Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 05:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
MAJOR BUG: Puppy 4.0 is Burning the CPU
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [44 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
ARAN

Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 13:07    Post subject:  MAJOR BUG: Puppy 4.0 is Burning the CPU  

Hello !

I am using now for more than a few days Puppy LInux 4.0 on my Laptop.

The two first negative imperssions for me were.
The Fan was allways running 100% and my Laptop was also allways amazing hot.

Now i have maked some tests and for my surprise Puppy is consuming less than 1% of the CPU Power but it produce more than 70 Celsius Degree Heatness.

To prove it itself just type the following command here in the terminal !

Quote:
# cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRC/*
0 - Active; 1 - Passive
<polling disabled>
state: ok
temperature: 79 C
critical (S5): 97 C
passive: 90 C: tc1=2 tc2=5 tsp=300 devices=CPU0


    Mem: 183348K used, 6584K free, 0K shrd, 23020K buff, 82788K cached
    CPU: 3% usr 1% sys 0% nice 95% idle 0% io 0% irq 0% softirq
    Load average: 0.18 0.15 0.16
    PID PPID USER STAT VSZ %MEM %CPU COMMAND
    8796 8791 root S 110m 59% 1% /usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.8/seamonkey-bin
    8517 8516 root S < 88100 46% 1% X :0 -mode 0x0118 -shadow -mouse /dev/
    8679 8568 root S 2772 1% 0% /usr/bin/rxvt
    10326 10316 root S 17872 9% 0% gtkdialog3 --program=PPROCESS --center
    8568 1 root S 16376 9% 0% /usr/local/apps/ROX-Filer/ROX-Filer -p
    8655 8568 root S 15152 8% 0% geany /root/.conkyrc
    8585 1 root S 9972 5% 0% blinky -bg #DCDAD5
    8573 8539 root S 9944 5% 0% absvolume -bg #DCDAD5
    8539 8516 root S 5092 3% 0% jwm
    15498 1 root S 4504 2% 0% /usr/sbin/cupsd
    8576 1 root S 3412 2% 0% xload -nolabel -fg red -hl white -bg #
    8578 1 root S 3388 2% 0% freememapplet -p 12
    8680 8679 root S 2784 1% 0% bash
    10316 1 root S 2736 1% 0% /bin/bash /usr/local/pprocess/pprocess
    8791 8765 root S 2688 1% 0% /bin/sh /usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.8/run-m
    8765 8568 root S 2664 1% 0% /bin/sh /usr/bin/mozilla
    15919 1 root S 2652 1% 0% /bin/sh /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin
    8581 1 root S 2560 1% 0% asapm -u 4
    13368 8680 root R 2312 1% 0% top
    8516 15919 root S 2224 1% 0% /usr/X11R7/bin/xinit /root/.xinitrc --
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 13:52    Post subject:  

Now that's interesting... I tried that command, pasted directly to the terminal as you've written here Aran and I received "No such file or directory." and yet I'm using Puppy 4.00 installed to hard drive in a full install upon my desktop. How odd.

But not only that, here's another interesting one for you: I've actually switched to 4.00 because my computer runs quieter and cooler than it did with any prior Linux OS---just the opposite results from you!

Don't get me wrong Aran, please. I'm not doubting you, as you've quoted your results here, moreso than others and moreso than I've done (and I can't because of not getting the result re: paragraph #1). And I don't doubt you as just look at all the bug reports for version 4.00 that are coming in as well.

I'm saying that I'm starting to feel a little lonely out here in "left field" as I seem to be the only person without a single bug to report---as if Puppy 4.00 were made to run upon my computer! Embarassed

Hopefully you'll find a solution to your problem soon from one of the other regulars to the forum here. Sorry I'm unable to help. Sad

Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ARAN

Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 14:15    Post subject:  

The path differ from BIOS to BIOS.

Look what for folders do you have in this directory
/proc/acpi/thermal_zone/

There must be some folders for System Temperature and CPU Temperature

I am having the following Folders in this PATH

THRC and THRS

If i Understand you right you are using a Installed version of Puppy Linux.
Can you proove this also with a LiveCD Version of Puppy Linux after 3 to 4 Hours Work ?

There are at least some puppy users with cpu heat problems but for me the solutions dont work

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=594567679&t=28443

Here some people with the same problem (german)
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=594567679&t=25669
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dingo


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1415
Location: somewhere at the end of rainbow...

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 14:42    Post subject:  

Hey... I don't have /proc/acpi/ on my Puppy 3.01 why this? Shocked
_________________
replace .co.cc with .info to get access to stuff I posted in forum
dropbox 2GB free
OpenOffice for Puppy Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 15:07    Post subject:  

Mine is "THM0" not "THRC". My lappy has only been on 15 minutes or so, but I'm not noticing any heat problems. In fact, my fan isn't even on right now.

Code:
# cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THM0/* 
<setting not supported>
cooling mode:   passive
<polling disabled>
state:                   ok
temperature:             31 C
critical (S5):           93 C
passive:                 90 C: tc1=5 tc2=4 tsp=600 devices=0xdfe11338


As you can see, I'm running at 31 degrees Celsius (~88 deg F). The only thing I'm running at the moment is Firefox, so I'm not eating up CPU cycles. CPU usage is bouncing between 1% and 10%.

I'm running a frugal install from the HD, so my CD drive is not spinning (it wouldn't from a live CD either, because I have enough RAM to load all the way).

I will try this again after I have had the computer on for while.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ARAN

Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 15:20    Post subject:  

Wow SirDuncan !

Thats really a cool Temeprature Amount !
Are you sure that you are posting the right Temperature ?
I can't see something saying about cpu temperature like in mine first post !

Quote:
passive: 90 C: tc1=2 tc2=5 tsp=300 devices=CPU0


My Temperature amount is getting in less than 5 minutes from 60 Degree
from Start directly to 75-79 Degrees

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 15:37    Post subject:  

Let me put ours side by side for you:

state: ok state: ok
temperature: 79 C temperature: 31 C
critical (S5): 97 C critical (S5): 93 C
passive: 90 C: tc1=2 tc2=5 tsp=300 devices=CPU0 passive: 90 C: tc1=5 tc2=4 tsp=600 devices=0xdfe11338

EDIT: Arrgghh . . . I forgot that the forum eats whitespace. Edited so that mine is italic.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ARAN

Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 15:52    Post subject:  

SirDuncan

Your Temperature Amount cant be from the CPU.

The device string dont contain the word CPU
Also Think Logical.
Can a CPU really have the temperature of the Room ?

Look here Your Posting

Quote:
passive: 90 C: tc1=5 tc2=4 tsp=600 devices=0xdfe11338


And look here mine Posting

Quote:
passive: 90 C: tc1=2 tc2=5 tsp=300 devices=CPU0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 16:05    Post subject:  

thinkpad x30 running 4.00
Code:
# cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THM0/* 
<setting not supported>
cooling mode:   passive
<polling disabled>
state:                   ok
temperature:             41 C
critical (S5):           96 C
passive:                 91 C: tc1=5 tc2=4 tsp=600 devices=0xdf621338
I expect that differences are down to various none standard laptop implementations of the ACPI spec.
Does acpi work ok on your laptop with other distros using a similar kernel?
What make/model is it?
Does the temperature behave if you boot with acpi=off and use apm instead. Stats are in /proc/apm

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ARAN

Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 16:09    Post subject:  

Sorry but from my side of view your Data for the CPU is also wrong.

Look at the devices description

HairyWill wrote:

passive: 91 C: tc1=5 tc2=4 tsp=600 devices=0xdf621338
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 16:11    Post subject:  

It's pointing to the memory location of the CPU, not giving its identifier. As for room temperature, it is about 55F(~13C) outside, and I have my window open so it can't be more than 60F(~16C) in here.

I don't know about where you are, but 88F isn't reached until mid-summer here in Ohio.

My CPU temp is now being reported as 38C(~100F), which is roughly twice the ambient temperature. So, I don't see the logic gap you are referring to.

This does show us one reason for your high temps, your ambient temperature is far higher than mine. Still, 79C is very hot. Have you tried raising the back end of the laptop so that there is airflow beneath it? I keep a pair of dice beneath the rear of mine when I'm using it on the desk.

What is the model of your machine? Maybe if we search around we can find if the model is known to overheat and if there is a fix.

EDIT: I am also using a Thinkpad, so I believe it is just the way IBM has the motherboard reporting the CPU.

DOUBLE EDIT: I just looked up the documentation for ACPI and this is the applicable example output:
Code:
critical (S5): 110 C
passive: 105 C: tc1=2 tc2=10 tsp=100 devices=0xdf72e380
active[0]: 48 C: devices=0xc157fec0

Notice that the devices are shown as memory locations.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ARAN

Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 16:28    Post subject:  

Oh man what for a stupid Conversation !

Sir Duncan get it please !

THE *THMO* THERMAL AMOUNT IS NOT THE THERMAL AMOUNT OF THE CPU !!!

WE ARE SPEAKING HERE ABOUT THE CPU THERMAL AMOUNT AND NOT THE THERMAL AMOUNT OF THE MEMORY !

MEMORY LOCATION IS NOT CPU LOCATION !

IS THIS REALLY SUCH HARD TO UNDERSTAND ?

CAN SOMEBODY PLEASE POST HERE SOME THERMAL AMOUNTS WITH THE RIGHT CPU DEVICE DESCRIPTION.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mark2


Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 104
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 16:31    Post subject:  

been booted up on my lappy all day, in windows my temp hovers around 60c, however puppy is reporting it at 75c.

I have noted that in windows various temp monitoring apps have different opinions of the temp.

edit, the fan cuts in less when using puppy than in windows.

_________________

www.crowncarcare.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ARAN

Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 16:43    Post subject:  

SirDuncan wrote:
I am also using a Thinkpad, so I believe it is just the way IBM has the motherboard reporting the CPU.


Most of the People I know that they use linux on a thinkpad have a cpu thermal amount bigger than 95 Celsius Degree !

Quote:
hinkPad Z60t doesn't manage its temperature very well. It is enough to leave the laptop alone just with inactive Firefox running and the temperature rises soon at dangerous 93°C (200°F). That causes the fan to speed up, however only to keep the temp at the same 93˚C.


https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux-source-2.6.17/+bug/85894
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2008, 16:55    Post subject:  

Code:
# ls /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/
THM0
# ls /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THM0/
cooling_mode  polling_frequency  state  temperature  trip_points
as you can see THM0 is the only thermal device visible, it would make sense to believe that this is the processor. I have been running puppy almost exclusively on this machine for 18 months. During that time I have observed the workload of the machine and the state of THM0. The temperature reported has always varied in sync with the processor load.

You could continue to shout but MY laptop appears to be working fine. How about giving us a bit more info about yours, you never know we might be able to help.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [44 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0946s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0031s) ][ GZIP on ]