Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 05:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
What emulators (in windows) support Puppy Linux?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
flamesage


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 06:07    Post subject:  What emulators (in windows) support Puppy Linux?  

Do you guy's know what emulators (in windows) support puppy linux?
(in iso form)

I don't want to duel boot, all I want is to emulate puppylinux inside of Windows (then my ultimate PC will be done! Razz )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 16:30    Post subject:  

Qemu works, the forum-search will give you details.

There are 2 versions using Puppy 1.0.4 around.

Greets, Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
flamesage


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 18:20    Post subject:  

Well I can't figure out how to get puppy opmaized for my computer, I got it to run, but very very slowly, and it sucked up all of my Mem usage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 19:21    Post subject:  

Yes, thats a basic problem with emulators.

They emulate a complete second computer with its own Bios.

Even on my Celeron 2200 with 768 MB it is kinda slow.

So I personlly prefer to run Puppy via a bootmenue.

You can set the maximum RAM-usage in the batch-file that launches Qemu, but I don't know the exact syntax any more.
It is explained in the Qemu-docs.

Mark

Last edited by MU on Fri 14 Oct 2005, 19:23; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 19:23    Post subject:  

Quote:
I got it to run, but very very slowly, and it sucked up all of my Mem usage.
That's what you get with an emulator.

I don't have dual boot, but liveCD with a pup file is all I need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
petersieg_on_ipaq
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2005, 09:29    Post subject: Puppy works also in vmware!  

Hi. vmware + Puppy works fine. Thare was a vmware 4.5 360day trial
version with the german computer magazine c't...

PS
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0449s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]