sorry

hans

_________________
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5728
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 29 Mar 2012, 13:44    Post_subject:  

sebus wrote:
But you have to compile it...

I use Fatdog x64 5.21

sebus
I see cdrtools in the repo (Slacko). What is wrong with that one?


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2012, 00:30    Post_subject: pburn info error on iso burn
Sub_title: pburn 3.5.1 reports blank disk as RW when it is CD-R
 

Today I burned a data disk in the following manner:

1. started a data copy with temporary storage

2. interrupted the burn when the blank disk was called for (I wanted to use a CD-RW, but hadn't blanked it

3. blanked the CD-RW

4. used the burn iso function to burn the saved iso to the CD-RW

5. after removing and testing the CD-RW, I inserted a blank CD-R in the burner, and selected tools/info

Pburn reported a blank "RW" disk.

I opened the tray to make sure I hadn't made a mistake, reinserted it, and tried the same procedure again.

again Pburn reported a blank "RW" disk.

I burned the iso to the CD-R disk without incident. So no damage except for the annoyance and waste of time. However, I can imagine being upset if I meant to use an RW disk, had inserted a CD-R or DVD-R by mistake, and trusted the tools/info report.

Very confusing and annoying.

I also verified this burn and the preceding one, and instead of saying "verified" or something definitive like that, it gave the following report:

iso -xxxxxxxxxxxxx md5sum- burned disk

I find this unnecessarily confusing too. Is it assuming the user already has an md5sum to compare to, or is it just a very long-winded way of saying the burn is an exact copy? If the latter, what would it say if it weren't?

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 114 of 144 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, ..., 142, 143, 144 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1480s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0414s) ][ GZIP on ]