Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 16:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to keep your cpu cool and your fan quiet
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
Soupbean


Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Location: China

PostPosted: Fri 23 May 2008, 23:36    Post_subject:  

@playdayz

This is how my the power settings in my BIOS look:


Power Mode fro AC: Maximum Performance
Power Mode for Battery: Maximum Battery Life

Processor Speed: Fixed Max
Suspend timer: 5 minutes
LCD off timer: 5 minutes
HDD off timer: 3 minutes

Hibernate by time: Disabled
Low Bettery Action: Suspend
Suspend when LCD is closed: Suspend
Suspend/Hibernate while docked: Disabled
RediSafe: Disabled
Resume on time: Disabled
Resume on Modem Ring: Disabled

Intel SpeedStep technology: Enabled
Mode of AC: Automatic
Mode for Battery: Battery Optimized
Screen Blanking: Enabled
Suspend to hibernation: Disabled
CPU Power Management: Automatic
PCI Bus Power Management: Automatic


By the way, i'm using this in puppy 3.01, i haven't tried it in puppy 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
erikson


Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 735
Location: Ghent, Belgium

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2008, 04:55    Post_subject:  

Aitch wrote:
thought you might be interested in this: (...)

Interesting indeed, thanks. Though the described Fn-F7 technique does not work on my laptop, it does something completely different Smile

On quite a few brands and models of PCs (and laptops in particular), power modes can be managed with propriety techniques. These may be accessible via function keys (as in your example for the Compaq Armada E500) and/or via BIOS settings (as in Soupbean's example for the IBM Thinkpad). Since these techniques are propriety and machine-specific, users are left on their own to search the web if anything might apply.

The method I described is more general, insofar the processor and BIOS support industry-standard ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface), and insofar ACPI is not overruled one way or another by conflicting boot parameters or BIOS settings.

_________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. --- erikson
hp/compaq nx9030 (1.6GHz/480MB/37.2GB), ADSL, Linksys wireless router
http://www.desonville.net/
Puppy page: http://www.desonville.net/en/joere.puppy.htm

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 23:25    Post_subject:  

I tried this for my Thinkpad A21m:

Code:
modprobe speedstep-lib relaxed_check=1
modprobe speedstep-smi
modprobe cpufreq_ondemand
echo ondemand > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor


It accepts this without error in rxvt however dmesg yields:
Code:
ondemand governor failed to load due to too long transition latency
... and the scaling governor is still "performance".

I wonder if the kernel had this turned on during compile:
Code:
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_RELAXED_CHECK = y


I keep looking for reasons to retire this old Thinkpad and dig something a little better out of a dumpster. This may be a good one...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 756

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2008, 14:11    Post_subject:  

This is a fantastically helpful thread, and I thank everybody who contributed to it.

For the record, CPU scaling works in an ASUS EEE 900/DingoPlus. Because the scaling oftens goes to max freq (900 in the eee's case), I set the max freq to 675 and the min freq to 337.

There's a little lag time to opening OO, and other hungry apps, but it's a small price to pay.

With this scaling, it's possible to keep the machine cool enough to prevent the eee fan from coming on. Since I still haven't found a way for manual fan control in a Puppy/eee setup, the scaling adds substantially to battery life--well over four hours.

One thing my amateur eye noticed: the lower the max freq, the higher CPU usage (shown on a conky). Without scaling, running at a steady 630mhz set in BIOS, DingoPlus runs OO in the background at about 16-18% in conky's CPU monitor. With the scaling specs set to PowerMode and 675-337 max/min respectively, the CPU monitor shows about 25-27%

I don't know if this means anything, except that scaling drops the machine's temperature about 3 degrees, key to fan control on the eee 900.

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SteveLeader

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 12 Sep 2008, 07:44    Post_subject: Acer Aspire 1690  

Hi!
First of all - thank you for this incredible thread! It's great (even for beginners like me Smile ).

I've got a Acer Aspire 1692 with a Centrino platform with a Pentium M 740 CPU (1,73 GHz).

My intention is to keep the fan silent. So I did the following:

Code:
# modprobe speedstep-centrino
# modprobe cpufreq_powersave


and because i want to stop the fan, i fixed the maximum frequency to the minimum of the cpu

Code:
# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies
1733000 1333000 1067000 800000
# echo 800000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq


then i wanted to know, if he's running at the lowest level, which was confirmed by time_in_state

Code:
# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/stats/time_in_state
1733000 24817
1333000 0
1067000 0
800000 21950

# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/stats/time_in_state
1733000 24817
1333000 0
1067000 0
800000 57498


so he's working at 800MHz only.
After doing that, the temperature fell to 40°C

Code:
# cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature
temperature:             40 C

and stays at this level the whole time.
top says 100% idle...
Code:
CPU:   0% usr   0% sys   0% nice 100% idle   0% io   0% irq   0% softirq


but my fan is spinning the whole time. it never stops (neither on ac nor on battery).

So I was wondering, if someone has an idea how to get my fan silent, because it's very annoying. This is the only problem with puppy...without it, it would be the perfect os Wink

Thanks in advance!
steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
erikson


Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 735
Location: Ghent, Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 12 Sep 2008, 08:39    Post_subject: Re: Acer Aspire 1690  

SteveLeader wrote:
but my fan is spinning the whole time. it never stops (neither on ac nor on battery).

You could still try
Code:
modprobe fan

_________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. --- erikson
hp/compaq nx9030 (1.6GHz/480MB/37.2GB), ADSL, Linksys wireless router
http://www.desonville.net/
Puppy page: http://www.desonville.net/en/joere.puppy.htm

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
SteveLeader

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 12 Sep 2008, 09:35    Post_subject:  

Thanks for your answer, erikson!

I've already tried "modprobe fan", but it didn't change anything.

I looked very carefully at the start and i found out the following:
After the bootup the temperature of the CPU raises to 43°C (at 800MHz, with fullspeed it's over 50°C). But although the temperature stays at 43-44°C, the fan starts to spin after a few minutes. Then the temperature falls to 39°C, but, as I said, the fan never stops again.

What i found out too: after a reboot, the fan is even spinning while booting. So i thought, maybe there's another sensor, who gives the heat information. Because otherwise it wouldn't spin after a reboot. Is this possible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
erikson


Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 735
Location: Ghent, Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 12 Sep 2008, 12:03    Post_subject:  

SteveLeader wrote:
What i found out too: after a reboot, the fan is even spinning while booting. So i thought, maybe there's another sensor, who gives the heat information. Because otherwise it wouldn't spin after a reboot. Is this possible?

I'm not familiar with Acer.

Anyway, fan spinning at a CPU temperature of 40°C is pretty weird (mine on an hp/compaq kicks in around 60°C).

I googled some and found a.o. following discussion, see in particular post # 5: http://www.notebookforums.com/thread180665.html

So yes, it's possible that other sensors (e.g. on graphics adapter) are involved in fan control - maybe that gives some hint in which direction to look for a solution. Good luck!

_________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. --- erikson
hp/compaq nx9030 (1.6GHz/480MB/37.2GB), ADSL, Linksys wireless router
http://www.desonville.net/
Puppy page: http://www.desonville.net/en/joere.puppy.htm

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
SteveLeader

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 12 Sep 2008, 14:13    Post_subject:  

Thank you very much!
So I'm pretty sure it's the grapic card's fault. Put the clock down would be easy in Win****, but maybe there is a soultion; I will see.
Thanks again!
Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sat 13 Sep 2008, 08:45    Post_subject:  

Hi Steve

Have seen notes about changing video driver from fglrx to ati xorg to reduce polling interrupts & found this ACPI info

http://acpi.sourceforge.net/documentation/thermal.html

Check ACPI settings in bios, and try different settings for differences in fan/other performance

I believe there is a bootup setting of

puppy ACPI=force

but don't know what it was suggested for

HTH

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Mon 13 Oct 2008, 23:24    Post_subject:  

On my Dell computer, I could not get that pet package to work; however the procedure in the initial post works fine. It reduces the frequency of use of the fan although does not eliminate it altogether. I just wonder with this dual core machine what's going on (in standard Puppy 4.1) with the other core - i..e., is it sitting there running at the max freq, doing nothing at all? Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
106498

Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Thu 13 Nov 2008, 00:15    Post_subject:  

My /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/arch/i386/kernel/ appears to only have a file in it called apm.ko. Not sure what to do now...
_________________
An expert is just a beginner with experience.
Shamelessly representing TdeM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
erikson


Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 735
Location: Ghent, Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 14 Nov 2008, 11:00    Post_subject:  

106498 wrote:
My /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/arch/i386/kernel/ appears to only have a file in it called apm.ko. Not sure what to do now...

That's normal.

For kernel 2.6.21.7 the acpi modules (including processor.ko, fan.ko etcetera) are in
/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/drivers/acpi
and the cpufreq modules are in
/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/arch/i386/kernel/cpu/cpufreq

Actually there's no need to worry about where exactly the modules are, just leave them in place and modprobe is supposed to find them.

_________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. --- erikson
hp/compaq nx9030 (1.6GHz/480MB/37.2GB), ADSL, Linksys wireless router
http://www.desonville.net/
Puppy page: http://www.desonville.net/en/joere.puppy.htm

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
106498

Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Mon 17 Nov 2008, 18:27    Post_subject:  

Well that was silly of me. I didn't realise that modprobe was a command Laughing Anyway, modprobing speedstep_lib returns no errors. All the other ones do. Modprobing speedstep-centrino gives a weird on though
Code:
FATAL: Error inserting speedstep_centrino (/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/arch/i386/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/speedstep-centrino.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)

Not sure what that means? A google search reported that many people have the same problem. For some changing the kernel version seems to fix it.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Mon 17 Nov 2008, 18:33    Post_subject:  

This is how I got my Quad core to room temperature with zero noise for no $$

Step 1.
Code:
Unplug power


Step 2
Code:
Thats it.  It even reduced the power consumption down to nothing

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0983s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]