Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 03:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
What emulators (in windows) support Puppy Linux?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
flamesage


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 06:07    Post_subject:  What emulators (in windows) support Puppy Linux?  

Do you guy's know what emulators (in windows) support puppy linux?
(in iso form)

I don't want to duel boot, all I want is to emulate puppylinux inside of Windows (then my ultimate PC will be done! Razz )
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 16:30    Post_subject:  

Qemu works, the forum-search will give you details.

There are 2 versions using Puppy 1.0.4 around.

Greets, Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
flamesage


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 18:20    Post_subject:  

Well I can't figure out how to get puppy opmaized for my computer, I got it to run, but very very slowly, and it sucked up all of my Mem usage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 19:21    Post_subject:  

Yes, thats a basic problem with emulators.

They emulate a complete second computer with its own Bios.

Even on my Celeron 2200 with 768 MB it is kinda slow.

So I personlly prefer to run Puppy via a bootmenue.

You can set the maximum RAM-usage in the batch-file that launches Qemu, but I don't know the exact syntax any more.
It is explained in the Qemu-docs.

Mark

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 19:23    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I got it to run, but very very slowly, and it sucked up all of my Mem usage.
That's what you get with an emulator.

I don't have dual boot, but liveCD with a pup file is all I need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
petersieg_on_ipaq
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2005, 09:29    Post_subject: Puppy works also in vmware!  

Hi. vmware + Puppy works fine. Thare was a vmware 4.5 360day trial
version with the german computer magazine c't...

PS
Back to top
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0465s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]