Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 02:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
HELP
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Cerberus
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 03:14    Post subject:  HELP  

I decided to revive my old 333 MHZ K6-2 with a 6GB hard drive, and i found puppy and thought it would work well.

However i am completely new to linux, so i really need someones help in getting it to work properly.
Back to top
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 08:48    Post subject:  

Have you gotten the computer to boot Puppy? Have you enabled CD booting in your BIOS? Do you know how to burn an ISO image to CD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 10:45    Post subject:  

There's good news:

If you do as advised by Keenerd, you should be up and running in no time.

For most people, Booting from the live CD will detect all your hardware.

If not, then you will have specific questions. So:

1. Set your computer to boot from CD
2. Insert the puppy CD image
3. Relax and enjoy.

You can come back to ask any questions no matter how basic or complex. I'm sure that someone will try their paws at it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Cerberus

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 11:25    Post subject:  

But here is my issue
That computer was a former Win98 Not SE and i had to format it becasue winblows deleted itself with disc cleanup.

BUT it now has no cd drivers on it after teh format, it only recognizes the floppy. I downloaded a driver that i know works with this drive, but i am not sure how to set it to load these drivers on startup, otherwise i couldn't boot from CD.

As well i do not know how to change the bios, as my DOS skills are limited to a small bit of .bat programming (i forgot most of the WIN98 dos when we switched to XP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 11:29    Post subject:  

http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/BootingFromCD
_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Thu 13 Oct 2005, 11:54; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Cerberus

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 11:33    Post subject:  

That is a dead link lobster, wont load
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 11:55    Post subject:  

try again
_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Cerberus

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 12:08    Post subject:  

Hmm, that should work, but i am not sur ehow to do tht in DOS, i remember seing that in windows but never in DOS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
theelf


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 55
Location: Temperance Hall, TN

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 13:16    Post subject:  

boot2pup.zip which when unzipped is a bootfloppy image
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/download.php?id=10

rawwritewin-0.7.zip which when unzipped is a win32 program that will write a floppy image to a floppy and then you can boot from the floppy and hopefully boot Puppy from your CDRom seeing as how you have no OS on your HDD
http://uranus.it.swin.edu.au/~jn/linux/rawwritewin-0.7.zip
Hopefully someone will supply info about installing Puppy to your HDD as I have never installed this particular distro on a HDD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 15:24    Post subject:  

Quote:
remember seing that in windows but never in DOS.
Changing the BIOS settings have nothing to do with DOS or Windows or linux.

The BIOS controls the low level interaction with the input/output devices of your computer.

You normally access the BIOS by pressing a "special" Key or group of keys just after turning on the computer. The instructions are in the link provided by Lobster.

There are a few very weird computers where the BIOS code is not in ROM but is installed into a special file in the Hard Disk drive. If you formated the HDD, that file may be lost. If that's the case you will need to get a floppy from the computer manufacturer (They have them in their web site).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 18:23    Post subject:  

The driver for the cd drive should not be a problem, as Puppy doesn't use the Windows drivers anyway. If the bios can recognize the cd drive, Puppy will try to use it. So the only thing you would need Windows drivers for is burning the cd. But you don't need to burn the cd if you do a poor man's install.

If you have access to a fully operational cd burner, disregard the below and just burn the iso normally.


Poor Man's Install

What you will need to do is set up a boot cd: Wakepup

Then you will need to extract these files from the ISO (don't worry, I'll get to that in a second):
image.gz
user_cram.fs
vmlinuz

To do this, you can use Isobuster.

Place those files in C:/ (or any other drive/partition, preferably not of the ntfs variety, though it will work but has issues) Don't put them in a folder, they need to be right at the top. Then make a blank file there called pupxide.

Reboot with the bootdisk, and bingo bango bam! You're in Puppy.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Cerberus

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 19:24    Post subject:  

Alright, i should be okay escept i need to know 1 thing

After i activate the cd drivers in command.com, will they load whenever i start?, if not i'll need to know how to get that to work, otehrwise no puppy as i cant get ti to load form a cd drive it doesn't know how to use :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 21:58    Post subject:  

Again:

command.com is a DOS program. Puppy DOES NOT run on top of DOS. It is a different operating system with it's own drivers.

When working with puppy the computer DOES NOT boot to DOS. If you insert the CD then the computer will boot directly to Puppy.

I think that the best way for you to understand is to put the Puppy CD in, and turn on the computer without worrying about what will happen.

Only if your computer do not boot to puppy you will need extra help with that.

But please, try it instead of second guessing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Cerberus

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 00:14    Post subject:  

ALright, i know that puppy will not run on top of DOS, but i do not think that it will be able to read teh cd as it lacks all cd drivers. This is why i was wondering if i load the drivers into command.com will they stay there.

As well i was going to try to run it in the ram of this computer but i cannot access the bios to tell it to boot from cd if available


I am running windows XP media center edition 2005 home, but i cannot load the bios modify screen at startup, i have tried ever F# key and crtl alt delte during startup (that just restarted it)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 00:58    Post subject:  

You need to get into the Bios
http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/BootingFromCD

What part of this do you need help with?
Do you have a manual or someone with rudimentary computer knowledge who can help you?

Usually when the computer comes on it says how to get into the BIOS

ctrl + alt + del reboots the computer because this is the command to reboot the computer

Good luck Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0807s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0128s) ][ GZIP on ]