Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 18:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4 Beta Bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 13 [186 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
Greatnessguru


Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 104
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 13:00    Post subject: Update: Gateway 2000, and an HP  

I booted the Puppy 3.98 CD on an HP Vectra VE, 64 MB RAM, some Linux swap,
with "puppy pfix=ram" just fine. (Love the new arctic coastline wallpaper...)

The console screen log entry about "Searching for Puppy files...", or whatever,
appears on both the Gateway 2000 and HP CD boots with "puppy pfix=ram".
At this point, however, the Gateway 2000 gets a
Kernel panic (something not syncing) every time, the HP does not.

On the Gateway, with Puppy 3.96, k2.6.23.12,
the CD boots work perfectly.
With Puppy 3.97, k2.6.21.7, the same Kernel panics occur as with 3.98.

So, is this a case where ancient hardware (1997 vintage, Pentium MMX, 200 MHz!)
boots with a newer kernel, but not with an older kernel?

Thanks,
Eddie Maddox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Greatnessguru


Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 104
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 14:43    Post subject: "menu.lst" not written.  

I'm trying to install GRUB to the MBR and /dev/hda1
of my HP Vectra VE using
Puppy 3.98 CD (puppy pfix=ram), "System" > "Grub bootloader config".

I pick "expert".
I select 1024x768x16 (whatever)
I select "MBR"
That part seems fine, I guess.

Then I enter "/dev/hda1"
Presto! It writes all the "grub" directory and files
to "/dev/hda1", except "menu.lst"!

Tried a few times, a few different things,
but I just cannot get
"Grub bootloader config" to write "menu.lst",
whether the file already exists or not,
even though it writes all the others, apparently.

Thanks for any help, or fixes,
Eddie Maddox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
integr8e

Joined: 05 Apr 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 16:05    Post subject: Cannot nount XFS partitions  

I'm currently using the 3.98 beta, and am trying to mount one of my XFS partitions. Whenever I try to use the Mount/Unmount utility, I receive this error:
Quote:
Mounting /mnt/sda5
mount: unknown filesystem type 'xfs'
Mount failed


I receive the same when I try to manually mount the drive:
Quote:
# mount -t xfs /dev/sda5 /mnt/home
mount: unknown filesystem type 'xfs'


The partition is detected, it just can't be mounted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 17:24    Post subject: drive/partition designations  

I installed both Dingo beta and barebones as manual frugal installs. I had a strange issue with drive/partition designations. My hard drive was mounted as sda1, sda2, and sda3. These designation are usually given to my flash devices plugged into my multibay card reader. sdc was still given to my mp3 player, but my multibay card reader was reassigned the designation of sro1, through sro4(If I had that many cards plugged into the reader).
Also I found that the pdev1 and psubdir parameters did not work unless there was a an actual pup_save file in the directory specified. When I want to load straight away into ram (no pup_save) I use pdev1 and psubdir without putting a pup_save in the specified directory. This prevents (at least with all other 3.x and up series pups and puplets) the loading of my pup_save which resides elsewhere. Barebones however, refuses to boot like this. My only option to test was to boot from CD then creat a 32mb dummy pup_save and place it next to my real pup_save, eject the CD, delete the pdev1 and psubdir parameters then reboot. This course of action brought up the expected menu choice asking me to choose the correct pup_save file or 0 for no pup_save file. It really should be considered to have puppy always offer to boot without a pup_save from frugal. If there is only one pup_save it should not be assumed Puppy found the correct one as many people often do not want to use one at all, especially if it means upgrading to a version they only want to test out for a while.
Lastly I still cannot get an eth port for any of my wireless card in any of the Dingo versions. I can get the driver to load, but no port gets created. Very strange.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 17:30    Post subject:
Subject description: DotPUP didn't work
 

I have have tried to install a .pup package (MU's Puppy-Software-Installer). It first told me that .pup was superceded and that I needed to install a couple of others (dotpuphandler and puppybasic) before it would work. That was fine, but executing the .pup brought up a window with the package name and then did nothing else.

Am I trying something stupid because .pup packages no longer work at all? Or is PSI broken/redundant in Dingo?

Or is this a bug?

_________________
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Greatnessguru


Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 104
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 18:01    Post subject: Re: Cannot nount XFS partitions  

> integr8e
> Posted: Today, at 4:05 pm
> Post subject: Cannot nount XFS partitions
> ... I receive the same when I try to manually mount the drive:
> # mount -t xfs /dev/sda5 /mnt/home
> mount: unknown filesystem type 'xfs'

I have the same problem, but with "-t davfs",
which I reported in the "Dingo alpha7 feedback/bugs" thread:
> Posted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:27 pm
> Post subject: mount: unknown filesystem type 'davfs'
> Using Puppy 3.96:
# cd /
# cd mnt
# mkdir dav0
# mount -t davfs "http://..." dav0
mount: unknown filesystem type 'davfs'

No improvement in Puppy 3.98.

Thanks,
Eddie Maddox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
boscobearbank


Joined: 06 Apr 2006
Posts: 63
Location: MN

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 18:25    Post subject: Xorg: no 1680x1050  

Best I can do is 1280x1024:

http://soleil.nfldinet.com/~rockdoctor/saguaroAtOrganPipe.png

The same xorg.conf file (listed below) gives me 1680x1050 on Fedora
Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "XkbModel" "pc105"
   Option      "XkbLayout" "us" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   #DisplaySize     470   300   # mm
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "NTS"
   ModelName    "MBW-SERIAL"
   HorizSync    30-86
   VertRefresh  56-74
   #UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
   EndSection
   
Section "Modes"
   Identifier "Modes0"
   #modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Device"
   ### Available Driver options are:-
   ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
   ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
   ### [arg]: arg optional
   #Option     "NoAccel"               # [<bool>]
   Option     "NoAccel"               "True"
   #Option     "SWcursor"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ColorKey"              # <i>
   #Option     "CacheLines"            # <i>
   #Option     "Dac6Bit"               # [<bool>]
   #Option     "DRI"                   # [<bool>]
   #Option     "NoDDC"                 # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ShowCache"             # [<bool>]
   #Option     "XvMCSurfaces"          # <i>
   #Option     "PageFlip"              # [<bool>]
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "intel" #card0driver
   VendorName  "Intel Corporation"
   BoardName   "82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device"
   BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1680x1050"
    EndSubsection
EndSection

_________________
Bosco Bearbank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Greatnessguru


Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 104
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2008, 20:29    Post subject: Shutdown hoards my CD!  

"Shutdown" > whatever, the one to power down the computer...

When the screen said: "Power down.",
I pressed the CD drive Eject button to eject my Puppy 3.98 CD.
The drive would not eject my CD!
The machine (HP Vectra VE) was still powered on,
the screen said, "Power down.",
but pressing the CD drive Eject button
did not make the CD eject.

How could that be?
Oh, must be a Bug in there somewhere
keeping it from ejecting.

Oh, that reminds me, with Puppy 3.96 doing an install...
I was booted from HD,
but used the CD for the source of files for a second install.
After the files were copied,
and the install application finished using the CD drive,
I could not eject my CD then, either!
The CD drive Eject button would not work!

What's happening with all this CD hoarding
after the CD is no longer being used
by the application or system?

Thank you,
Eddie Maddox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2008, 03:22    Post subject:  

Hi Barry, I am getting this error when trying to boot from a CD (also happened on Alphas) with my Intel's D201GLY2 MB. See screen shot. I think it only worked with the newer kernel.
Also any chance of the video drivers added to puppy please
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=187900#187900
Cheers
Tony[/img]
pup.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   37.67 KB
 Viewed   1024 Time(s)

pup.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2008, 05:24    Post subject: Lost bottom toolbar and JWM menus
Subject description: Where did they go ?
 

I have had a full h/d install, grub menu and a wireless connection.

All going well with my usual install of firefox, gqview, gimp and other goodies,
desk setup the way I like it , with a reboot of each install of new prog.

All going well until I loaded a prog to view what's on my USB ports,
as this is not in the basic DINGO V4.00 I got from the repos and completed the
install only to find after a reboot that my bottom toolbar had gone also the MENU
opening. I can still get to the progs I loaded with the mouse control but I notice
that the style and size of fonts are changed .

How do I get the toolbar and menu back?

Tui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marichely

Joined: 06 Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2008, 08:33    Post subject: Puppy400beta1 & Puppy 301
Subject description: Please change croat XKEYMAP to "hr" in xorgwizard (Croatia)
 

Current setting in XORGWIZARD refers to "cz" (Czech Republic)

I thought 3.01 was the best Puppy, but it looks like Dingo is trying harder...
That was the reason I registered to the forum right the way.

Kind regards from Croatia
marichely

PS.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.hr
Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 668
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2008, 13:59    Post subject:
Subject description: Testing of Beta Results, mostly good.
 

I tried three different installations of Dingo Beta. I did two simple upgrades of a frugal installations. A simple upgrade is just deleting the old version of vmlinuz, initrd.gz, pup_###.sfs and zdrive_###.sfs and then copying the new versions of the files.

The first frugal installation was on my desk machine with Intel Celeron 2.5GHz with 1024 Megabytes of memory and a 40 gigabyte hard drive. The partition is ext2 filesystem, so Puppy used the entire partition and no save file. It worked fine.

The second frugal installation was on a Intel Classmate (500 Mhz and 512 Megabyte memory). The puppy installation is on FAT32 partition and uses a save file. Once again, the update when well. The only problem is the Classmate small screen. Dingo Beta restored all the screen icons. The small screen gets a bit crowded. One has to remove the un-used icons (Play, Draw, Spreadsheet, etc.) to get some room. I also had to set the JWM tray/bar to autohide. Once again for more screen. I had changed my screen background to the one of the first PupEee (an Eagle in flight). The new installation did not change the background.

The third installation was a full installation on an available empty ext2 partition on the desktop hard drive. The first attempt the "Universal Installer" just stopped and exit after selecting the drive and partition to be used. I tried a second attempt and got the same results. So on the third attempt, I had Pprocess up to watch what was going on. On the third attempt, the Universal Installer worked perfectly fine. A version of Murphy's Law (when one can track down the cause of a problem, everything will work correctly) was invoked by the system. I had selected "update" Grub option. It work, but the actual Grub loader was on another partition so no changes were made. The /temp directory did have the "NewGrubText" file so it was easy to cut and paste the correct information into the menu.lst file of Grub. I have found always to check for Grub changes when modifying Grub after a new installation.

Bottom line, Dingo Beta updated correctly and my normal Grub changes procedures worked. Dingo Beta looks like we are going in the correct direction for success.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2008, 15:03    Post subject:  

Any plans for a "retro" release of dingo? These newer kernels just do not like this laptop. Sad
_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1400
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2008, 15:26    Post subject:  

floborg wrote:
Quote:
* There is what looks like a battery monitor in the JWM tray. It isn't displaying anything. I am not using a laptop. Check it out (attachment).


Does lsmod show the apm module loaded? Also dougal's update to asapm didn't make it in to beta1.


prit1 wrote:
Quote:
6 - When I shutdown, it does not give me an option to save. It directly gives me a message that "session not saved". I ran using frugal and not from a cd.


I noticed this yesterday on alpha7. Does not happen if the psubdir option is used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
floborg


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 194
Location: Fort Worth, TX

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2008, 16:37    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
floborg wrote:
Quote:
* There is what looks like a battery monitor in the JWM tray. It isn't displaying anything. I am not using a laptop. Check it out (attachment).


Does lsmod show the apm module loaded? Also dougal's update to asapm didn't make it in to beta1.


Output of lsmod:

Code:

# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
parport_pc             31716  1
lp                     12616  0
parport                35528  2 parport_pc,lp
snd_mixer_oss          16896  0
snd_es18xx             33332  0
snd_pcm                75656  1 snd_es18xx
snd_page_alloc         10120  1 snd_pcm
snd_opl3_lib           10624  1 snd_es18xx
snd_timer              22020  2 snd_pcm,snd_opl3_lib
snd_hwdep               9220  1 snd_opl3_lib
snd_mpu401_uart         8320  1 snd_es18xx
snd_rawmidi            23584  1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device          8460  2 snd_opl3_lib,snd_rawmidi
snd                    52068  9 snd_mixer_oss,snd_es18xx,snd_pcm,snd_opl3_lib,sn                              d_timer,snd_hwdep,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
soundcore               7520  1 snd
usblp                  14080  0
apm                    20304  0
i2c_piix4               8716  0
i2c_core               22032  1 i2c_piix4
tulip                  51360  0
intel_agp              24860  1
agpgart                34128  1 intel_agp
fuse                   44052  0
unionfs                83732  1
nls_iso8859_1           4224  1
nls_cp437               5888  1
usbhid                 24928  0
usb_storage            83264  0
uhci_hcd               24076  0
usbcore               127128  5 usblp,usbhid,usb_storage,uhci_hcd
sr_mod                 17188  0
ide_cd                 39200  0
cdrom                  36768  2 sr_mod,ide_cd
squashfs               46856  1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 13 [186 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 11, 12, 13 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1197s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0073s) ][ GZIP on ]