Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 23:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Trying to dual boot Puppy & Freedos from same live CD
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
ljones

Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue 18 Oct 2005, 19:14    Post subject:  Trying to dual boot Puppy & Freedos from same live CD  

Ok, apologies if this is in the wrong place. But I'm having a problem booting puppy linux. The reason is that I guess I am trying to do something very unusual here -- I'm trying to make a CD which will have both freedos *and* puppy linux.

Since I have no idea on how to make a multiboot cd (note: a cd, not on hard drive) this idea came to me -- to add the freedos files to the CD along with the puppy files. Then boot with a freedos bootdisk image (which works ok, I can get to the cd-rom ok), from there I can use freedos or load up linux.

To boot linux from freedos, I tried loadlin, but it didn't work at all, but then I stumbled across in the puppy linux wiki a program called "linld". Following the instructions on the puppy linux wiki I came up with the following;

A:\> linld image=D:\vmlinuz initrd=D:\image.gz cl=@test1

where test1 contains the line "root=/dev/ram0" .

This works - but up to a point (I can't see if there are any errors occuring while puppy boots up since the text zips up the screen so quickly!). I Get to the stage where it's time to choose the keyboard which appears to work, then puppy linux tries to start, appears to switch to a video mode, but the screen stays completely empty (black) and nothing happens, no CD activity, nothing it just stops dead.

Does anyone know why puppy would just suddenly "stop"?

Thanks,
ljones
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
brad_chuck

Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 284
Location: Appalachian Mountains

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2005, 00:27    Post subject: This may help  

I do not know how to fix your problem but this site may help you

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2005, 00:51    Post subject: X stage  

You're at the X stage so please search for some display-related problems in this forum. You may have to check your video hardware.

(I assume of course that you followed the linld guide well: see this to check

http://www.ph-islands.net/pupinstall/winxp.php#comments )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
miamuy


Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 14
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2005, 07:42    Post subject:  

have you tried "tiny.exe" ?

lnload won't run properly in fDOS (in my set-up) but runs ok in MS-DOS. i haven't figured out why because something else works. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theelf


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 55
Location: Temperance Hall, TN

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2005, 14:07    Post subject:  

http://www.xs4all.nl/~lennartb/bootloaders/node8.html
http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/manual/html_node/Making-a-GRUB-bootable-CD-ROM.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ljones

Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2005, 14:41    Post subject:  

Thanks for the links and stuff there, but I almost have it working with linld. I've not really tried grub yet, but tiny.exe didn't work crashing with an error message (which I think was something like 0x200 or 0x220); I tried loadlin once more, but it died complaining with an "out of data" error message.

It almost worked with linld and freedos. I tried it very briefly tonight under qemu (both qemu and booting for real do the same thing on my system). I found if I stopped puppy booting up just before the keyboard setup program and ran startx manually, I was able to load puppy!

**EDIT I now have it working ... well, sort of! Puppy can't find anywhere to save "personal" files, but it now *does* boot with linld and freedos. Oddly, freedos' ctmouse program seemed to be the problem. REMing this out in the autoexec.bat seems to make booting puppy from freedos possible Smile .

ljones[/b]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2005, 19:19    Post subject:  

ljones wrote:
I've not really tried grub yet


I would have thought that is worth trying. There is also a version of Puppy that boots from Windows, not sure where that link is. Grub is a developed preloader allowing you to run multiple OS. However if you have found another way of doing things let us know. Cool

Now that we have Wine for Puppy. Do we have Dos?
http://www.freedos.org/freedos/links/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0675s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0160s) ][ GZIP on ]