Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 03 Sep 2014, 03:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
What is minimum size of hard drive for Puppy install?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
shagpile
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2005, 08:49    Post subject:  What is minimum size of hard drive for Puppy install?  

What is the minimum size hard drive to install puppy to. This is without the CD at all.

I presume the minimum size is 64mb but I want to double check before I buy some nice quick hardware.
Back to top
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2005, 09:33    Post subject:  

That depends. Type 1 install or type 2 install? Do you have so much RAM that you don't need a swap file? Do you want to save data on the hard drive or on an external USB or network drive?

A type 2 install with swap fits comfortable on 1Gb (saving data on hard drive), and is tight on 512Mb (saving data externally). Type 1 can fit on much less, probably around 256Mb (pup001 on hard drive) would work fine.

You might be able to install to 64Mb, if you saved data externally and didn't use a swap.

Your milage may vary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shagpile
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2005, 10:32    Post subject:  

ok, lets get specific.

How can I install onto a 128mb drive? Simply the easiest way?
Back to top
shagpile
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2005, 10:35    Post subject:  

As for usage I plan on using it PURELY as a headless skype server
Back to top
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2005, 11:10    Post subject:  

Forgot to ask as well, is there nowhere I can just download a skinny puppy?
Back to top
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2005, 13:37    Post subject: USB install  

That's similar to a USB install, but using DOS and the hard disk.

Here's a link to linld.com install. There is yet another way, but could not find it (forgot the name of the alternative file).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shagpile
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2005, 13:54    Post subject:  

Similar but now what I want. I want puppy on a seperate machine entirely. Although the tutorial looked good I wont have xp on the machine. I just want to conrol it via an xp machine.

The main problem is finding a way to boot puppy from a 128mb IDE drive.
Back to top
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2005, 21:26    Post subject:  

I am booting Puppy 1.0.5 from a 64MB IDE-CF drive (no hard drive, no floppy drive, and no CD drive). I use a USB drive to save user specific data (pup100). To set this up I formated the drive as a bootable Linux partition and installed the grub boot manager. I had to create an unleashed verion with the usr cram file inside the image file because I couldn't get Puppy to find the usr cram file on the boot drive otherwise (although I bet there's a way -- I'm a newbie). Once I had the image created, I copied it to the drive and set the grub menu.lst file to load it (initrd).

Previously I had also gotten the Barebones (1.0.4 I think) Puppy to boot using a similar setup but without having to build my own Unleashed version. The Barebones I downloaded already had the usr cram inside the image file. I didn't like this version because it used the Opera browser which has ads. If the browser version is not important to you, you could probably just download the Barebones version from the download site.
Back to top
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2005, 21:58    Post subject:  

Someone told me that on Opera 8.5 for WIndows they've decided to get rid of the ads. I haven't found out if this is true or not. And I don't know if they have the Linux version of 8.5 yet.

I just went to Opera's web site and confirmed it...The Opera web browser no longer has ads. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2005, 22:01    Post subject:  

Opera 8.50 for puppy:

http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=2371

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2005, 22:16    Post subject:  

And it's true, no adds anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0657s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]