Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 02:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
LAMP squash file
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 12 Apr 2008, 21:53    Post_subject:  LAMP squash file
Sub_title: LAMP squash file
 

I've made up a PLAMP - Puppy Linux/Apache/Mysql/PHP squash file that you simply drop in to your /mnt/home directory - run the boot configuration to load LAMP-301.sfs on boot then you are away - apache starts on boot the first time out.

htdocs are under /var/www/htdocs and symlinked from /srv/www/htdocs

copy you website under that directory and you are away.

- you need to run mysql_install_db from a terminal window which is the post install script for mysql to initiate the mysql system and test databases.
Reboot or run /etc/init.d/rc.mysqld start and you are away with mysql. You may also wish to review /etc/my.cnf that contains the standard configuration parameters - if you want to run innodb you will need to uncomment the innodb config parameters.

mysql runs as root - and you should change the mysql root password - by default it is blank - see the mysql docs - I removed them from this sfs but the commented online docs are better in any event.

I am not expert on security and I only use this for development.

Thanks raffy the file is at

ftp://ftp.servage.net/sfs_modules/lamp-301.sfs

username: puppy
password: linux

the file is 25Meg - so not such a puppy but there are other files as big here? I took out everything I could including translations - sorry non-english speakers - I don't think there is any compromise on functionality. The no post mode error crops up if I post the file as a .zip also - so ftp it is!

I have updated this squash file to work with Dingo (puppy 400) - needed some additional libraries and also included phpMyAdmin 2.11.6 - this one runs the mysql_install_db script if the initial databases do not exist on first boot. So mysql will come straight up when you boot after setting this .sfs in your boot up configuration.

The file is 27 Meg at:

ftp://ftp.servage.net/sfs_modules/lamp-400.sfs

username: puppy
password: puppylinux

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10821
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 13 Apr 2008, 02:03    Post_subject:  

Hi that sounds great only one thing ummmmmm Wheres the link?? to the sfs
thanks for your time
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1297

PostPosted: Sun 13 Apr 2008, 09:32    Post_subject: website development and security  

Hi growler,

This sounds good for development, but I'm sure there will be people who ignore that restriction. Running Apache as root out on the web sounds like an invitation to exploitation.

We already have user spot to use for didiwiki. Could someone adapt this to run as a restricted user like spot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 13 Apr 2008, 16:54    Post_subject:  

Apache runs as user nobody - but as the root group.

I think this is still a risk for use as a live web-server - inside a firewall as an intranet no problem.

It would be good for someone more knowledgable to give this a once over for security purposes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 13 Apr 2008, 17:10    Post_subject: Re: LAMP squash file
Sub_title: LAMP squash file
 

growler wrote:
I would upload the file only I keep getting no post method specified error!
Could be that the file is too big to upload here.
Also all types (extensions) aren't allowed to upload and sfs might be one of those. In fact I just checked and sfs isn't permitted to upload here.
You should make a zip or tar or bz2 f.e.
And then there is still the question of size.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 13 Apr 2008, 17:22    Post_subject: download  

The new download URL is
http://minipc.org/lamp/growler-amp_412.sfs

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 22 Sep 2008, 06:15    Post_subject: Web-server PHP MySQL for 4.2  

In preparation for 4.2 I thought I would configure a squash file to work with hiawatha web-server that Barry intends to bundle with puppy 4.2 by default - having read a little bit about it, it seems that it is quite a solid and fast performer and a fraction of the size of apache, with all the features I need and its emphasis on security! It makes sense to use Hiawatha for my purposes - seems like a another good find of Barry's!

However, I want to use hiawatha with a modified

/etc/hiawatha/httpd.conf

and

/etc/hiawatha/php-fcgi.conf

building the new files into the squash file doesn't work since the files in pup_4xx.sfs are layered over the top of my squash file ones.

Has anyone any idea on how I can get the new files over the top of the old config files in pup_4xx.sfs?

Maybe we are looking at a PET here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pacchiee


Joined: 30 Sep 2008
Posts: 28
Location: Bengaluru, KA, IN

PostPosted: Fri 03 Oct 2008, 04:00    Post_subject:  

Since am a new to puppy, can anyone tell me the steps to get lamp-400.sfs installed? Am using Puppy DINGO.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 03 Oct 2008, 05:18    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Using .sfs files
 

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pacchiee


Joined: 30 Sep 2008
Posts: 28
Location: Bengaluru, KA, IN

PostPosted: Sun 05 Oct 2008, 08:52    Post_subject:  

growler, I downloaded lamp-400.sfs to my-documents and clicked on it. It was mounted on /mnt/+root+my-documents+lamp-400.sfs. What should I do next?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 05 Oct 2008, 14:32    Post_subject:  

Are you using a full install or a frugal install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ricstef

Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 52
Location: Woodstock, ON. Canada

PostPosted: Sun 05 Oct 2008, 23:14    Post_subject: Hiawatha and PHP
Sub_title: Conf files
 

@growler
Quote:
[snip]In preparation for 4.2 I thought I would configure a squash file to work with hiawatha web-server[/snip]

Has anyone any idea on how I can get the new files over the top of the old config files in pup_4xx.sfs?


Why not prepare your .sfs as before, minus the conf files. Plus a .pet which contains only the .conf files. One could then download your .sfs, and activate it as before. But then install the .pet before first-time use.
A reboot would be necessary to embrace the .sfs and .conf files, of course.

I find this project particularly interesting because I too wanted to utilize Hiawatha in P406. In my case I wanted to use PHP with it. Even though I installed the PHP5 .pet and made changes in the .conf files, It won't execute PHP files, html pages are fine of course.

I'm wondering if you would attach your .conf files so I can see what I missed ?

Cheers.
Richard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 06 Oct 2008, 01:29    Post_subject:  

/etc/hiawatha/httpd.conf

Code:
#ServerId = www-data
ServerId = nobody
ConnectionsTotal = 150
ConnectionsPerIP = 10
SystemLogfile = /var/log/hiawatha/system.log
GarbageLogfile = /var/log/hiawatha/garbage.log

Binding {
   Port = 80
}

MimetypeConfig = /etc/mime.types
CGIhandler = /usr/bin/perl:pl
CGIextension = pl

FastCGIserver {
   FastCGIid = PHP5
   ConnectTo = 127.0.0.1:2005
   Extension = php
   SessionTimeout = 30
}

Hostname = 127.0.0.1
WebsiteRoot = /root/httpd
StartFile = index.html, index.php
AccessLogfile = /var/log/hiawatha/access.log
ErrorLogfile = /var/log/hiawatha/error.log


VirtualHost {
   Hostname = localhost
   WebsiteRoot = /root/httpd
   StartFile = index.php
   AccessLogfile = /var/log/hiawatha/access.log
   ErrorLogfile = /var/log/hiawatha/error.log
   ExecuteCGI = yes
   FastCGI = PHP5
}


/etc/hiawatha/php-fcgi.conf
Code:

# PHP FastCGI configuration

# PidFile = <path to PID-file>
#
PidFile = /var/run/php-fcgi.pid

# Forks = <number of forks per server>
#
#Forks = 3

# Setenv <key> = <value>
#

# Server = <php-cgi executable>;<binding>;<UID>[:<GIDs>][;<PHP configuration file>]
#
Server = /usr/bin/php-cgi ; 127.0.0.1:2005 ; nobody ; /etc/php.ini


/etc/init.d/rc.httpd - to start the fast cgi daemons and hiawatha on boot

Code:

#!/bin/sh
#
# /etc/rc.d/rc.httpd
#
# Start/stop/restart/graceful[ly restart]/graceful[ly]-stop
# the Hiawatha (httpd) web server.
#
# To make Hiawatha start automatically at boot, make this
# file executable:  chmod 755 /etc/rc.d/rc.httpd
#
# For information on these options, "man apachectl".


case "$1" in
  'start')
    /usr/sbin/php-fcgi -c /etc/hiawatha/php-fcgi.conf
    /usr/sbin/hiawatha -c /etc/hiawatha
  ;;
  'stop')
    /usr/sbin/php-fcgi -k
    killall hiawatha
    rm -f /var/run/hiawatha.pid
  ;;
  *)
    echo "Usage: $0 {start|stop}"
  ;;
esac




I thought I would just make it a PET - its uninstallable then on a full hard-drive install

HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pacchiee


Joined: 30 Sep 2008
Posts: 28
Location: Bengaluru, KA, IN

PostPosted: Mon 06 Oct 2008, 03:13    Post_subject:  

growler, its a full installation on hdd.

Meanwhile, if I just access http://localhost, it shows phpinfo() output. How is this possible without apache running? Does puppy comes with default php installation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ricstef

Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 52
Location: Woodstock, ON. Canada

PostPosted: Mon 06 Oct 2008, 11:51    Post_subject: Hiawatha and PHP
Sub_title: Conf files
 

@growler
Thanks for your quick reply Smile ; I'll look at it tonight.

Quote:
I thought I would just make it a PET - its uninstallable then on a full hard-drive install

Sound good to me. Cool

Cheers,
Richard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1202s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0339s) ][ GZIP on ]