Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 06:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Unable to upgrade HD install to 1.0.5?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
iandel

Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 30
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 28 Sep 2005, 17:06    Post subject:  Unable to upgrade HD install to 1.0.5?  

G'day,

I just downloaded the new version and like it. However, when I tried to install it to the hard-drive, upgrading from 1.0.4, I encountered a "Catch 22". This is what puppy told me.

It appears that because I have Puppy on /dev/hda7 that I cannot upgrade it to that drive. Am I missing something? The obvious place to put the upgrade would be where the old version already is. I do not want to erase everything on that partition, which is the solution suggested by the installer.

What am I to do? A response in simple, I am not a programmer, type English is preferred. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 28 Sep 2005, 19:20    Post subject:  

iandel,
Probably Puppy has created the "pup001" file on hda7, so yes,
you have the "catch-22" situation.

However, you can boot the live-CD so that it runs totally in ramdisk, no pup001 file, then you will be able to install to hda7.

There is a 10 second pause at bootup, and you have to hit the
...my memory is failing me here... I think it's the "3" key, then
hit ENTER key.
Then there is an option I think to boot without any hard drive.

However, we have found a bug, and I have just posted a
solution.
Have a look at this thread:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?p=15365#15365

There's a fixed install script. Download that to somewhere, like /root, then run it directly, not from the menu.
Let me know if it works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
iandel

Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 30
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 28 Sep 2005, 21:18    Post subject:  

G'day,

I tried the download but got the same result. I also tried deleting the pup0001 file but that didn't help.

When I used boot option 3 the keyboard would not work when I got to the part where the drive is selected (or no drive is selected) so couldn't proceed past there.

I am using a Sony K13 laptop if that affects anything.

The only work-around I can think of is to copy my files to a CD and start afresh, but I would rather not have to do this.

Any more thoughts?

Ian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 28 Sep 2005, 22:21    Post subject:  

That makes things much more difficult, as the keyboard
doesn't work...

1.
Boot the live-CD, run fdisk, change the filesystem id for hda7
to something weird that Puppy won't recognise, like for
example I think there's a BeOS f.s. id.

2.
Reboot the live-CD.

3.
You will be running totally in ramdisk, unless Puppy managed
to find another suitable partition in which to create the
pup001 file.

4.
Type the "df" command.
if no /usr directory shown, then you are running totally in ramdisk and you need to use that fixed install-hd2.sh script
that I posted.
Otherwise, just select to install to hd from the menu.

5.
run fdisk again to change the f.s. id back to ext2
...82 or 83, can't recall which.

6.
remove cd, boot up the hd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
iandel

Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 30
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2005, 13:06    Post subject:  

G'day,

I managed to get my computer to upgrade by nefarious means.

I used "5" as the method to boot (which is not in the dialogue message that gives boot options) then made sure that it didn't read the pupxxxx file on the hard drive. I was then able to upgrade using "Install Puppy Hardrive" in the Setup menu. Very Happy

The only problem now is that programmes installed using PupGet have disapeared. e.g. Opera and Freecell. They are still in the menu (Start - Internet - etc) but don't open. Is there an easy fix for this?

I am appreciating your help and love the whole Puppy concept & distro.

Ian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0472s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]