Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 27 Aug 2014, 11:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to keep your cpu cool and your fan quiet
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 5 [61 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 17 Nov 2008, 22:30    Post subject:  

Laughing Laughing Laughing

"and for my next trick....."

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
erikson


Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 735
Location: Ghent, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue 18 Nov 2008, 05:50    Post subject:  

106498 wrote:
Not sure what that means? A google search reported that many people have the same problem. For some changing the kernel version seems to fix it.

For me it reports something else:
Code:
1# modprobe speedstep-centrino
FATAL: Error inserting speedstep_centrino (/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/arch/i386/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/speedstep-centrino.ko): Device or resource busy
1#

To the best of my knowledge, speedstep-centrino is deprecated and the generic acpi-cpufreq can be used instead. It works like that on my laptop, which has a Centrino.

@technosaurus: I'm even smarter than you because I didn't spend any $$$ on a quad-core Smile

_________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. --- erikson
hp/compaq nx9030 (1.6GHz/480MB/37.2GB), ADSL, Linksys wireless router
http://www.desonville.net/
Puppy page: http://www.desonville.net/en/joere.puppy.htm

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
106498

Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Tue 18 Nov 2008, 23:22    Post subject:  

Modprobing acpi-cpufreq returned
Code:
# modprobe acpi-cpufreq
WARNING: Error inserting processor (/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/drivers/acpi/processor.ko): No such device
FATAL: Error inserting acpi_cpufreq (/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/arch/i386/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)

Oh dear. I think I'm running out of stuff to modprobe here...

_________________
An expert is just a beginner with experience.
Shamelessly representing TdeM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Wed 19 Nov 2008, 07:38    Post subject:  

106498

Maybe a system file error somewhere?

try booting with the pfix=purge parameter

Save your configuration somewhere just in case, though

Else check your ACPI settings in BIOS

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JPsDad

Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2009, 02:13    Post subject: How do I display CPU Temp?  

I am running Puppy4.12, Centrino with Pent.M 1.6. My rc.local looks like this:
#this file called from rc.local0
#you can edit this file
#When firewall is installed, will append lines to this file...
modprobe ac
modprobe battery
modprobe fan
modprobe thermal
modprobe cpufreq_userspace
modprobe speedstep_centrino
modprobe cpufreq_powersave
modprobe cpufreq_ondemand
modprobe cpufreq_conservative
echo conservative > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor

my CPU can run from 1.6MHz down to 0.6MHz. but I cannot see what it is doing. My fan seems to run continuously.
When I was running Mepis 6.0, it included KDE, with Ksensor, that displayed temp and freq. and they varied with CPU load.
Trouble was - much too long a boot time for a laptop.

How do we monitor with Puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 754

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2009, 07:01    Post subject:  

conky is a monitor program.
See http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=23280
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
macrocephalic

Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed 01 Apr 2009, 23:49    Post subject: DIG  

Just did this on my MSI wind with the 1.6ghz atom processor in puppy 4.2 final. The GUI works - but it tries to modprobe the speedstep-centrino for the atom processor and it doesn't work (in the console doing that gives that 'device busy' error). Using just the acpi-cpufreq seems to work alright though so I've added the required lines to the rc.local file from the original post.

I'm yet to see how much difference this makes in battery time - but now that it's working I can play around with the governor more and see what I can do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ARAN

Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2009, 06:36    Post subject: modules for new 4.3 kernel release  

We need somebody that can upload the new modules for the cpu scalling of the kernel 2.6.30.5 that is used in the new pup4.3 release.

in the folder "lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernel/cpu/cpufreq" i can not find anything !

Without this cpu freq modules the CPU is running at maximum speed all the time. The heat can burn with the time the cpu down !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 23 Sep 2009, 15:58    Post subject:  

@ ARAN
you might calm down a little yourself. as answered in your other post, in my opinion everything is there. please search here:

cpufreq: /lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernel/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq
governors: /lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernel/drivers/cpufreq

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 24 Sep 2009, 04:05    Post subject:  

@ ARAN

as in the other thread:

Quote:
@ ARAN Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed
all i can do is apologize!

i've by mistake loaded 4.3 Beta 3 and they are all there. now that i look at 4.3-small in quemu, what should i say, can't find the modules any more, you're right.

maybe someone else should look at this, but seems to be a big bug.

so, again sorry.

aragon


edit:
Quote:
now i'm a little wiser.

this is a problem for pup-430-small.iso. the regular one pup-430.iso does contain the modules in the zp430305.sfs. i don't know if it's a bug or by design but i will post it in the bugs-section.

aragon


aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 756

PostPosted: Thu 24 Sep 2009, 07:53    Post subject: CPU Scaling/EEE 900 Ondemand/Conservative Module Not Working  

Although the cpu scaling gui sets things up wonderfully, at least in the Asus eee 900, only "performance" and "powersave" modules work.

The CPU scaling gui will setup in /root/startup an sh file modprobing ondemand, but when using "cat scaling_governor", "Performance" is the result, meaning the machine is constantly maxed to its top speed. Ditto results after modprobing and installing "conservative" in place of "ondemand". "echo conservative > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor"

Only "powersave" and "performance" can be used. I can't figure out why. Can anybody else repeat this error, either in an eee or other machine?

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ARAN

Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Thu 24 Sep 2009, 11:00    Post subject:  

Yeah i can confirm this error on my Laptop Acer Aspire 1360.
My CPU in the Laptop use allways the Maximal Frequency even in idle. The scaling_governor is allways performance.
I dont think that this is realy wise from energy save point of view.
I wanted to have ondemand but i cant make it for some reason.

Beside this i have achieved at least to have now a Cool and Quiet Laptop.
Dont know however if with the option ondemand even this quiet good temperatures can be bringed down !

Quote:
# cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRC/*
0 - Active; 1 - Passive
<polling disabled>
state: ok
temperature: 49 C
critical (S5): 97 C
passive: 90 C: tc1=2 tc2=5 tsp=300 devices=CPU0


Quote:
# cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRS/*
0 - Active; 1 - Passive
<polling disabled>
state: ok
temperature: 43 C
critical (S5): 80 C
passive: 75 C: tc1=2 tc2=5 tsp=300 devices=CPU0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ARAN

Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Thu 24 Sep 2009, 11:10    Post subject:  

aragon wrote:
@ ARAN
you might calm down a little yourself. as answered in your other post, in my opinion everything is there. please search here:

cpufreq: /lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernel/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq
governors: /lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernel/drivers/cpufreq

aragon


Hello Aragon.

Thanks for your reply.
I have trashed the small iso as it miss for some reason the cpu scalling modules.
In the regular Iso the Modules exist in the zdrive file but for some strange reason they arent loaded and copied to puppy.

At least the last full booting of puppy in ram they werent loaded.
I assume that in the regular boot they will also be not loaded !

I have fixed my problem now by copying the needed cpu freq scalling modules from the zdrv sfs file to the pupsave file.

Now it works a litlle better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Anniekin


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Mon 05 Oct 2009, 10:32    Post subject:  

Nice. Subscribed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dawnsboy


Joined: 03 Dec 2008
Posts: 248
Location: Indiana - Republic of New Canada

PostPosted: Tue 06 Oct 2009, 00:56    Post subject: Eeepc & P4-clockmod
Subject description: Misreports CPU speed
 

Just a word to the wise for those users with Eeepc's that feature the Intel Celeron M 353 900MHz processor and 70MHz FSB. The following is a quote from the hardware section of the wiki at eeeuser.com.

Quote:
Note that the Eee's Linux operating system misreports the speed of the Eee's processor as 900MHz. The cause of this appears to be the p4-clockmod kernel module; once this is removed, the processor speed is reported accurately. The EEE has been benchmarked with the module present in the kernel and without; the results were the same for either case.2)


I have found this to be true in Puppy Linux as well.

Find more on the subject here:



http://forum.eeeuser.com/viewtopic.php?pid=19749#p19749

To me the most interesting segment of that thread is:

Quote:
My points regarding ODCM are unrelated to the FSB's impact on the actual operating frequency. When I stated that "the processor frequency never changes" it was in regards to ODCM throttle states not being capable of altering the CPU frequency. I was not stating that the processor runs at 900 MHz irregardless of FSB frequency (that statement would not be in line with the 'published' CPU theorem that I worked so hard on big_smile)

Back to ODCM:

When somewhat idle various Linux utilities on the eeePC would report that the processor is running at 112.50 MHz (12.5% throttle), such a reported frequency is incorrect because of the following reasons:

1- The utility incorrectly assumes the FSB is 100 MHz. Since the FSB is running at 70 MHz the CPU is actually running at 630 MHz therefore a 12.5% ODCM throttle should be reported as 78.75 MHz CPU frequency.

BUT more importantly the 78.75 MHz CPU frequency is still incorrect because...

2- ODCM throttling does not alter the CPU's operating frequency.

All in all, due to p4_clockmod and cpufreq modules the CPU frequency reported in linux/Xandros is always FUBAR.



This seems to also be true in Puppy Linux, Vector Linux and some other distros I have played with.

I have been able to confirm that loading the EEE module in Puppy after installing tempestuous' eee fan/cpu driver by entering "cat /proc/eee/fsb" in console. It returns the desired response. Furthermore comparing benchmarking results with those obtained while attempting to use the speed stepping technology described in this thread demonstrate that the performance of the latter is equal to the results obtained when operating at the default 630MHz.

Optimal setup for the Eeepc 701/900 with the Intel Celeron M 70MHz FSB is to use the EEE module supplied in tempestuous' wonderful eee-fan-CPU-0.2 package is the only way to go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 [61 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0980s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0062s) ][ GZIP on ]