Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Sep 2014, 05:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4.1 Alpha 2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 02:26    Post subject:  Puppy 4.1 Alpha 2
Subject description: The return of the Mouse
 

OK just downloaded - thanks Barry Smile
Check the md5sum - just in case . . . because of below results
Any new pics of windmill construction?

[ahem] back to testing . . .
Remember Guys

Beta = can be used but maybe be buggy
Alpha (this version) = still needs testing - NOT for everyday use . . .

By all means test (testing welcome) but be aware this is ALPHA grade
It is not nearly ready for use. . .

My results:
Previous version keyboard and mouse did not work
This version:

Keyboard worked
I waggled my mouse and it worked - Hooray - then it stopped (froze) - boo . . .
(The mouse was a ps2)
Plugged in a USB mouse and rebooted
Mouse worked but acceleration was all wrong - had to change the acceleration to '1' from the default '2.0' just to get it to work - just about usable
'orrible . . .
OK one last test . . .
Serial mouse = same as ps2 - it waggled and then froze . . .

Look forward to the next version
It seems it is the kernel or squash file?
Anyone else getting this dead rodent problem?
Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 07:36    Post subject:  

Lobster, are you testing with a brand new system, that is, 'puppy pfix=ram'?
_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DreamsToGo


Joined: 27 Jan 2006
Posts: 117
Location: Castelnaudary, south France, World Capital of Cassoulet

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 08:48    Post subject:  

Here are my results,

I did a clean installed 4.00 as frugal and used whole HDA for save file on my test machine. I renamed the old pup_400.sfs and drv_400.sfs,
copied new files from 4.02 cd to HD and rebooted.

Puppy went through its upgrade process and then I had the system.

No keyboard or mouse probs. Here is what I have found so far,

1) The Install, Paint, and Play desktop icons were misplaced and were put behind other icons.

2) Wallpaper setter has no icon and appears twice, once in Desktop and once in System

3) Drive icons appeared on the desktop as they should with the new MNTD in orange, as expected. I don't like having them there, so I went to the Puppy event manager and unticked the show drive icons. I rebooted, Icons are still on desktop, plus one called "drives" (showing no MNTD, though). On a second and subsequent boots, drive icons disappeared but the drives icon appears every time, even if I remove it.

Last edited by DreamsToGo on Thu 05 Jun 2008, 13:33; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
twointo1

Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 08:54    Post subject: Wireless usb zd1211rw
Subject description: can't load firmware error
 

Same issue as with alpha 1. Usb network card detected - wlan0, but after trying to connect with the network manager, I get no networks detected. Looking into dmesg, it reports "can't load firmware error -2. This adapter has worked in all versions of Puppy from 2.17.1 through 4.0 k 2.26.25 beta.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 09:31    Post subject:  

Quote:
Lobster, are you testing with a brand new system, that is, 'puppy pfix=ram'?


Yes - rebooted with 'pfix=ram' parameter each time - checked md5sum that is OK and am running Dingo (4.00) OK

This happened with Dingo (when the new kernel was first introduced and very soon dropped) and these two alphas. The keyboard is working (even that was not in the last alpha)
I suspect the kernel because Ubuntu 'Hardy Heron' did the same thing (mouse froze). I have heard from Tronkel that others are having problems of a similar sort with the new kernel.

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DreamsToGo


Joined: 27 Jan 2006
Posts: 117
Location: Castelnaudary, south France, World Capital of Cassoulet

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 09:39    Post subject:  

Yes, I had the mouse freeze in Ubuntu Hardy too. I haven't had it yet on Puppy 4.02.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 11:38    Post subject:  

@Lobster: You posted your thread when I was writing mine. Anyway, I am trying to move further posts on my thread to this one.

Anyway, there is an alternate download location for Alpha2:

http://puppylinux.ca/puppyfiles/test/puppy-4.1alpha2/

Bug reports from me so far:

I tested this version briefly. I found that I am having wireless issues with RT2500. The same module works perfectly with 4.00. But now I have to rescan and go through Network Wizard on each boot (atleast on 3 of my boots so far). Also the speed of the net seems to be slow.

_________________
Macpup - The beauty of linux | Pritlog - Simple blog app
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 12:19    Post subject:
Subject description: WiFi Problems
 

Please see http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=203988#203988
for a posting that really belongs in this new thread.

To summarise :- my wireless card is detected but not activated.

Edit :- my posting in that thread has been replied to by tempestuous, so I will carry on over there. Sorry about the need to flit about from thread to thread.

_________________
Nick

Last edited by nic2109 on Fri 06 Jun 2008, 17:45; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DreamsToGo


Joined: 27 Jan 2006
Posts: 117
Location: Castelnaudary, south France, World Capital of Cassoulet

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 12:47    Post subject:  

I have done another install to a different machine that I use in the kitchen. There's no user data on the machine but I have heavily modified the desktop.

Install went smoothly but I now have all the standard desktop icons back again and the tray has been modified to take out my 24hr clock modification.

You probably won't think this is a bug, but it really is a big inconvenience and I think very off putting for someone who wouldn't know how to put everything back the way they want it.

During the boot process I was told that .jwmrc and .jrmrc-tray had been put in /tmp/oldversion (or similar) so I thought, good, I can restore them. But they are not there! and I haven't done a second boot since the upgrade.

I know that if I make changes to the system I should back it up, but,

I would expect that the system 'remembers' my desktop changes and puts them back again automatically after an upgrade..

Can some way be found to do this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GeorgR


Joined: 12 Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 13:05    Post subject: No USB Keyboard reaction when puppy asked for saved file  

First puppy version booting on amd 690G chipset with no need for booting parameter acpi=noirq!

Booting and frugal install without any problems.
No problems with mouse and usb keyboard.

When more than one save file is found while booting, puppy stopped booting and asked for input to select one of the saved files.
So far as usual.

But:
No reaction when typing any key on the usb keyboard => no way out.

As mentioned before: if only one file is available and puppy had started without asking for selection, no problems with usb mouse and keyboard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pdrito

Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 13:25    Post subject: som bug  

BarryK,

Thanks for this puppy.

I don't use harddrive, so my experiences with puppy goes to CD/DVD multisessions.

On puppy 4.0.2(4.1alpha2):
-detection of all my hardware OK
-internet navegation OK
-additional software added, OK
-multisession record, OK.

The fault part:

-Dougal remaster, No OK.
It start the process creating the pup_402.sfs, but dont close the windows, so the remastering process never ends.

-Remaster puppy live-CD
Same as Dougal remaster.

-Shutdown process no OK.
After record the session (OK till there), a lot of info of shutting process begins and finally freeze the shutdown process. In that moment have to manually shutdown the PC.

Notes:
On puppy 4.0.1(puppy 4.1alpha1),
-Dougal remaster CD/DVD went OK
-Remaster puppy live-CD went OK
-Shutdown process no OK. same as puppy 4.0.2

In general:
Very happy with puppy 4.0.x
Thanks a lot for your beatiful work.

pdrito.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 14:28    Post subject:  

Hi Barry, same result as last few version of 4
Stops at loading kernel
Frugal with a intel d201gly2 MB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
boscobearbank


Joined: 06 Apr 2006
Posts: 63
Location: MN

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 14:31    Post subject: RFE - madwifi  

My wireless nic (an Atheros 5005G or something similar) does not like the ath5k driver Crying or Very sad , but works well with the madwifi driver Very Happy. It's not hard to guess what I'd like to see in future Puppy versions.
_________________
Bosco Bearbank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 16:51    Post subject:  

prit1 wrote:

I tested this version briefly. I found that I am having wireless issues with RT2500. The same module works perfectly with 4.00. But now I have to rescan and go through Network Wizard on each boot (at least on 3 of my boots so far).

This is close to a similar problem I had in 4.0 beta testing where the profile was saved OK but not picked up on boot up. I didn't need to re-scan, but did have to load and use my saved profile each time until forum member bde solved it for me.

See http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=27859&search_id=933429483&start=119

There you will see that the Network wizard hadn't created /etc/eth1wireless when 'saving the configuration for next time' on exit.

Now that filename might need to be different for you - it might well need to be /etc/wlan0wireless if like mine your interface is now wlan0 under 4.02.

I had to create that file containing a single command of
Code:
/usr/sbin/wpa_connect.sh eth1 wext
but for you it may be different: firstly the eth1 may need to change; secondly the 'wext' parameter may be wrong for you; and thirdly you may not be using WPA encryption.

On the other hand it all might be spot on. If you read back through that thread for the exchanges between bde and me then you'll see how he came to that solution.

I hope this helps.

_________________
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 17:10    Post subject:  

@nic2109:

Thanks for that thread and the information. I will read through and give it a try when I get home today.

_________________
Macpup - The beauty of linux | Pritlog - Simple blog app
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0870s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]