Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 14:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Firefox 3.6, 3.5.6 and Firefox 2.0.0.20 and Firefox 1.5.0.12
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 13 [185 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 446
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jul 2009, 10:54    Post subject:  

Yes I tried a restart.I'm back to using 3.0.11 now which works but crashes.I never have had any luck with Firefox in Puppy 4..2.1 and I don't understand how to open it in a terminal?
I also use 'Gnome' with Firefox 3.5 and it runs a dream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
didik


Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 44
Location: Bandung, Indonesia

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jul 2009, 23:49    Post subject:  

Brown Mouse wrote:
Yes I tried a restart.I'm back to using 3.0.11 now which works but crashes.I never have had any luck with Firefox in Puppy 4..2.1 and I don't understand how to open it in a terminal?
I also use 'Gnome' with Firefox 3.5 and it runs a dream.


Have you run firefox from console (i.e type firefox from console) to see what happen with your firefox?

::eko didik widianto::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
stevetamis

Joined: 17 Jul 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jul 2009, 03:20    Post subject:  

Hello..
This is steve here. I visit your site from there i can download Firefox 3.5 final and Firefox 2.0.0.20 both.
Both are very nice and i like them too much and i can download it fastly from your sites.
Thanks for sharing this important sites..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ekerose

Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jul 2009, 15:40    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Quote:
I installed the last version of firefox (3.5) and later the Flash 10, but firefox continues using the flash 9 version.


most likely the flash 9 plugin is in somewhere like /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins and that one is being chosen first

mike


Really tanks Mike!!! I copy the plugin from the seamonkey plugins into firefox plugin folder and now i finally have firefox 3,5 with flash 10 Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PupOrilla

Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jul 2009, 22:06    Post subject: flash 10
Subject description: Flash 10 Plugin for firefox
 

ekerose wrote:
mikeb wrote:
Quote:
I installed the last version of firefox (3.5) and later the Flash 10, but firefox continues using the flash 9 version.


most likely the flash 9 plugin is in somewhere like /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins and that one is being chosen first

mike


Really tanks Mike!!! I copy the plugin from the seamonkey plugins into firefox plugin folder and now i finally have firefox 3,5 with flash 10 Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy


Which Flash 10 plugin did you use? There were 4 choices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jul 2009, 22:28    Post subject:  

Can anyone in this thread assist me with a broken link between my wireless app and all of my Internet-dependent apps?

I broke it trying to get my cellphone modem working.

I havn't tried but am guessing that the link to wired Internet is broken as well since wired & wireless share the same setup apps.

I started a thread for this -- I have something that I E-mail to a bunch of people every afternoon and it is already 6 hours late.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5436
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jul 2009, 22:50    Post subject:  

Installed and working fine on PPup 417.Automatic update to 3.5.1 went fine as well.

Thanks for the pet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jul 2009, 19:52    Post subject:  

I solved the problem with breaking my Internet connection -- see here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=325571#325571

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
didik


Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 44
Location: Bandung, Indonesia

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2009, 00:07    Post subject:  

ekerose wrote:
mikeb wrote:
Quote:
I installed the last version of firefox (3.5) and later the Flash 10, but firefox continues using the flash 9 version.


most likely the flash 9 plugin is in somewhere like /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins and that one is being chosen first

mike


Really tanks Mike!!! I copy the plugin from the seamonkey plugins into firefox plugin folder and now i finally have firefox 3,5 with flash 10 Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

Yup, flash 10 is working now on my firefox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5436
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 16 Aug 2009, 04:36    Post subject:  

Firefox 3.5 installs and works great in both the latest Dpup 476e and Puppy 4.3 Beta w/ 2.6.25.16 kernel. Already updated both to 3.5.2.

Thanks again for the pet. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Vyse


Joined: 15 Aug 2009
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon 17 Aug 2009, 03:07    Post subject:  

Nice work Wolf Pup...

This saves time for newbies to Puppy who are looking for an "executable" for Firefox...but I am on 4.2 and it does show quite a lot of dependencies.
So I prefer to just use the extracted files.

BTW I find Opera to be a tad faster than Firefox..but thats just me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Mon 05 Oct 2009, 16:20    Post subject:  

added firefox 1.5.0.12 for those nostalgic puppy users. Smile
_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 7170

PostPosted: Mon 05 Oct 2009, 16:46    Post subject:  

Quote:
This saves time for newbies to Puppy who are looking for an "executable" for Firefox...but I am on 4.2 and it does show quite a lot of dependencies.
So I prefer to just use the extracted files.

This is not a real problem...the firefox lib path is added at runtime but the puppy package manager cannot know this.

Quote:
added firefox 1.5.0.12 for those nostalgic puppy users. Smile

Neat..I still use it on my regular setup. It has the same html renderer as firefox 2 but a simpler interface and less frilly functions so is compliant enough for most uses.

regards

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
weffy

Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun 06 Dec 2009, 10:05    Post subject: password?  

Why am I always asked for a username and password to download something from this site? Is there another site I can go to to get 3.5?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Dec 2009, 10:42    Post subject: Re: password?  

weffy wrote:
Why am I always asked for a username and password to download something from this site? Is there another site I can go to to get 3.5?


usually any password on a puppy site is due to stop spam bots. We had very large issues in the past.
username:puppy
password:linux

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 13 [185 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0757s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0059s) ][ GZIP on ]