Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 02:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
MUT bug, when no floppy present..
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
cplater


Joined: 11 Jun 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Huntsville, Alabama

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2005, 09:30    Post_subject:  

GuestToo wrote:
Quote:
I got paid for doing TCL/TK programming for about 3 years so I have some experience. Anyone know where to get the source?

leafpad /usr/lib/mut-0.0.6/mut.tcl


Duh! I figured it was a wrapped or "compiled" and was hunting the web for it. Anyway, I have a quickie fix for the problem. In the mut.tcl source, go to the section towards the bottom of the file that loads the images. In my version, the first two devices are for a 3 inch floppy and a 5 inch. Change the one you want to fd0 like this and save it.
Code:

image create photo ::img::img(fd0)     -file "$mut/icon/fd3.ppm"


Mut should now run.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
PeterSieg

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Germany, 37603

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2005, 13:20    Post_subject: Your code change works!!  

Hi. I changed the code and it works!! Great..

I don't know what it does... but it works...

Thanks, PS

Is this a bug.. and now a code change, that could go into MUT for 1.0.6 Puppy?

_________________
Have fun Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2005, 20:36    Post_subject:  

Jesse Liley is the developer and official maintainer for MUT, so it should come through him.
Would you mind sending him a p.m.?

Forum name: Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2005, 21:03    Post_subject:  

I might as well do it:

Code:
## Load Images for display:
image create photo ::img::img(fd0)     -file "$mut/icon/fd3.ppm"
#image create photo ::img::img(fd5)     -file "$mut/icon/fd5.ppm"


...should I comment out the fd5 line?
(who still has a 5inch floppy drive?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2005, 21:06    Post_subject:  

Okay, I have sent a p.m. to Jesse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2005, 21:16    Post_subject:  

Er no, I got an error with the above change.
So I did this:

Code:
image create photo ::img::img(fd0)     -file "$mut/icon/fd3.ppm"
image create photo ::img::img(fd3)     -file "$mut/icon/fd3.ppm"
image create photo ::img::img(fd5)     -file "$mut/icon/fd5.ppm"

...is that okay?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
cplater


Joined: 11 Jun 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Huntsville, Alabama

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2005, 22:42    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Er no, I got an error with the above change.
So I did this:

Code:
image create photo ::img::img(fd0)     -file "$mut/icon/fd3.ppm"
image create photo ::img::img(fd3)     -file "$mut/icon/fd3.ppm"
image create photo ::img::img(fd5)     -file "$mut/icon/fd5.ppm"

...is that okay?


That should work fine. The error message was about it wanting to display an image that it did not load and should make it happy. I don't know what uses the fd5 image but something must reference it in your system. When I get some more time I will take a deeper look at the code and see what is going on. On my NTA system there is no floppy so I would prefer in not show up at all.

C. Plater
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 04:02    Post_subject:  

Hi,

I must get back to this forum more often
For those interested, here is a fix that does not use extra memory for a duplicate image

change this (line 675):
if {[llength [split $fdinfo |]]>3} {
set icon "fd[lindex [split $fdinfo |] 1]"
}
to this:
if {[llength [split $fdinfo |]]>3} {
set fdx [lindex [split $fdinfo |] 1]
if {$fdx != 5} { set fdx 3 }
set icon "fd$fdx"
}

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 04:14    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:

(who still has a 5inch floppy drive?)


Me.
I was hoping to use it to get some old
DOS and other programs working with Wine
- but who has time for that sort of indulgence . . .
I must admit I just replaced the 5 1/4" with a second
(working) CD writer - that has a top speed of x2
BUT it works . . .
and I have the 5 1/4" on standby
Anyway not sure if keeping it in just for my future fantasy
is required - but it is a MUT so maybe should be there . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0624s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]