Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 12:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
KDE 3.5.8 (feb 07, 2008)
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 6 [86 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 01:18    Post subject:  KDE 3.5.8 (feb 07, 2008)
Subject description: full Slackware version as .sfs
 

Screenshot: KDE-Desktop with language set to german, running in a fresh Puppy 302 alpha:




Full size (300 kb):
http://noforum.de/pics/KDE358.jpg


Screenshot: KDE-Applications running in Icewm from Muppy 008.2



Full size (300 kb):
http://noforum.de/pics/kde358.jpg


Note: This is big.
360 MB.

If you need just a small solution with Konqueror and the basic desktop, use instead:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22805

KDE 3.5.8 is the full KDE from Slackware.
Here is a mirror of files I used (I used a different one, don't remember the URL):
http://slackware.leakage.org/slackware/slackware-current/slackware/kde/

Things I added:
I added german and british locale-files:
http://slackware.leakage.org/slackware/slackware-current/slackware/kdei/

You easily could build a french version by using SFS-Combiner to add the french tar.gz.

I added some libs I use in Muppy, and several from Kirks KDE 3.5.7j (like artsd).
I did not use all of Kirks libs, as the apps I tested seemed to work fine. Please tell me if you get messages about missing libs.

I added imagemagick (for Karbon) and python 2.5 (superkaramba).
Python is installed to /usr/local/kdepython358 to avoid conflicts with other installations. It is used by setting PYTHONHOME if there is no other python2.5 found.

Also Koffice 1.6.3 is included.
And the "Vera" font, it looks nicer on my display than Puppys default (that is a matter of taste, if you don't like it, delete it in /usr/share/fonts/default/TTF/).

The KDE-programs appear in Puppys menu, and Puppy-programs appear in the KDE-menu.
So you can start konqeror in JWM from the menu, or by typing "konqueror".
This is not optimally solved yet, I found no quick solution for a 100% cleanly sorted menu. But it is usable.

How to use the KDE-Desktop:
If you want to use the full KDE-Desktop instead of JWM, exit X and type:
xwin startkde

I tested it in Muppy 008.3 and Puppy 302alpha.
Update:
New version with bugfixes and addons for Puppy 4.

Download:
ftp://ks301128.kimsufi.com/Muppy0083/DEUTSCH/Erweiterungen/KDE358_083.sfs
ftp://ks301128.kimsufi.com/Muppy0083/DEUTSCH/Erweiterungen/KDE358_083.sfs-md5.txt

updated URL:
ftp://ks301128.kimsufi.com/Minisys-Linux/Muppy0083/DEUTSCH/Erweiterungen/

How to use the SFS:
1.) Save it in "/" of the harddrive, where your pup_save.2fs is located.
2.) Rename it from _083 to the versionnumber of your Puppy (you can see that in /etc/puppyversion with a texteditor).
3.) Choose it in Puppys "System - Bootmanager".
4.) Reboot.


Mark
Links for me: first announcement, 358 vs 400:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=26034

Last edited by MU on Tue 09 Dec 2008, 15:40; edited 8 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 06:23    Post subject:  

MU,

Will it run with alpha 6?

Can it be run with an existing pup_save file or is it better to keep KDE separated with an own pup_save file?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 13:53    Post subject:  

I did not try Puppy 4, but it might work.
You can use your old pup_save.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 15:56    Post subject:  

Doesn't seem to run in alpha 6
1. had to drop _082 from the name for the bootmanagerr to recognize the file.
2. On reboot, the sfs isn't loaded.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 18:02    Post subject:  

Hmm, it didn't run in 3.01 either.
I then checked the md5 and there was a problem. Bad download probably.
I am re-downloading.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dingo


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1415
Location: somewhere at the end of rainbow...

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 19:59    Post subject:  

interesting... I want try this KDE megapack without touch my present pup_save file. how I can do this?

second question: How much RAM is required for KDE? I have 256 MB and I don't know if is enough

_________________
replace .co.cc with .info to get access to stuff I posted in forum
dropbox 2GB free
OpenOffice for Puppy Linux

Last edited by Dingo on Sat 09 Feb 2008, 19:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 20:18    Post subject:  

Well I had to do 4 trials for download.
Every time after 60-80% the download stopped.
Finally the 5th one was the good one.
(P.S. The Canadian site is way too slow, would take 5 hours to download)

So I tried 3.01.
KDE is running, but I don't see how to configure the WiFi interface, so no connection to the internet.
I could connect to the access point with WEP, give a static IP address, but not on the internet. I could however ping my other PC which is connected at the same access point.

Then I tried alpha 6
As soon as I gave xwin startkde, I get a msg:
Check your installation
kstartupconfig can't be found.
Back in jwm I did a pfind and kstart and kstartupconfig are there.
Executing in a rxvt I get the message that libidn.so.11 is missing.
Eventually this could be the first of a series.
Indeed so.
So a lot of libraries are missing in alpha 6.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 20:42    Post subject:  

a general note:
if you run
xwin startkde, then it replaces a symlink to a more modern version.
This could be a problem, when you remove the KDE.sfs later again.
To avoid problems, do this:
copy the file
/usr/lib/libart_lgpl_2.so.2.3.19
to /root/
Then copy the new
/root/libart_lgpl_2.so.2.3.19
back to /usr/lib/

This step ensures, that it remains in your pup_save even if you remove KDE later.
If will update startkde in the next release with a corresponding command.
Before I release an updated version, I need some more feedback, so that I could add more libs.

Beem, you could mount the pup_301.sfs and copy the required libs to /usr/lib/ from Dingo:
mkdir /root/mount
mount -o loop pup_301.sfs /root/mount

If you also copy them to a temporary folder and zip it, I could make a "Dingo-Upgrade"-dotpet.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 20:49    Post subject:  

Dingo wrote:
interesting... I want try this KDE megapack without touch my present pup_save file. how I can do this?

second question: How much RAM is required for KDE? I have 256 MB and I don't know if is enough


As described in the first message. (How to use the SFS ). Pretty simple Cool

256 MB should be enough, though I did not test yet, how fast it is.
However the first screenshot shows that just 176 MB are used after I ran some applications in the KDE-Desktop (look closely at the black widget).
But I don't know how reliable this value is.
On my P700 with 1 Gig of Ram it is very fast.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 20:57    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:

So I tried 3.01.
KDE is running, but I don't see how to configure the WiFi interface, so no connection to the internet.
I could connect to the access point with WEP, give a static IP address, but not on the internet. I could however ping my other PC which is connected at the same access point.


You can still use Puppys Network-Wizard.
It should be somewhere in the menu.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 21:03    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
Beem, you could mount the pup_301.sfs and copy the required libs to /usr/lib/ from Dingo:
mkdir /root/mount
mount -o loop pup_301.sfs /root/mount

If you also copy them to a temporary folder and zip it, I could make a "Dingo-Upgrade"-dotpet.
Mark,
That's what I have been doing, but at the 4th missing lib when issuing kstart, I stopped not knowing how many more would follow.
Also some come from /usr/lib and at least one from X11.
I did put them all in /usr/lib but not knowing if this is ok.

At 02:00 it's a little late to redo this, but I'll take this up again in this way, untill I have no more missing libraries.
I'll make the temp file also.

Bernard

P.S. The festivity is over now, but it is worth to come to the carnival of Binche. This one is the most prestigious in Belgium with the well known 'gilles de Binche' throwing oranges and stamping there feet to make the earth fertile.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 21:12    Post subject:  

xwin startkde is one way to find libs.
To make it easier, run some apps in JWM.
In a console, type "kicker"
Now you get the KDE-menu (if no libs miss).
You then can start apps from that menu, and see errors in the console it was run from.
When all these are solved, you can try to exit X, kinit then might work or maybe miss another one.
This way is easier than doing all by "xwin startkde", and is the way I added the libs that missed for Puppy 3.

Wish you a good night Smile
Carniaval is over here, too, next year I will go to Venezia. If not, I will think about belgium Smile

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 22:08    Post subject:  

Hey Mark! Smile

Well... I'm doing TWO tests here. LOL! I downloaded the KDE.sfs---and I also downloaded the "SFS-Merge" (or whatever you've named it) programme as I had several .sfs files I wished to merge altogether to make into one large file.

It worked fantastic! At least for ME anyway. On the "SFS-Merge" I feel it is very "Native American-friendly" as I saw it made an "Endian system" (LOL!) and then the "squash files". Why no "pumpkin files"? Wink But seriously, it worked fabulous and it merged the KDE, XFCE, devx, OpenOffice, and some others that I had into one 550meg file.

I next unloaded the KDE357.sfs I was using from Kirk and loaded my "WM-Plus.sfs" and everything has run like a charm, the KDE 3.5.8 desktop (I'm posting this from Konqueror now!), played with various KDE software, it even fixed a sound problem that had started up in Kirk's KDE which I couldn't fix.

Anyway Mark, no problems here. Myself, I still prefer to run in the IceWM desktop and run the KDE software that I need in there. And I have pre-installed from before the QtCurve library files so my GTK2/Qt apps all match very nicely as if one system. Smile

I really appreciate all of your hard work Mark! Both with this "K"omplete KDE desktop and the SFS-Merger programme which works flawlessly! I hope that gets placed into Puppy by default. It really should be added!

Keep it up Mark! You amaze me my friend!

mfg,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 22:22    Post subject:  

tres bien, merci beaucoup pour le report positive! Smile
qt-curve, you installed that with slapt-get?
Might be worth to try to include it in KDE.sfs.

I also prefer to use Icewm and Muppys programs, though I really like konqueror.
I mainly made this sfs for people who just do not switch to Puppy, because they are used to and miss KDE.

The other application I really like is KPDF.
Konqueror and Kpdf will be apps I sometimes use in Icewm.

And yes, the sfs-combiner now makes it easy to use many of them Razz
Just don't forget to keep the original sfs files just for the case of updates, so that you can re-build your personal .sfs with more current versions Cool

viele Grüße aus Deutschland, Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 23:03    Post subject:  

Hi Mark,

Don't you ever go to bed? Wink LOL! As to the installation of QtCurve and GTK2-QtCurve: No, I didn't install that via GSlapt. I had a a more up-to-date version I believe from either Debian or PCLOS---I can't remember now which---so what I did was to take and do a manual install. Not difficult at all. I've done it before with other versions from a .tar.gz file and Krusader simply by opening the corresponding directories in the lefthand pane and copying to the righthand pane. There aren't that many files so when you do it enough times even I can "sort of recall" where the files go. Wink

So with Puppy I used Krusader and copied from the Debian install into the Puppy as I have Krusader in my Puppy as well.

Of course, as you said, it could be done from GSlapt and possibly now they have the same version number but at the time they didn't. I agree with you that you may wish to add it in an update to your KDE, however, if you do then you should likewise find a way to install the GTK2-QtCurve engine so that the person's Puppy will match with their Qt apps, see?

Likewise, I had to alter the JWM themer and add the QT theme engine to that (/usr/sbin/gtk-theme) because that is set to the Stardust theme engine so that no matter how much I tried setting the gtk2.0rc in /root to qtcurve theme engine I still had some "left-over effects" from the Stardust theme, mostly in buttons and radio buttons. Once I edited gtk-theme and added the qtcurve files into /etc/gtk2, then selected "QtCurve" in that file did everything finally change over to match between GTK2 and QT apps.

I hope you were able to understand that Mark? I don't always do the best at explaining. -sigh- Sad

Oh yes!---I make backups of EVERYTHING I download! I have CDs here from backups nearly 15 to 20 years ago. Maybe over the past 2 years you've lost things? I have them. LOL! Wink

mfg!/amicalement mon aminche!

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 6 [86 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1015s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0056s) ][ GZIP on ]