Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 17:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
SOLVED! 1.0.5 flash Chubby only works with standard image.gz
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
gnomen


Joined: 11 Jul 2005
Posts: 65
Location: NORWAY

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2005, 19:38    Post subject:  SOLVED! 1.0.5 flash Chubby only works with standard image.gz  

My flash-puppy 1.05 works. But then I upgraded my flash-puppy 1.05 to chubby puppy 1.05 by ways of the procedure on the news page. It boots. But during the process a bunch of drivers fail. I can't really say which because it scrawls by too fast, it was usb- and scsi-something for sure. It then stops for 60 sec. And continues the boot process. Applications and ethernet work, but I can't mount a thing; MUT is dead and the Puppy Drive Mounter fails to mount the USB cdrom and says the msdos (ide) is too busy

But I noticed that the image.gz of the chubby is slightly larger than the standard image.gz. So I changed back to the image.gz of the standard. Everything boots alright. It gives me one about the usr-cram.fs being old, but that's it. Apart from that everything seems to work with with chubby and the standard image.gz. No drivers failing. No 60 sec stop. Applications work and I can mount whatever

_________________
fake it until you make it

Last edited by gnomen on Sun 02 Oct 2005, 09:24; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2005, 05:01    Post subject:  

Yes, image.gz is bigger, and you need to specify a bigger ramdisk size in
the syslinux.cfg file.
Try inserting this, just before the PFILE parameter:

ramdisk_size=13312
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gnomen


Joined: 11 Jul 2005
Posts: 65
Location: NORWAY

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2005, 09:27    Post subject:  

That did the trick Very Happy Thank you very much!

I swapped back to the chubby image.gz and added the ramdisk paramenter as specified

_________________
fake it until you make it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0401s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]