Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 19:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to do a FULL install of Puppy, to an empty HDD
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 15 [225 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 10:42    Post subject:  

This doesn't necessarily slow it down.

In many cases the full will run as fast or faster than frugal
or live cd..

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
georgecorkland

Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 21 Dec 2009, 09:23    Post subject:  How to Fully install Puppy to empty HD  

Catdude, thanks for this very concise and easy to follow tutorial. I have struggled for a couple of weeks trying to install on a very old Toshiba Satellite 4100XCDT laptop having nuked Win 95 with DBAN HD Wiper. Followed your advice and Puppy is running fast and well. I hope this tutorial stays on this forum and remains easy to find. Top Notch!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1473
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 21 Dec 2009, 17:27    Post subject: Re: How to Fully install Puppy to empty HD  

Hello georgecorkland

Welcome to the kennels.

Thank you for your kind words, and i am glad you found this howto useful.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bronco Billy


Joined: 27 Dec 2009
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Sun 27 Dec 2009, 23:40    Post subject:  Show Stopper.....
Subject description: Fatal OS Destruction on Power Failure of Puppy Full Install....
 

Hi There....
Works a Charm Until Hard Plug Pull then No Boot..... Any Ideas for a Fix? Have a Great day.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunnypies

Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jan 2010, 01:15    Post subject: Thanks!  

I'm a firstimer and good to go now thanks to all the pics and good instructions! Puppy rocks on my Dell GX 260
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Nehemoth

Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon 19 Apr 2010, 17:28    Post subject:  

First I wanna thank you for the awesome guide and thank you for Puppy.

I am trying to convert Puppy as a brute terminal for some old PC's, for that I am using this instructions
hxxp://pctsc.ponderworthy.org/downloads/instructions.txt

from the project pc tsc and I can tell you is working like a charm.

My problem is that now I want to do some other things on Puppy and for that I need GCC, I understood that you need an sfs file and also you need to follow the instructions for full HD installation as per the link below
hxxp://www.puppylinux.com/hard-puppy.htm

Sadly after some multiples intents I could not get GCC installed, so I would like to know if someone can help me.

I had done this exactly

Code:

2. Click on the devx_xxx.sfs in a ROX-Filer window to mount it.
3. Open a terminal in the mounted directory.
6. # cp -a --remove-destination ./* /mnt/sda1/
7. # sync
8. Close the terminal.
9. Click on the devx_xxx.sfs file to unmount it


or

Code:

2. Click on the devx_xxx.sfs in a ROX-Filer window to mount it.
3. Open a terminal in the mounted directory.
6. # cp -a --remove-destination ./* /mnt/home/
7. # sync
8. Close the terminal.
9. Click on the devx_xxx.sfs file to unmount it


But the result is the same, nothing when I try gcc [command] on the terminal.

Best regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bud

Joined: 27 Apr 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 27 Apr 2010, 14:32    Post subject: Thanks!
Subject description: Success.
 

CatDude, just wanted to thank you for the install tutotial.
Having run Puppy for a while off disk I decided to take the plunge and install to hard disk on an old but function fine Sony Vaio F-480.
Was having trouble getting Puppy to boot until I slowly followed your guide step by step.
Worked first time and I'm blown away with the speed and new life breathed into a box that had virtually slowed to a crawl with Win98.
Can't think of a better way to learn the new world of Linux...... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
phouse512

Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 12 May 2010, 09:12    Post subject:  

Thanks for this helpful guide. I just wiped one of my hard drives with DBAN and I wanted to make sure that I installed it correctly. Puppy Linux runs like a charm now

Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mrreality13

Joined: 03 Oct 2008
Posts: 95
Location: arlington texas

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 01:37    Post subject:  

this is always use full -could it be stickied please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sat 14 Aug 2010, 00:24    Post subject:  

Nehemoth wrote:

My problem is that now I want to do some other things on Puppy and for that I need GCC, I understood that you need an sfs file and also you need to follow the instructions for full HD installation as per the link below
hxxp://www.puppylinux.com/hard-puppy.htm

Sadly after some multiples intents I could not get GCC installed, so I would like to know if someone can help me.

Best regards


I take it you have already done a full install and rebooted.

Download and install the sfs installer pet (link below), run it, it's easier than playing around and off you go (make sure your installing dev EXACTLY matches the version of puppy your running). gcc works!

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=

woops wrong link, will fix when found, you want the file "SFS_installer-0.1.pet", it's one of trio's pets.

regards
scsijon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Insomniacno1

Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Tue 07 Dec 2010, 00:34    Post subject:  

This is a great guide and is rightfully under sticky, but could someone modify it to show how to install newer version 5.xx.

In my case it would be extrememely good if someone could explain how to install 5.xx onto IBM Thinkpad 570 with 192mb ram and 20GB hdd.

You see 5.xx don\t detect the hdd on startup. 4.xx has no probleme at all.

Thanx in advance

With regards

JBJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 907
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2011, 15:44    Post subject:  

@CatDude

Hello and good day to you,

Well, I am attempting to do a full install of Lupu 520 onto a Toshiba Satellite 1415-S115 - RAM 512MB - Processor Intel Celeron 2.00GHz - 30 Gigs HDD.

Your excellent tutorial has helped me so much in the past. All was going swell until Image Step 29. Then Lupu 520 deviated.

Here is screen shot of message box I see at Step 29. (Install1.png)
Here is a screen shot of a search for *grub* - It appears that both *grub* and *grub4dos* are installed.
Here is a screen shot of a search for *menu.lst*. - Is this the *menu.lst* to change?
Here is a screen shot of /mnt/sda1/boot - There is no *menu.lst* inside the *grub* folder.

Question: How and Where do I find the appropriate *grub* menu.lst in order to change it according to the message box directions?

I understand that I 'might' find the *menu.lst* at what is called the *top* '/' or /boot/menu.lst
I've looked into *sda1* and into *home* files but cannot locate the grub boot menu.lst. And, as the search indicates, there is only one *menu.lst* found.

I took the *ok* option without correcting the *menu.lst* so currently there is no OS installed but the partitioning is done.
The Live CD of Lupu 520 booted up again with no issues. The bios boot order is set to check the CD drive first for an OS.

(And, yes, I understand there is an issue with what drive name is sighted by the grub and that is why the change needs to happen. I just can't find the menu.lst in order to change it.)
Sda1_boot_Screenshot1.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Sda1_boot_Screenshot1.png 
Filesize  327.3 KB 
Downloaded  158 Time(s) 
Search1_for_menu.lst.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Search1_for_menu.lst.png 
Filesize  275.74 KB 
Downloaded  151 Time(s) 
Search1_for_Grub.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Search1_for_Grub.png 
Filesize  173.97 KB 
Downloaded  144 Time(s) 
Install1.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Install1.png 
Filesize  196.69 KB 
Downloaded  140 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2011, 16:01    Post subject:  

On the earlier versions of Puppy, the Grub install was included
when running the installer. (step 29 +)
For some obscure reason that is no longer the case.

When the puppy is installed now, it is necessary to click Grub in
the menu and install it.

I always use Legacy Grub.

You would type "/dev/sda1" (no quotes) in the box for where the
grub files go, (I use /dev/sda2 if I have Windows on sda1) and then MBR for where grub goes.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs


Last edited by rjbrewer on Sat 30 Jul 2011, 12:06; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 907
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2011, 16:16    Post subject:  

Thank you, rjbrewer

Is this the box to work with?

Also, I was careful *not* to *save* the pup file on each exit while I was experimenting with various Puppys. Should I check to see if by accident a *save* file was made? or does that make any difference in this situation?
GrubConfig1.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  GrubConfig1.png 
Filesize  285.94 KB 
Downloaded  144 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2011, 16:40    Post subject:  

Sky Aisling wrote:
Thank you, rjbrewer

Is this the box to work with?

Also, I was careful *not* to *save* the pup file on each exit while I was experimenting with various Puppys. Should I check to see if by accident a *save* file was made? or does that make any difference in this situation?


That box is right.
If you had made a save file you would remember it; I'm not even
sure if it's possible with the full install.

When you reboot after installing grub, you can find the menu.lst by
either clicking sda1 or clicking rox and going to /boot/grub/menu.lst.

That's where you would change the title for the boot screen or
the amount of pause time when booting.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 15 [225 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1935s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1005s) ][ GZIP on ]