Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 19:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Wifi in puppy v 3.98 not working (puppy 4 beta)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
petty

Joined: 25 Nov 2007
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 04:41    Post subject:  Wifi in puppy v 3.98 not working (puppy 4 beta)
Subject description: Wifi in puppy v 3.98 not working (puppy 4 beta)
 

Hi,

I am testing the last version 3.98.
it looks very nice and is working fine.

I heave one problem and that is the Wireless-connection.

My AP has WPA2 and WPA/AES..
WPA2 is not working and WPA/AES does not excist for so far I can see.
Scanning for Ap's gives me a full list of excisting AP's, so the driver is active.
So it also could be a problem in Puppy.

Perhaps it is a setting-problem. I tries all the settings and it is not working.
Spec of my laptop:
- Intel Centrino Duo T7100,
- Intel Pro Wireless 3945 ABG

I hope this help You (and me) to solve the problem.

My gratulations for such a good work.

Grtz.

Petty

PS: it works nice in puppy 3.01
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 10:07    Post subject:  

You should be testing 4.00 beta2.
_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mark2


Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 104
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 14:09    Post subject:  

Dingo beta 2, 3.99, Upgrade.

Another wireless problem here, with the bcm43xx

worked in 2.1, worked with 2.15 and 3.01 with the firmware pet,

Tried network setup wizard, appears to load bcm43xx module, no new network interface found , tried ndiswrapper same result.

Rebooted with pfix=ram and tried once more, with the same results.

Any suggestions, how can I help the developers to resolve this?


edit - also tried with another wireless card using the r8180 chipset, again no new network interface found.

_________________

www.crowncarcare.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 19:14    Post subject:  

mark2,
4.00beta2 has the same kernel and modules as 3.01, so it should work.

If it doesn't, then we need to look at the Network Wizard. Now, this Wizard has been updated by various contributors, not me, so I am reliant on others to fix any problems.

Okay, there is one thing that you can try. As your networking works in 3.01, you could try reverting to the same Network Wizard as used in 3.01.
If you go to the ibiblio.org Puppy download site, go to 'pet_packages-3' directory, download the 'net_setup-3.01.pet' package.

Expand the net_setup package somewhere:
# pet2tgz net_setup-3.01.pet
# tar -zxf net_setup-3.01.tar.gz

Examine the directories, rename the original files and directories then drag the new replacements to their target destinations. You can uninstall it by deleting what you have dragged and renaming back to the originals.

Try the Network Wizard, pleased let me know if it works. If we find that this works, a quick hack will be to offer a choice of old or new Wizard in 4.00.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 19:18    Post subject:  

One other thing to check, is the firmware loaded in /lib/firmware?
In the case of bcm43, there should be files starting with bcm43* in that directory.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Wellesfargo

Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 7
Location: Kyle, Saskatchewan Canada

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 21:02    Post subject: wireless troubles
Subject description: bcm43xx
 

mark2 wrote:
Dingo beta 2, 3.99, Upgrade.

Another wireless problem here, with the bcm43xx

worked in 2.1, worked with 2.15 and 3.01 with the firmware pet,

Tried network setup wizard, appears to load bcm43xx module, no new network interface found , tried ndiswrapper same result.

Rebooted with pfix=ram and tried once more, with the same results.

Any suggestions, how can I help the developers to resolve this?


edit - also tried with another wireless card using the r8180 chipset, again no new network interface found.



I have Dell notebook with the same chipset. I have found that I have to modify the rc.network script to NOT DOWN the interface. I have changed all the downs to up. Apparently my chipset doesnt refresh fast enough during the script. Hope that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1419
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2008, 21:33    Post subject:  

Barry wanted success stories too:

My IPW2200 wifi card is working fine.


The bcm43xx has been a problem. My wife's laptop has one, it worked with a dotpup from Tempestuous in 2.13, did not work with 3.01, haven't tried it with Dingo yet. There's a couple different modules and different firmware depending on which revision you have. See this:

http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Drivers/b43#bcm43xx.2Cb43legacy.2Cb43.2Csoftmac.2C...thefullstory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2008, 17:24    Post subject:
Subject description: IPW2100
 

Up to now I migrated from alpha to alpha and now beta through the version upgrade. My network (ipw2100) always did run.
I had to start with a clean beta 2, so with pfix=ram.

The network interface eth0 is created, the scan sees the AP, which is WEP protected and I gave the WEP key.

When testing eth0 I got the message: no live network could be found.
With Pwireless I have the same thing.

I am willing to revert to the 3.01 NW Wizard, but I am confused.
These are the instructions
Code:
If you go to the ibiblio.org Puppy download site, go to 'pet_packages-3' directory, download the 'net_setup-3.01.pet' package.

Expand the net_setup package somewhere:
# pet2tgz net_setup-3.01.pet
# tar -zxf net_setup-3.01.tar.gz

Why can't I install directly the pet?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 05:51    Post subject:  

Béèm,
I instructed to do it manually so that you can easily revert back to the latest wizard after testing the one from 3.01.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
petty

Joined: 25 Nov 2007
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 08:57    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
You should be testing 4.00 beta2.


Hi BarryK,
I installed beta 2, same problem.

Grtz.

Petty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
petty

Joined: 25 Nov 2007
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 10:00    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
mark2,
4.00beta2 has the same kernel and modules as 3.01, so it should work.

If it doesn't, then we need to look at the Network Wizard. Now, this Wizard has been updated by various contributors, not me, so I am reliant on others to fix any problems.

Okay, there is one thing that you can try. As your networking works in 3.01, you could try reverting to the same Network Wizard as used in 3.01.
If you go to the ibiblio.org Puppy download site, go to 'pet_packages-3' directory, download the 'net_setup-3.01.pet' package.

Expand the net_setup package somewhere:
# pet2tgz net_setup-3.01.pet
# tar -zxf net_setup-3.01.tar.gz

Examine the directories, rename the original files and directories then drag the new replacements to their target destinations. You can uninstall it by deleting what you have dragged and renaming back to the originals.

Try the Network Wizard, pleased let me know if it works. If we find that this works, a quick hack will be to offer a choice of old or new Wizard in 4.00.


Hi BarryK,

I installed net_setup-3.01.pet, and did a reboot to be sure all was set. ( I did a pet-install, on live CD and saved the 2fs.).
I is not working for me with the Intel Pro/wireless 3945 ABG.
I tried it again in v. 3.01. No problem, it works nice.
I hope this will help You to solve the problem.

Petty

I worked further.
v 3.99
With Pwireless I can see a connection on the router.
iwconfig gives me an encrypion like NNN-NNNN-NNNN-NNNN-NNNN-0000-0
(N all "0--9")
route after dhcpcd gives no connection. System gives a success.
For 3.01
Encryption key:XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX Security mode:open (X all characters)
This is working, it is done with WPA/TSK, route ok.
It looks like a problem in WPA/PSK or WPA2. Where can i find this to investigate the problem?

Getz.
petty

Last edited by petty on Thu 24 Apr 2008, 05:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2008, 20:41    Post subject:  

Quote:
I is not working for me with the Intel Pro/wireless 3945 ABG.
I tried it again in v. 3.01. No problem, it works nice.
I hope this will help You to solve the problem.

I'm afraid not. There's no information to give me any clue as to why it doesn't work for you in 4.00beta2.
My own tests with wireless so far in 4.00beta2 are successful.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
petty

Joined: 25 Nov 2007
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed 23 Apr 2008, 05:37    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Quote:
I is not working for me with the Intel Pro/wireless 3945 ABG.
I tried it again in v. 3.01. No problem, it works nice.
I hope this will help You to solve the problem.

I'm afraid not. There's no information to give me any clue as to why it doesn't work for you in 4.00beta2.
My own tests with wireless so far in 4.00beta2 are successful.

====
I got a connection after 2 hours probing and testing. Unfortunately the sytsem went down and I had no chance to save it. (so it can be done wih v 3.98.).
To help me out: which files can I examine to find out what the problem is, so I can feed You with info to solve the problem?
Up to now: scanning via the network wizard finds all the AP's which are active. I use WPA/AES + WPA2 on my AP. Ifconfig and iwconfig see the WiFI-card.
I put in the password as text and as hex. Both not working. In Pnetwork (?) I can see the command. I tried it as wel. I will keep You informed with my progress, If any.
Success with the project, it is very nice to see what has been accomplished.
PS: I can connect with no encryption. With the browser I can see URL's on the internet with a open system.

25 april 2008

It seems I found the problem.
I replaced all the file with the files from net_setup-3.00.pet.
The file ndiswrapper_GUI.sh is a perl-file and is not overwritten by the to copy file frim puppy 3.00. I deleted that separately.
I tried it now 3 times and it is working. So I hope it will stay so. I will keep You informed.

Grtz.
Petty

Last edited by petty on Fri 25 Apr 2008, 08:06; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
barriew

Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 88
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Wed 23 Apr 2008, 05:43    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
mark2,
4.00beta2 has the same kernel and modules as 3.01, so it should work.

If it doesn't, then we need to look at the Network Wizard. Now, this Wizard has been updated by various contributors, not me, so I am reliant on others to fix any problems.

Okay, there is one thing that you can try. As your networking works in 3.01, you could try reverting to the same Network Wizard as used in 3.01.
If you go to the ibiblio.org Puppy download site, go to 'pet_packages-3' directory, download the 'net_setup-3.01.pet' package.

Expand the net_setup package somewhere:
# pet2tgz net_setup-3.01.pet
# tar -zxf net_setup-3.01.tar.gz

Examine the directories, rename the original files and directories then drag the new replacements to their target destinations. You can uninstall it by deleting what you have dragged and renaming back to the originals.

Try the Network Wizard, pleased let me know if it works. If we find that this works, a quick hack will be to offer a choice of old or new Wizard in 4.00.


Barry

I didn't exactly do as above, instead I still have 3.01 on a separate partition, so copied net-setup.sh from that. There was no difference - still no IP obtained. Further investigation using Pwireless and examining dhcpcd-info revealed the following.

On booting, the IP is set to 127.0.0.1, after running the network wizard, the IP gets set to an address in the range 169.254.x.x. Pwireless correctly obtains the IP 192.168.0.3 and sets dhcpcd-info to this value.

Barrie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
petty

Joined: 25 Nov 2007
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 08:49    Post subject:  

petty wrote:
BarryK wrote:
Quote:
I is not working for me with the Intel Pro/wireless 3945 ABG.
I tried it again in v. 3.01. No problem, it works nice.
I hope this will help You to solve the problem.

I'm afraid not. There's no information to give me any clue as to why it doesn't work for you in 4.00beta2.
My own tests with wireless so far in 4.00beta2 are successful.

====
I got a connection after 2 hours probing and testing. Unfortunately the sytsem went down and I had no chance to save it. (so it can be done wih v 3.98.).
To help me out: which files can I examine to find out what the problem is, so I can feed You with info to solve the problem?
Up to now: scanning via the network wizard finds all the AP's which are active. I use WPA/AES + WPA2 on my AP. Ifconfig and iwconfig see the WiFI-card.
I put in the password as ndiswrappertext and as hex. Both not working. In Pnetwork (?) I can see the command. I tried it as wel. I will keep You informed with my progress, If any.
Success with the project, it is very nice to see what has been accomplished.
PS: I can connect with no encryption. With the browser I can see URL's on the internet with a open system.

25 april 2008

It seems I found the problem.
I replaced all the file with the files from net_setup-3.00.pet.
The file ndiswrapper.sh is a perl-file and is not overwritten by the to copy file frim puppy 3.00. I deleted that separately.
I tried it now 3 times and it is working. So I hope it will stay so. I will keep You informed.

Grtz.
Petty


I think I found it.
I reproduced a fresh install with 3.98 (beta 2)
After deleting /usr/sbin/ndiswrapper (perl file) it works..
So it works now. Can anybody explain me why it works now?


Grtz.

Petty[/b][/i]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1147s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0205s) ][ GZIP on ]