Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 11:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Where is the pup001.zip file (for NTFS)?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Cerberus

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 20:02    Post_subject:  Where is the pup001.zip file (for NTFS)?  

i am running XP and i need to know where i can download it so i can save while on puppy. I couldn't find ot on the download page so if you could link to it for me it would be greatly appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 20:09    Post_subject:  

you need puppy-1.0.5-mozilla.iso from the Downloadpage.
To burn the iso to a CD, use BurnCDCC from this page: http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/utilities.html

I also made an installer for WindowsXP, so that you don't have to burn a CD:
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=2525

Someone just reported, he had problems when installing Puppy to harddisk and could not launch XP any more (hal.dll), but I'm not shure if he used my installer or Puppys Grub-Bootloader.

You should try harddisk-installation beside WindowsXP only, if you have a rescue-Disk and know how to use it.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Cerberus

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 20:22    Post_subject:  

i dont have a rescue disc, and this is a family comp so i dont wanna fuck it up

thats why i just want the pup001 file on c drive, that way i can save .pup's and stuff but can still run from ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 20:32    Post_subject:  

Quote:
you need puppy-1.0.5-mozilla.iso from the Downloadpage.
Huh? He only wants the pup001.zip file. He already has puppy. He does not need to boot from XP, He wants to boot from the LiveCD (That's what I do all the time)

You can find it by going to the Puppy ibiblio download site, there you go into the puppy-1.0.1 folder.

Here is a link ftp://ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-1.0.1/

I use a corporate laptop where I cannot install anything (officially). I work on this computer during the day, It has a custom XP image that's the same for the whole company so I really cannot screw it up or repartition or anything.

I guess this is a similar situation, isn't it?

The next advice is not esential. you can work perfectly OK with the pup001 file on c:\

=============
I actually create two pup files.
c:\pup001 --->for the applications and configuration
c:\pupdata --->for my data files, projects, downloads, etc.

To have the pupdata file, just unzip the pup001 file and rename it.

To access it, you just need to mount it:
Code:

mkdir /root/data
mount -o loop    /mnt/home/pupdata    /root/data


The advantages of having both files are

- When I upgrade puppy, I can start over with a clean pup001 file and don't loose my data.
- I can backup my data without backing up the applications.
- I frequently create pup001 files for testing (after renaming the main one). I can still access my data just by mounting the data file.

So, as I said, this works for me.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 20:39    Post_subject:  

Go here to get the pup001.zip file:

http://mymirrors.homelinux.org/puppy/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 21:08    Post_subject:  

oh sorry, I missunderstood his post. Embarassed

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
J_Rey


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 276
Location: Northwest Florida, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 23:30    Post_subject: Larger pup001 file  

I don't know if this will be too customized to my computer, but here is an alternate pup001.zip file that is 512 MB (uncompressed) instead of the above 256 MB file. The reason why you would need it is since you are using Chubby Puppy or, also, if you would like to use the OpenOffice.org office suite again in the future.

(edit: removed attachment because of Flash's post) & my ignorance)

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
Cerberus

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 23:39    Post_subject:  

SUCCESS!!!

Its working perfextly, well i dont know if it saves after its done, but ill test that in a minute

Thank You
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2005, 23:41    Post_subject:  

Yup, i have a few other problems but my brother wants on for now

Thanks again
Back to top
J_Rey


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 276
Location: Northwest Florida, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2005, 23:22    Post_subject: never mind  

Well, after reading up on how Puppy works, I guess it wasn't the size but probably because it was a new pup001 file that it worked better for you. BTW, Chubby Puppy requires either 256 MB RAM or 128 MB with an available Linux swap partition. Future readers see this: Enlarging the pup001 file in XP (NTFS), if needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
J_Rey


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 276
Location: Northwest Florida, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 10 Feb 2006, 18:51    Post_subject:  

Also, MU has some different sizes of pup001 available. Also, FYI, the most that a pupxxx file should be is just under 1 GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
Rickrandom

Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 10 Feb 2006, 21:05    Post_subject:  

Cerberus,

If, in the near future, you do want a reasonably safe install alongside XP, I used MU's installer, see my post in

http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=5117&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=16

which worked a treat on my laptop. Of course nothing is guaranteed, so I did back up the important files and I had the XP install disks if it all went horribly wrong, but it didn't for me. Well done to MU.

Now I can easily dual-boot puppy or XP, so "she who must be obeyed", and wouldn't like something different to her usual Windows screen, is happy. I'll will convert her, but only when I've learnt a lot more. All XP sees is a few extra files, and it boots up in blissful ignorance of the Puppy snoozing within.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ilanesh

Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar 2006, 19:43    Post_subject:  

Cerberus
I also have windows xp, and i downloadet the pup001.zip file, and saved it on disc C like they said it, c:\pup001
bit then when it comes to where it sais: "Select the Keyboard map:
then it says: azery = azerty
so I try to scroll down and click "OK" but nothing is happen, am stock in there and nothing is working/
How you did it get to work? What means this: select the keyboard map? and what means azerty? Why nothing is moving?
thanks for your help. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ilanesh

Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar 2006, 19:59    Post_subject:  

sorry I forgot also to tell that I have puppy 1.0.8, pentium (R) 4, CPU 3 Ghz, RAM 480 MB pc, windows xp home edition, SP2, Philips CD rom burner, cd rom read.
thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar 2006, 21:53    Post_subject:  

Some keyboards do not work with puppy, especially wireless.
If you have an adaptor, please try that (USB to Ps/2).

I have a logitech cordless Desktop.
As USB it works fine with a different USB-mouse (cable).
With Ps/2 it just works, if the original cordless mouse is attached, too.
But then when X starts, I must unplug the mouse, and attach again so that mouse and keyboard work.

So now I use the keyboard only via USB, plus the other mouse.
If you have adaptors / other mice, try them, or unplug/stick in the cables again.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0782s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]