Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 18:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to do a FULL install of Puppy, to an empty HDD
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 15 [225 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1451
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 27 May 2008, 16:23    Post subject:  How to do a FULL install of Puppy, to an empty HDD
Subject description: hopefully it will give a good idea what to do.
 

    There is now a Flash Movie of this howto available.
    It takes a while to load, because of it's size.

    NOTE: The usual Username/Password combo for Puppy sites applies


This Howto was done using Puppy 4.00 (Dingo) as the guinea pig.

The purpose of it, is to show how to do a FULL install on an empty HDD,
it does not attempt to explain how to dual boot puppy with another already installed OS.

It also assumes that your PC is able to boot from a CD,
and that you are installing to a normal internal hard drive.

Please note that the partition sizes i used are for example only,
you should make yours to the sizes that you want.

As to the size of the SWAP partition,
it is usually recommended that it is twice the size of your RAM.

So if you have 128M of RAM, create a SWAP partititon of 256M etc,etc

Before we start, make a note of what screen resolution your graphics card/monitor can handle,
you will need this information pretty soon after booting the CD.

    Also note that because this was done using QEMU, i had to use Xvesa
    therefore i cannot show any screenshots for the Xorg sequences.

    QEMU is a generic and open source machine emulator and virtualizer.
    For more information, visit the QEMU website

    So for the purpose of this howto, just ignore the QEMU window,
    you will not see it yourself, so do not expect to.

I also apologise for the amount of screenshots,
but i could not see any other way of doing it.


Part 1. Booting to the desktop.

OK then, put your Puppy LiveCD into a drive,
and REBOOT the PC.

It should automatically boot from the puppy LiveCD
If it does not, you may need to press F8 or F11 or similar when the PC
first boots, for the boot menu then select the drive that the CD is in.

The first thing you see will be this:
Image-1


Next you will be asked to select the keyboard layout:
Image-2

Use the Up/Down arrows on the keyboard to make your choice then press ENTER/RETURN for OK

Next you will be asked to choose either Xorg or Xvesa, make your choice (try Xorg first, if that fails then use Xvesa):
Image-3

If you need to use Xvesa use the TAB key to make your selection then press ENTER/RETURN for OK

If you chose Xorg, you then need to select a screen resolution:
Select an appropriate resolution (you made a note earlier i hope) then press ENTER/RETURN for OK

Now test it:
Again, use the TAB key to select Test, then press ENTER/RETURN for OK

If it works, thats good, if it did not, then try with Xvesa
now do the linux three finger shuffle (Ctrl + Alt + Backspace)

If you chose Xvesa you will then see this:
Image-4

Select an appropriate resolution and click Change

When the desktop comes back up, along with the Xvesa video wizard click OKAY

You should now be at the desktop like this:
Image-5



Part 2. Partitioning and Formatting the drive.

Now for the main part of this howto.

Right click the desktop to get the menu up,
now go to System > GParted partition manager
Image-6


Next click to highlight where it says unallocated (where it is blue in the picture below)
Then click on New to create a new partition.

Note:
You may already have some partitions created from your previous install,
if so, then for the purpose of this Howto it is probably best to start from scratch.
So select them one at a time (starting with the bottom one) and click Delete.
Eventually you will be left with exactly what you see in the image below, this is the whole drive marked as "unallocated"
Image-7


You will get something similar to this:
Image-8


Make the partition to the size you wish, as you can see below, i left enough space for the SWAP partition.
For Filesystem you can choose either ext2 or ext3.

If you are wondering what the difference is between the Filesystems,
and would like to know more, please check out the following links:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ext2
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ext3

Image-9

Click on Add

Once again click to highlight unallocated, then New
Image-10


Now create the SWAP partition (be sure to select linux-swap as Filesystem)
Image-11

click on Add

Next click on Apply
Image-12


And again, click on Apply
Image-13


You will now see it Applying pending operations
Image-14


When it has finished, click on Close
Image-15


Now click to highlight /dev/hda1
then RIGHT click and select Manage Flags.
Image-16


Now click to select boot.
Image-17

when its ready click on Close.

Things should now look something like this.
Image-18

If so, you can now close GParted, we are finished with it.


Part 3. Install Time.

Now we will use the Universal Installer to make a FULL install to hda1,
followed by installing GRUB to the MBR

So again RIGHT click the desktop and go to Setup > Puppy universal installer
Image-19


Select Internal (IDE or SATA) hard drive
Image-20

Then click OK

Next choose which drive to install to (in this case it is hda)
Image-21

Then click OK

Next select the partition to install to (in this case it is hda1)
Image-22


Confirm your choice, by clicking on OK
Image-23


Now tell it where the files are, in this case click on CD
Image-24


Click OK again
Image-25


Next we will choose FULL
Image-26


Now wait, while it copies files to the hard drive
Image-27

Image-28


Now we will install GRUB
Image-29


Select INSTALL
Image-30


Click OK
Image-31


Choose simple and click OK
Image-32


Select standard and click OK
Image-33


Accept the default entry (in this case /dev/hda1) and click OK
Image-34


Scroll down the list, and select MBR and click OK
Image-35


Hopefully you will get confirmation that GRUB was successfully installed
Image-36

Click OK

We are now finished with the Universal Installer, so click on NO
Image-37


Now REBOOT (REMOVE the CD from the drive first)
Image-38


Answer NO when asked if you want to save
Image-39


When it reboots, you should see the GRUB boot screen,
(in this case Linux (on /dev/hda1)) is already selected so just hit ENTER/RETURN
Image-40


You will need to make your choice of Keyboard Layout, and Xorg or Xvesa once again.

When you get to the desktop, that is it done.

Next time you reboot, after selecting the partition to boot via GRUB you should go straight to the desktop.

I hope this will help clarify the procedure, for those new to linux.

CatDude
.

_________________


Last edited by CatDude on Thu 09 Dec 2010, 11:36; edited 12 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MaZZly

Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jun 2008, 14:30    Post subject:  

if you want GRUB to automatically boot up puppy:

open console (icon on desktop)

Code:
geany /boot/grub/menu.lst


then it opens up the editor and you should edit the
Code:
#timeout 30

to
Code:
timeout 0


then it waits 0 seconds before booting up the first alternative
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ZAPPDOG


Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 44
Location: CALGARY CANADA

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jun 2008, 15:01    Post subject:  

Hey catdude
nicely displayed. i wish i had that in my early days of puppy.
This page will be bookmarked for future puppy converts.
DR.Z

_________________
PUPPY DINGO FULL INSTALL WITH EZPUP
P4 2.6 G
P4 2.0 G
P4 1.8 G
PUPPY RULES
http://unclezapaudiozap.freeforums.org/index.php
http://sadiesdogplace.webs.com/
http://greenourplanet.webs.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
paulh

Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jun 2008, 19:14    Post subject: menu.lst  

I found installing Puppy 4.00 to a bare hard drive was easy. Editing the menu.lst file get Puppy to boot to the hard drive was the hard part.

Menu.lst is in the /boot/grub directory. My menu.lst is below, to use as an example. My hard drive has two partitions (hda1 and hda2) plus a swap partition, but only hda1 is bootable.

I made only two changes to the menu.lst that grubconfig generated. I removed the # character at the beginning of the timeout line (line 9) and changed the 30 to 5. This made Puppy automatically boot after 5 seconds. And I put a # character at the beginning of every line referring to booting from hda2 (lines 18-20).


# GRUB configuration file '/boot/grub/menu.lst'.
# generated by 'grubconfig'. Mon May 19 22:08:15 2008
#
# The backup copy of the MBR for drive '/dev/hda' is
# here '/boot/grub/mbr.hda.22339'. You can restore it like this.
# dd if=/boot/grub/mbr.hda.22339 of=/dev/hda bs=512 count=1
#
# Start GRUB global section
timeout 5
color light-gray/blue black/light-gray
# End GRUB global section
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title Linux (on /dev/hda1)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1 ro vga=normal
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
# title Linux (on /dev/hda2)
# root (hd0,1)
# kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda2 ro vga=normal
# Linux bootable partition config ends
title Install GRUB to floppy disk (on /dev/fd0)
pause Insert a formatted floppy disk and press enter.
root (hd0,0)
setup (fd0)
pause Press enter to continue.
title Install GRUB to Linux partition (on /dev/hda1)
root (hd0,0)
setup (hd0,0)
pause Press enter to continue.
title - For help press 'c', then type: 'help'
root (hd0)
title - For usage examples, type: 'cat /boot/grub/usage.txt'
root (hd0)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bill

Joined: 28 May 2008
Posts: 494

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2008, 08:21    Post subject: Adding ext2 or ext2 or swapfile
Subject description: Not Full install ,but getting info ext_s
 

Brilliant CatDude,While trying to understand "Gparted" I always got to the "format" command and digressed into "stark terror" Laughing because "format" can be blessing or the four horsemen of the apocalypse. Crying or Very sad This layout gives us "newbies" a window in what to expect ,without that hidden "Gotcha" that we don't expect.In my humble opinion this post should be linked elsewhere to "Understanding Gparted" because some of us wouldn't think of looking under "FULL install" and "Gparted" hasn't any help files.Thanks a million.cheers,bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1451
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2008, 16:58    Post subject:  

@ ZAPPDOG
Quote:

nicely displayed. i wish i had that in my early days of puppy.

Thanks, as they say, a picture speaks a thousand words.
So i suppose 40 pictures speaks volumes. Laughing

@ paulh
Quote:

I found installing Puppy 4.00 to a bare hard drive was easy. Editing the menu.lst file get Puppy to boot to the hard drive was the hard part.

If you installed to hda1, then that is what you would select at the GRUB boot menu.
Sorry if you had trouble with it, but this howto was really just to show how to do a FULL install, and not so much about GRUB.
Normally the installer gets the menu.lst entry right, when doing a FULL install.

@ bill
Quote:

This layout gives us "newbies" a window in what to expect ,without that hidden "Gotcha" that we don't expect.

That was pretty much the intention, glad that it came across as such.

Quote:

Thanks a million.cheers,bill


Your very welcome

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SlackerX

Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jun 2008, 00:02    Post subject:  

I just downloaded the latest version and the screens I see match what I am seeing except for the screen that asks me where the files are. Everything else is the same, but when I go to restart the machine the grub menu comes up, the hard drive spins for a while but absolutely nothing beyond that. I wish I could give more details to the error, but literally nothing comes on the screen. I did read one post someplace that suggested add acpi=force as an option and I tried that but still no joy.

I have a bunch of P3 500mz machines I would love to get this on, all of the drives have been completely wiped and I am trying to just install puppy as the only o/s on the machine. Like I said it keeps hanging with no error messages or anything else.

Since the screen about where the files are is not showing, would it be possible to copies those files to the correct place first before rebooting? If that is yes, where do they need to be copied to and which files? I have my swap set up as hda1 and my data partition (wanting to let puppy take all of the rest of it) on hda2. This is the only hd in the system.

Thanks is advance. This looks like a really great distro for older machines.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SlackerX

Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jun 2008, 11:47    Post subject: Follow Up  

This is a follow up to my post above in case someone else runs across this issue.

It would appear that when the machine was 'doing nothing' it was actually waiting on some kind of prompt. I rebooted it, and when nothing was happening I hit enter, which resulted in more hd activity. Hitting enter two more times let whatever scripts or processes were running continue and at that point the machine loaded the X server just fine. The problem did not occur on subsequent boots.

With regards to the screens I did not get prompted with, I did see those screens on a different machine later as part of the install routine. The only difference I can think of is that the machine that I saw the screens on actually had XP installed on it, so it would appear that those screens are only presented if Puppy senses NTFS, Fat32, or (maybe Fat16) types of partitions. Hopefully this information may help someone.

Thanks for distro though. I suspect I will be using it to bring more machines to life in the future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1451
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jun 2008, 16:43    Post subject:  

Hello SlackerX

Welcome to kennels mate.

Its good to here that things sorted themselves out

I am a little confused though. (it doesn't take much Laughing )

SlackerX wrote:

I just downloaded the latest version and the screens I see match what I am seeing except for the screen that asks me where the files are.


By this do you mean Image-24 ?
If so, then how exactly did you manage to install Puppy ?

SlackerX wrote:

Everything else is the same, but when I go to restart the machine the grub menu comes up, the hard drive spins for a while but absolutely nothing beyond that. I wish I could give more details to the error, but literally nothing comes on the screen.


And how did you get to install GRUB,
did you do it via the menu and not the Puppy universal installer ?

SlackerX wrote:

With regards to the screens I did not get prompted with, I did see those screens on a different machine later as part of the install routine. The only difference I can think of is that the machine that I saw the screens on actually had XP installed on it, so it would appear that those screens are only presented if Puppy senses NTFS, Fat32, or (maybe Fat16) types of partitions. Hopefully this information may help someone.


I dont think thats the case, as this howto shows, there is/was no sign of either an NTFS, Fat32 or Fat16 partition,
yet i still got the screen asking where the files are.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jun 2008, 17:34    Post subject:  

Firstly - great post. You could put this in the wiki too, and mention it on www.puppylinux.org.

May I suggest one little tweak?

A bit of guidance on whether to format your partition as EXT2 or EXT3 would be useful. You know; why you might choose which - pros and cons. Needn't be much but it would forestall a potential "OMG! What does that mean?" moment.

_________________
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1451
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jun 2008, 18:29    Post subject:  

Hello nic2109

Thankyou for your input,
please take a look at it now and let me know if this will do.

I have added a quote from one of Sit Heel Speak's posts, with a link to the post its self.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2008, 01:44    Post subject:  

CatDude wrote:
Hello nic2109

Thankyou for your input,
please take a look at it now and let me know if this will do.

I have added a quote from one of Sit Heel Speak's posts, with a link to the post its self.

CatDude
.

That's good,. It might be worth adding that fsck runs each time you boot up.

I wonder why anyone ever chooses ext2? I guess there's a performance downside; but whether any desktop/;laptop user would ever actually notice is doubtful. It's different story for servers of course; though the irony there is that you'd be more likely to want journaling for them!

_________________
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1451
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2008, 08:54    Post subject:  

Hello nic2109

nic2109 wrote:

It might be worth adding that fsck runs each time you boot up.


Is this really true in the case of a FULL install. (Anybody care to clarify this ?)

From what i have managed to glean off the forum,
it may be true of a FRUGAL install (though not necessarily so with Dingo).

If you could provide a link or two, where it actually states that it does,
i could then do as you ask, its just that i do not want to say something if it is not so.

I am all for helping people make an informed choice etc,
i just dont want to disinform anybody along the way.

Hope you understand.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2008, 18:02    Post subject:  

CatDude wrote:
Hello nic2109

nic2109 wrote:

It might be worth adding that fsck runs each time you boot up.


Is this really true in the case of a FULL install. (Anybody care to clarify this ?)

From what i have managed to glean off the forum,
it may be true of a FRUGAL install (though not necessarily so with Dingo).


CatDude
.

Ooops - I think you're correct. I'm fairly sure that is a feature of Frugal, but I'm not so sure either about an HD install. I agree that it's best not to say anything in that case.

_________________
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
paulh

Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2008, 19:46    Post subject:  

CatDude wrote:

If you installed to hda1, then that is what you would select at the GRUB boot menu.
Sorry if you had trouble with it, but this howto was really just to show how to do a FULL install, and not so much about GRUB.
Normally the installer gets the menu.lst entry right, when doing a FULL install.

The full install is not successful if the box won't boot to hda1. In my case, the CD drive was broken. I tried an unorthodox installation method -- from a flash drive booted from a floppy. Installation went fine except there was no entry for hda1 on the GRUB boot menu. I finally had to borrow a CD drive just for the installation. That got menu.lst to the point where I could edit it. I stuck my menu.lst in for the benefit of others with hardware limitations.

The Sir Heel Speak piece on drive format is helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 15 [225 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1336s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]