Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Oct 2014, 02:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to Access a Windows Shared Printer from Puppy 4
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 6 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
stevetimar

Joined: 23 Sep 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2008, 20:19    Post_subject: Access a windows shared printer
Sub_title: no connection
 

I am using the shared name. I even tried inserting the workgroup name after:smb://. It did not work. I communicate via a Orinoco wireless PC card to a Linksys wireless access point, which uses encryption. I connect to the internet, so I should be able to connect to the printer.
Any other suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
newbie314

Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Wed 22 Oct 2008, 01:55    Post_subject:  

I've got this working, but I can only do it with the name of the computer.
I would like to do that by IP number instead.
I've tried but smb doesn't seem to connect that way.

I would prefer this, then most likely I can connect a puppy to a puppy machine with no issue for printing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 22 Oct 2008, 10:21    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I would prefer this, then most likely I can connect a puppy to a puppy machine with no issue for printing.


Do you mean that you want to connect a printer to a Puppy machine and make it available to other networked Puppy machines?

If this is your intent, you don't need to do anything! Once you have CUPS running, it will automatically broadcast its presence to other Puppy computers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
newbie314

Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Wed 22 Oct 2008, 13:04    Post_subject:  

Okay I didn't know that.
I thought I needed to set the samba server.
So how do I access the network printer (on a Puppy Machine) from the CUPS (on another Puppy Machine)?
How does it show up?

Also, I would still like to connect from Puppy->Win printer, but through IP and not name. Can I do this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
newbie314

Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Thu 23 Oct 2008, 01:45    Post_subject:  

So how do I see the networked printer in CUPS?
Network printer is on a puppy machine.
The machine I'm trying to connect from is a puppy machine.
Do I use IP? What option in the CUPS configuration?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 23 Oct 2008, 09:15    Post_subject:  

Go to CUPS admin on the Puppy client machine and open the Printers list. The networked printer on the host machine should be there automatically. You don't need to go through an install procedure. Just make that printer the default for the client machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
newbie314

Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Thu 23 Oct 2008, 11:18    Post_subject:  

Okay I'll check if it's there, maybe tonight.
I'm running on 4.0 and the client is on wireless.

Do I have do to the SMB fix in the beginning of the post?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
newbie314

Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat 25 Oct 2008, 01:30    Post_subject:  

No go.
I can't see my HP on the host.

Host ->wired
client ->wireless

Interesting I can see a printer on the host cups that is on my client, although I can't communicate with it.

So summary
Host can see client printers but can't communicate
Client can't see Host printers at all.

Wonder if the firewall is doing something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 25 Oct 2008, 09:06    Post_subject:  

Other Puppy users have reported problems with wireless printing and were unable to get it working. Please report back if you find a solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
newbie314

Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat 25 Oct 2008, 12:54    Post_subject:  

Nothing yet.
Can I use IP for printer access and how?

Is this fixed in 4.1?

I find it surprising that wireless should be any different as it's just a network.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 25 Oct 2008, 14:41    Post_subject:  

Just for the record, for those who keep getting "Cannot connect to CIFS host", I've got my printer going in Puppy 4.1 with the printer address set to:

smb://Administrator@windows_IP_address/printer_share_name

That is literally "//Administrator@", you don't have to put anything else instead.

Took a lot of Googling.....

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
newbie314

Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat 25 Oct 2008, 15:39    Post_subject:  

Would that IP work for puppy to puppy linking
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 25 Oct 2008, 22:12    Post_subject:  

@gerry: Thanks for that suggestion. I have added it to the original post. Hopefully, it will help other users with printing problems. By any chance, are you printing over a wireless network?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
newbie314

Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sun 26 Oct 2008, 02:42    Post_subject:  

Looks like it works on wireless to the win machine
Took out Admin and it still worked.

Will have to try puppy to puppy again :S
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 26 Oct 2008, 03:00    Post_subject:  

@rcrsn51- sorry, no. Still good old wires...

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 6 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0710s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0128s) ][ GZIP on ]