Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 01:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Can't install GRUB to HDD, no floppy.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 14:37    Post_subject:  

rarsa wrote:
I haven't used grub with a type 1 installation, I will investigate and let you know.


rasa, it works fine, really fine. what I don't do much of if any at all, is boot from floppy or cd disc.

I recently made a option 1 install of version 1.05 without even burning a cd disc. I extracted the necessary files from the .iso and added a grub menu item for it
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 15:39    Post_subject:  

Wow Bruce!, the installation finally worked, no errors, and setup. When it got to making the menu.lst file it said file not found ....and never seemed to complete the script..

I rebooted and it said Operating Ssystem failure when I tried to boot to drive....looking back over procedure and trying again. Will report back

Thanks everyone!!!
Back to top
Menel

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 15:54    Post_subject:  

I went back through the procedure fresh and it works, completed the script and everything. When I tried to boot it gave an error about could not locate usr_cram.fs. I'm gonna look into it now (I put it in /boot/ and not in just /). So excited ^_^
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Menel

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 16:58    Post_subject:  

I put the newly installed harddrive in the Primary Slave position on our PC/104 stack. I changed the menu.lst file appropriately to get it to boot in this new position.

Now I need to partition and format the CF device. Problem, when I run the install to hardrive script it asks for the CDROM. There is no CDROM capability of this PC104 board. I need toby pass that step and pull from hdb1 Sad

I have an idea, if I copy all files from that harddrive to this CF card and then rerun the GRUB installer......maybe that will work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 17:14    Post_subject:  

save this file to /usr/sbin/installfuncs (overwrite existing file)

http://noforum.de/tests/installfuncs

Make it executable:
chmod 755 /usr/sbin/installfuncs

Edit line 64-68 in beaver so that they point to the files on your harddrive:

Code:

cp -f /mnt/home/puppylinux1.0.5/vmlinuz ${DESTDIR}/  #/root/tmp
sync
 cp -f /mnt/home/puppylinux1.0.5/image.gz ${DESTDIR}/  #/root/tmp
 cp -f /mnt/home/usr_cram.fs ${DESTDIR}/  #/root/tmp/


Now the setup-script will not look for the CD, but take those files from your harddrive Smile

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Menel

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 18:44    Post_subject:  

<3

Installed it smoothly (though took much longer) and rebooting no. *Crossing Fingers*
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Menel

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 18:57    Post_subject:  

I don't know what is wrong, everything went beautifully.

But it did the exact same thing as before when I was trying to boot to a FAT file system. When it tries to boot hte PC/104 board throws lots of paris of 9's like below:

Code:

L 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99


I think it may be time for me to contact the board manufacturer and see if there are any tricks with this CF thing. The HDD worked and booted great!

Sad

Thanks everyone!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 19:23    Post_subject:  

I have no idea how to help you here unfortunately Crying or Very sad

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 21:10    Post_subject:  

I can't tell exactly where you are at by reading.

If you did an option 2, did it seem to install GRUB to the MBR?

If you did an option 2, did you delete eveything except /boot and /lost+found?

If the above are answered affirmative, then...

is vmlinux and image.gz in /boot?

is usr_cram.fs in /

does /boot/grub exist? if so does it contain the stages and menu.lst

if answers are like true, please post menu.lst

if not true, please correct as need be, I have a crystal ball, but don't know how to use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 23:50    Post_subject:  

Bruce B wrote:
I can't tell exactly where you are at by reading.

If you did an option 2, did it seem to install GRUB to the MBR?

If you did an option 2, did you delete eveything except /boot and /lost+found?

If the above are answered affirmative, then...

is vmlinux and image.gz in /boot?

is usr_cram.fs in /

does /boot/grub exist? if so does it contain the stages and menu.lst

if answers are like true, please post menu.lst

if not true, please correct as need be, I have a crystal ball, but don't know how to use it.

Your instructions before worked beautifully, thank you very much. I booted the the harddrive perfectly after modifying its menu.list in my PC/104 system.

From it, I installed Puppy over to the CF drive with the help of MU by bypassing the cdrom requirement. It setup Grub successfully, the scripts all completed correctly as they did when installing to the harddrive. I repeated this twice and both times got the 99's. This problem I got before when trying to do boot to a fat partition. There has got to be something flaky with the PC/104 board.
Back to top
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0656s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]