Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 21:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
how i got wobbly on dell 6400 ati x1400... autostart?
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
topjohn

Joined: 27 Nov 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 12:52    Post_subject:  how i got wobbly on dell 6400 ati x1400... autostart?
Sub_title: here's what i did to finally get compiz on dell 6400 ati x1400... now i just need autostart
 

after few more retries, i've narrowed down a process that works. may not be the best. i used tombh's wnop.iso for install.

1) copied devx_301.sfs and kernel-src_301.sfs to my puppy install partition.
2) rebooted. bootmanager came up and imported devx and kernel-src files
3) installed the ati driver (45meg)
3) edited /etc/X11/xorg.conf. replaced "vesa" with "fglrx"
4) restartx. ctrl+alt+backspace. type "xwin"
5) copied fglrx_dri.so from "/usr/lib/dri/fglrx_dri.so" to "/usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/fglrx_dri.so
6) restartx. ctrl+alt+backspace. type "xwin"
7) then in terminal type "SKIP_CHECKS=yes compiz-manager

so everything is working great. now if someone could help me get this to autostart, i would be so grateful.

thanks to all!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 18:50    Post_subject:  

Puppy 3 is using hardwareprofiles.

This technique overwrites manual changes in /etc/X11/xorg.conf

I currently experiment in adding a nvidia-driver to Muppy008 beta, the problem is I have no nvidia-card, and so do it "blind".

However, it seems I could disable the hardware-profile like this:

In /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin
around lines 180 I commented some lines:


Code:
#MU removed hardwareprofile to be able to install nvidia-drivers
   esac
#   PROFILECHIP="`echo "$DDCPROBE" | grep '^oem: ' | head -n 1 | cut -f 2-4 -d ' ' | tr ' ' '_' | sed -e 's/[^0-9a-zA-Z]/_/g'`"
#   PROFILEMONITOR="`echo "$DDCPROBE" | grep --extended-regexp '^monitorrange: |^monitorid: |^eisa: ' | head -n 1 | cut -f 2 -d ':' | sed -e 's/ //g' | sed -e 's/[^0-9a-zA-Z]/_/g'`"
#   HARDWAREPROFILE="${PROFILECHIP}${PROFILEMONITOR}"
   #find out if current xorg.conf matches this profile...
#   CURRENTPROFILE="`cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep '^#PuppyHardwareProfile' | cut -f 2 -d '=' | cut -f 1 -d ' '`"
#   if [ ! "$CURRENTPROFILE" = "$HARDWAREPROFILE" ];then
#    #video hardware has changed. either changed monitor or booting different PC.
    #same current xorg.conf as a profiled filename...
#    mv -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${CURRENTPROFILE}
    #if a previous profiled filename for new hardware, use that...
#    [ -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${HARDWAREPROFILE} ] && cp -af /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${HARDWAREPROFILE} /etc/X11/xorg.conf
#   fi


Now my xorg.conf keeps the nvidia entry, though I have a SIS card.
This means on my system X will not start, what is intended, as I test a uninstaller for those people, where the nvidiadriver will not work.

For you this change might help to keep the fglrx entry.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 06:35    Post_subject:  

You're not doing all 7 steps every time you boot are you!?

Step 7 can be setup to be automatic with the following

Code:
echo "yes" > /etc/compizflag.txt


Open up /root/.xinitrc for editing and near the start where it says

Code:
if [ $COMPIZFLAG = "yes" ]; then
   compiz-manager &
   sleep 1
fi


you could add SKIP_CHECKS=yes like this

Code:
if [ $COMPIZFLAG = "yes" ]; then
   SKIP_CHECKS=yes
   compiz-manager &
   sleep 1
fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
topjohn

Joined: 27 Nov 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 11:23    Post_subject:  

no, don't have to do all seven steps. just the skip_checks part. btw tombh, this post was supposed to be in the other post your helping me with. don't want you to think i'm trying to steal any thunder for getting woblly to work. heheh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
topjohn

Joined: 27 Nov 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 12:02    Post_subject:  

sooo freakin awesome! actually, i just had to make a slight edit:

your suggestion of:

if [ $COMPIZFLAG = "yes" ]; then
SKIP_CHECKS=yes
compiz-manager &
sleep 1
fi

wasn't working for me. i had to edit to:

if [ $COMPIZFLAG = "yes" ]; then
SKIP_CHECKS=yes compiz-manager &
sleep 1
fi

then it worked! my world is being rocked.. i'm wobbly!

again, tombh, you are a wealth of knowledge and because of your support and the support of others in the forum, i am going to be a puppy user for a long time to come.

enough ass kissing. one other question.... do you know of a way to have puppy save it's pup_save file to a drive other than the install location? i've been told it's not possible, but i thought i had done it once. so many re-installs it's hard to keep track. i basically would like to stop writing to my flash drive and keep settings and changes to hard drive. cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Caneri

Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 1580
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 13:23    Post_subject:  

I'm Wobbling..Holy Cow....

Thanks tombh and topjohn!!!!!

Just a reboot and I'll see if it still works.

I used the full ati driver and topjohn's directions with the /root/.xinitrc hack.

Be back in a bit with the results after rebooting..EDIT..ok all is well after a reboot and I'm a wobblin'...can I make an remastered iso out of this setup to have a permanent boot cd?

OMG!!!!!! This puppy is REALLY more gorgeous than...well...normal Puppy.
EDIT...I seem to have a lot of cpu usage....a tad slower than standard 3.01...but still faster than you know who.. Laughing

Well done all...and a movin' on up.
Ati Mobility Radeon X1600 256mb ram

_________________
Be not afraid to grow slowly, only be afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
topjohn

Joined: 27 Nov 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 17:43    Post_subject:  

well caneri, tombh get's all the credit. as a matter of fact, i would have never figured out the "skip_checks" if not for your post. wobble on bruthas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
floborg


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 194
Location: Fort Worth, TX

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 19:39    Post_subject:  

MU wrote:
Puppy 3 is using hardwareprofiles.

This technique overwrites manual changes in /etc/X11/xorg.conf



Is that why xvidtune mods are lost on a rebbot? See my thread:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=23094
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 20:25    Post_subject:  

I can't tell you, just try it out.

Wobbly has tweaks, so my conclusion might be correct for Puppy3, but not for wobbly.
I will have a closer look at wobbly in the next days, when I'm offline.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0766s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0112s) ][ GZIP on ]