Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 00:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
"ttuuxxx on ice" new icewm lite for series 3&4
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [30 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 19 Mar 2008, 11:29    Post subject:  "ttuuxxx on ice" new icewm lite for series 3&4  

Ok I've been working on this for a week now and basically it works excellent:)

puppy 2.17 3.0 3.01 3
just download series3v1.pet and install
then exit to prompt (Menu/shutdown/Exit to Prompt) and type
startx icewm

and then it will start

puppy 3.02 just download series3.2v1.pet and install
then exit to prompt (Menu/shutdown/Exit to Prompt) and type
startx icewm

and then it will start


series 4
install series4v1.pet fist and then install zlibs4.pet after you install series4v1.pet
then exit to prompt (Menu/shutdown/Exit to Prompt) and type
startx icewm

Series 4 updated, all Icons fixed including rvxt
Also Series 4 when I get more time I'll revist the package and remove blinky and freememory applet and try to reuse your default jwm one and save installing all those libs, This version works. But I could make it smaller that way.

The default theme is one I made and took like 30hrs, It even has paws for closing pages and bones for min & Restore

Hope you like it

also this works on 2.17 I was told

But does not work on 2.14R


Have fun and enjoy Smile
ttuuxxx
series4v1.pet
Description  Install this first and then zlibs4v2.pet to fix the menu and add libs
added Volume app to taskbar
pet

 Download 
Filename  series4v1.pet 
Filesize  767.17 KB 
Downloaded  916 Time(s) 
series3.2v2.pet
Description  3.2 only !!!!!!!
pet

 Download 
Filename  series3.2v2.pet 
Filesize  765.71 KB 
Downloaded  570 Time(s) 
zlibs4v2.pet
Description  Series 4 Only!!!!!!!!! Fixes menu and installs missing libs
pet

 Download 
Filename  zlibs4v2.pet 
Filesize  799.25 KB 
Downloaded  1050 Time(s) 
image.png
 Description   
 Filesize   62.99 KB
 Viewed   2407 Time(s)

image.png

series3v1.pet
Description  Series 2.17, 3.0, 3.01
pet

 Download 
Filename  series3v1.pet 
Filesize  767.1 KB 
Downloaded  720 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Last edited by ttuuxxx on Fri 16 May 2008, 03:13; edited 9 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed 19 Mar 2008, 19:45    Post subject:  

@Ttuuxxx: Wonderful creation. This Icewm package is just amazing. So small yet has icewm and 2 themes. I really applaud you.

I tried this on the following:

2.14R - As you said does not work well. Menu does not show up and also messes up the jwm menu. As you said, this must be due to the way 2.14R menu is designed.

My pup 2.16 (based on 2.16)
- Works flawlessly

2.17.1 - Works flawlessly

3.02 - Works flawlessly. Just 3 icons from quick launch missing (rxvt, rxvt black and rox)

3.97 - Same as above.

The only 3 icons missing are from the quick launch menu (rxvt, rxvt black and rox). This is not a biggie. But if you get time and can fix this, it would make your package perfect.

Thanks again for coming up with this extremely light version of icewm. I am sure there will be many users of this.

Last edited by prit1 on Thu 20 Mar 2008, 11:52; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charnisingh

Joined: 06 Oct 2007
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Wed 19 Mar 2008, 20:34    Post subject: icewm light-version-5,6 and 7
Subject description: icewm on dingo 4 a7
 

Hi ttuuxxx,

i tried your icewm light and it works ok in dingo , other than start menu icons (only 4 shows) every thing else is fine without adding zlib 4. thanks., i have not tested the latest because i did not find any difference so let the version 7 run on dingo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 20 Mar 2008, 02:47    Post subject: Re: icewm light-version-5,6 and 7
Subject description: icewm on dingo 4 a7
 

charnisingh wrote:
Hi ttuuxxx,

i tried your icewm light and it works ok in dingo , other than start menu icons (only 4 shows) every thing else is fine without adding zlib 4. thanks., i have not tested the latest because i did not find any difference so let the version 7 run on dingo.


dingo is series 4 and needs both packages series3v1.pet+zlibs4v2.pet t
then you get all icons in menu,blinky,memory applet in you taskbar
everything works then Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
KJ

Joined: 20 Jul 2006
Posts: 176
Location: Above sea level .. about 320m

PostPosted: Thu 20 Mar 2008, 11:07    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx .. you are one busy person. Thanks for all your hard work. I was going to report on my success (and lack thereof) with icewm6&7 and here is a whole new lite series and a new forum page too. Guess I'm not peddling fast enough or I've got to ditch these training wheels at least. I'll upgrade to the new lite series in the next few days.

I've had good success in icewm with the built in network monitor by setting the preferences to:

# Network device to show status for
NetworkStatusDevice="wlan0"

or whatever the device shows up as during the internet connection setup process.

How do I stop blinky from starting up in Icewm if I don't want both network monitors running?

Thanks,

KJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 20 Mar 2008, 20:06    Post subject:  

KJ wrote:
ttuuxxx .. you are one busy person. Thanks for all your hard work. I was going to report on my success (and lack thereof) with icewm6&7 and here is a whole new lite series and a new forum page too. Guess I'm not peddling fast enough or I've got to ditch these training wheels at least. I'll upgrade to the new lite series in the next few days.

I've had good success in icewm with the built in network monitor by setting the preferences to:

# Network device to show status for
NetworkStatusDevice="wlan0"

or whatever the device shows up as during the internet connection setup process.

How do I stop blinky from starting up in Icewm if I don't want both network monitors running?

Thanks,

KJ

go to root/icewm/startup and delete the blinky line
that will stop it from starting
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
KJ

Joined: 20 Jul 2006
Posts: 176
Location: Above sea level .. about 320m

PostPosted: Thu 20 Mar 2008, 22:32    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx .... Thanks for the blinky startup info. I have lite icewm running on a 302revbarebones on my laptop and it works great.

Nice job on the theme ... an interesting effect while running a double height taskbar.

Thanks for all your work putting this lite icewm .pet together. IceWM has long been my favorite and it's really handy to have it available in a .pet format.

KJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 21 Mar 2008, 01:15    Post subject:  

Fixed the 3 missing Quick Launch icon's
Also Your Welcome Guys its my Pleasure Smile

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Fri 21 Mar 2008, 02:02    Post subject:  

@Ttuuxxx: Thanks a lot for coming up with this perfect version and fixing all the issues. I am sure all hard work is greatly appreciated by the Puppy community.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charnisingh

Joined: 06 Oct 2007
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Fri 21 Mar 2008, 07:06    Post subject: ttuuxxx new icewm light
Subject description: icewm 3.01+zpatch.
 

hi ttuuxxx,

thanks for your zpatch for correction of start menu fault, your icewm
3,o1 + zpatch worked very nice for Dingo 4 a7 and all the start menus plus quick launvh menus are visible now without using zlib. only missing icon is volume icon on taskbar. attached herewith is background wall paper to go with your nice theme.

thanks for the same.
007.JPG
 Description   nice background here to go with your icewm theme.
 Filesize   30.62 KB
 Viewed   2242 Time(s)

007.JPG

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 21 Mar 2008, 07:41    Post subject: Re: ttuuxxx new icewm light
Subject description: icewm 3.01+zpatch.
 

charnisingh wrote:
hi ttuuxxx,

thanks for your zpatch for correction of start menu fault, your icewm
3,o1 + zpatch worked very nice for Dingo 4 a7 and all the start menus plus quick launvh menus are visible now without using zlib. only missing icon is volume icon on taskbar. attached herewith is background wall paper to go with your nice theme.

thanks for the same.


Its been updated since then
install http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=8625 first and then install
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=8603
that should make everything perfect Smile
I've tried it and it works
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 May 2008, 14:50    Post subject:  

I just upgraded to 4.00, and was looking for an IceWM package that would work correctly. The old packages I had didn't work right anymore. This one worked perfectly, thanks!!!
screenshot1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   30.33 KB
 Viewed   3643 Time(s)

screenshot1.jpg


_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 May 2008, 13:56    Post subject:  

I've been playing with it for a while, and I've noticed that this version lack a "show desktop" quick button. I've gotten kind of used to having one of those and was wondering if you (or anyone else who happens to read this) knew how I could add one.
_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 08 May 2008, 15:51    Post subject:  

maybe just a settings-issue, please try in /root/.icewm/preferences:
Code:

#  Show 'show desktop' button on taskbar
TaskBarShowShowDesktopButton=1 # 0/1


Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 May 2008, 16:34    Post subject:  

Yes, that was exactly the problem. Thanks Mark.
_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [30 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0850s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]