Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 22:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
cant start X
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
GeorgeV
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2005, 04:24    Post subject:  cant start X  

Hi,

I just downloaded chubby puppy 1.0.4 and the puppy 1.0.5 distro. However I cant use them since they both fail at starting X:

as soon as they try to start X they hang and the only way I found to get back to the command prompt is to hit alt-SysReq (not sure if this is correct but it works Wink

I looked at the the /tmp/xerrs.txt and the error I get is:

>Interrupt pointer doesn't point at ROM
>
>Fatal server error:
>no screens found
>giving up.
>/usr/X11R6/bin/xinit: Connection refused (errno 111): unable to connect >to X server
>/usr/X11R6/bin/xinit: No such process (errno 3): Server error.

I tried then to run xwin by hand and this is the messages it gave before getting hang as well:

>This script will run X windows for you...
>Starting X with video mode 0x0111 and mouse psaux...
>Exited from X. Type "xwin [fvwm95|jwm]" to restart X ([ ] mean >optional).
>(To change mouse and keyboard, type "rm /etc/mousedevice", then run >xwin)

I am using a Pentium 2.4GHz, ASUS P4PE motherboard, ATI Radeon 9000 graphics card.

Is this a case of this particular hardware not supported by Puppy or is there something I could do?

Regards

--
George
Back to top
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2005, 05:38    Post subject:  

Try executing this:

Code:
# Xvesa -listmodes


see if the Xvesa server can find any useful video modes in your graphics chip.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GeorgeV
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2005, 03:15    Post subject: Cant start X  

No luck,

the output from "Xvesa -listmodes" is

Code:

Interrupt pointer doesn't point at ROM
Interrupt pointer doesn't point at ROM
0x0006: 640x200x1 (monochrome) Planar (1 planes)
0x000D: 320x200x4 Planar (4 planes) (no linear framebuffer)
0x000E: 640x200x4 Planar (4 planes) (no linear framebuffer)
0x0010: 640x350x4 Planar (4 planes) (no linear framebuffer)
0x0011: 640x480x1 (monochrome) Planar (1 planes)
0x0012: 640x480x4 Planar (4 planes) (no linear framebuffer)
0x0013: 320x200x8 PseudoColor


Is then the Xvesa implementation the problem? Can I do anything about it?

Thanx for your help
--
George
Back to top
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2005, 04:51    Post subject:  

You might need the xorg-Xserver:
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=2303

You can install it even if X is not running:
mkdir /root/xorg
cd /root/xorg
wget http://noforum.de/dotpups/xorg682c.pup
unzip xorg682c.pup
./dotpup.sh

This will download, extract and install it.
You might edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf then:
mp /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Press CTRL-A for a menue in mp.

Replace the "vesa" with "ati" or "radeon" .

Then type "xwin jwm" to start X.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GeorgeV
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2005, 06:01    Post subject: Cant start X  

Thanx for all the help !!!

I just downloaded xorg and I'm going to give this a try over the weekend!

Will let you know how it goes

P.S. I am VERY impressed by the response in this forum. Congrats, keep up the good work!

--
George
Back to top
GeorgeV
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 02:42    Post subject: cant start X - SOLVED  

Very Happy

Just tried yesterday chubby puppy 1.0.5 with xorg and it worked. I tweaked xorg.conf a bit: changed "vesa" to "radeon" and also changed the refresh rates to match those of my monitor. So now I am looking at a beautiful Puppy in 1024*768 resolution.

Exchellent work. So I am of to explore this new world!

Thanx for all your help!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0500s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]