Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 12:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to Boot Puppy from the Windows boot loader?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
kcin

Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 101
Location: Oakland CA

PostPosted: Wed 28 Sep 2005, 12:03    Post subject:  How to Boot Puppy from the Windows boot loader?  

Hello to all,

When I first tried Puppy (1.03?), I had my hard drive split up into several
partitions specifically for the purpose of installing multiple Linux
distributions to test. I installed Puppy on one of these partitions and
then used the command:

dd if=/dev/hda2 of=/mnt/cdrive/bootsect.pup bs=512 count=1

to capture a copy of the bootsector and save it in the Windows C:\ drive.
I was then able to boot Puppy from the Windows boot loader by adding the
line:

c:\bootsect.pup="Puppy Linux"

...to boot.ini

I had used the same technique with Vector and some other distros, so that
they were all conveniently available from the Windows boot loader.
However, I had to reclaim some HD space for some graphics files on C:\
under windows, and so I wiped all the linux partitions and C:\ to utilize
the whole drive.

Later, I decided I wanted Puppy back, and by this time, it was version 1.04
which now had the installation technique of the four files right to the C:\
drive of Windows (which, if it had existed previously, I had been unaware
of it until that point). I thought "Great, I can install Puppy without
having to repartition my drive" - which I then did, and used the floppy to
boot Puppy.

The only thing is, I dislike having to use the floppy to boot Puppy; It
seems like an inelegant technique to me. Since Puppy is installed on the
HD, I want to be able to boot it from the Windows boot loader just like I
did before, when I had Puppy in its own partition.

So I initially tried to accomplish this by copying the boot code from the
floppy to the HD, and referencing these files from boot.ini (of course this
won't work, I then realized, as boot.ini expects a boot sector and nothing
else).

So, I am unsure if this is even doable with Puppy installed as files on C:\,
and if it is, how to go about it. I don't think using autoexec.bat to run
the Puppy loader will work, as it will always execute, whenever the C:\
drive boot option is selected, thereby making Windows inaccessible.


Can any of you more experienced Puppy Masters out there point me in the
right direction on how to do this?

Best regards,

kcin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 28 Sep 2005, 12:42    Post subject:  

search for wingrub.

It installs into a folder (not the bootsector) on C:\ ,and you can add an entry to it in C:\boot.ini

It is included here:
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?p=15035#15035

Maybe I should make a zip containing only wingrub and the batchfiles, so you can run it with existing puppyfiles.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 28 Sep 2005, 12:58    Post subject:  

You do good work Mark.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 28 Sep 2005, 23:52    Post subject:  

Thanks Bruce.

Here is an installer for Windows XP:

http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=2525

Greets, Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kcin

Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 101
Location: Oakland CA

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2005, 01:28    Post subject:  

Mu, Thanks for the tip about GRLDR. I downloaded it and set it up and it worked but it created a new instance of Puppy - a Pup001 and did not boot to my old one which is still there but is named Pup1.

So I can now boot from the bootloader but am faced with a lengthy rebuild of all the packages I had installed before - Do you know if there is there a way around this? ...a way to have the new GRLDR find the old Pupfile?

Regards,

Kcin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kcin

Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 101
Location: Oakland CA

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2005, 01:48    Post subject:  

Mu,

I figured it out - had to change the menu.lst file PFILE entry from

PFILE=pup001-none-262144

to

PFILE=pup1-none-524288

Back in business!

Thanks again for getting me pointed in the right direction,

Regards,

Kcin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0503s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0028s) ][ GZIP on ]